A group of scientists from Haifa (Israel) has used skin stem cells from two patients suffering from heart failure and converted them into healthy heart muscle cells - cardiomyocytes - to later attach them to a sample of the damaged heart tissue and verify that , after a period of between 24 and 48 hours, the tissue regenerated.

To complete the study, the researchers implanted that tissue in the heart of healthy laboratory mice, and observed that the transplanted tissue established connections with the cells of cardiac tissue of animals.

That the cells are from the same patient that is going to perform the transplant could prevent your immune system reject the implanted tissue

Although stem cells from healthy young individuals had already been used to perform similar experiments, the novelty of this research -which has been published in the European Heart Journal- is that in this case the reprogrammed cells come from the patients themselves, They had previously suffered heart failure, and were 51 and 61 years old, respectively.

The fact that the cells are from the same patient to whom the transplant is to be performed is an important advantage because it could prevent the immune system of the patient from rejecting the implanted tissue. However, and as the authors of the work have warned, additional studies are still necessary to verify the behavior of the new cells when they are transplanted to the heart of patients, since at the moment they have only been tested in mice.

Stem Cell Advances in Heart Disease: Generating Muscle within an Existing Heart | Deepak Srivastava (November 2019).

Un groupe de scientifiques de Haïfa (Israël) a utilisé des cellules souches de la peau de deux patients souffrant d'insuffisance cardiaque et les a converties en cellules musculaires cardiaques saines - les cardiomyocytes - pour ensuite les attacher à un échantillon du tissu cardiaque endommagé et vérifier que , après une période comprise entre 24 et 48 heures, le tissu s'est régénéré.

Pour compléter l'étude, les chercheurs ont implanté ce tissu dans le cœur de souris de laboratoire en bonne santé et ont observé que le tissu greffé établissait des connexions avec les cellules du tissu cardiaque d'animaux.

Le fait que les cellules proviennent du même patient que celui qui effectuera la greffe pourrait empêcher votre système immunitaire de rejeter le tissu implanté

Bien que des cellules souches de jeunes individus en bonne santé aient déjà été utilisées pour réaliser des expériences similaires, la nouveauté de cette recherche - qui a été publiée dans le European Heart Journal - est que, dans ce cas, les cellules reprogrammées proviennent des patients eux-mêmes, Ils avaient déjà souffert d'insuffisance cardiaque et avaient respectivement 51 et 61 ans.

Le fait que les cellules proviennent du même patient auquel le greffon doit être effectué constitue un avantage important, car il pourrait empêcher le système immunitaire du patient de rejeter le tissu implanté. Cependant, et comme l'ont averti les auteurs des travaux, des études supplémentaires sont encore nécessaires pour vérifier le comportement des nouvelles cellules lorsqu'elles sont transplantées au cœur de patients, car pour le moment, elles n'ont été testées que sur des souris.

La thérapie cellulaire du coeur (Août 2019).