The World Health Organization (WHO) has warned that sedentary lifestyle is increasing worldwide and has already become the fourth risk factor for global mortality. To combat this situation, WHO has developed new recommendations on physical activity to improve health and that all age groups know how much exercise they need to do.

These guidelines, adapted to age groups ranging from five to 17 years old, from 18 to 64 years old and from 65 years of age and older, offer advice on the frequency, duration, intensity and type of appropriate exercise. for each individual.

For children and young people, the physical activity recommended by the WHO includes games, sports, transportation, homework, recreational activities, physical education or planned exercises to be done in the family environment, at school and with the rest of the community.

The goal is to improve physical fitness, both cardiovascular and muscular, bone health and cardiovascular and metabolic biomarkers. To do this, children and adolescents between five and 17 years must perform "at least 60 minutes of average to intense daily physical activity." "Exercising for more than 60 minutes provides additional health benefits," he said from the WHO. "Most of this daily exercise should be aerobic. However, activities of greater intensity, including those that strengthen muscles and bones, should also be carried out at least three times a week, "they say.

For adults between 18 and 64 years old, they propose the realization of physical activities that include exercise during leisure time, walking or cycling, exercising at home, games, sports and planned exercise. All this can be put into practice "in the context of daily activities, in the family environment and in community activities". This group must perform "at least 150 minutes of moderate to intense aerobic activity during the week or at least 75 minutes of intense weekly aerobic exercise or an equivalent combination of activity of both intensities."

To achieve "additional benefits in health", adults should increase their time to moderate exercise by 300 minutes per week or spend 150 minutes per week in intense aerobic exercise. Exercise to strengthen muscles should be done "two or more days per week."

For the group of 65 years or older, the WHO proposes to perform the same type of exercise as the rest of the adults. They are recommended to perform "at least 150 minutes of moderate to intense aerobic exercise every week or at least 75 minutes of intense weekly activity or a combination of both rhythms." The exercise must be done at intervals of "at least 10 minutes".

To achieve additional benefits, they must increase their moderate physical activity to 300 minutes per week or dedicate 150 minutes per week to intense physical activity or a combined equivalent of moderate and intense exercise. "Older people with mobility problems have to practice physical exercise to stay and prevent falls three or more days a week. The activities to strengthen the muscles should be done two or more days a week, "they say from the WHO.

EUROPE PRESS

We Walk in Abu Dhabi - Physical Inactivity is the fourth leading risk factor for global mortality (November 2019).

L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a averti que le style de vie sédentaire est en augmentation dans le monde et est déjà devenu le quatrième facteur de risque de mortalité dans le monde. Pour lutter contre cette situation, l'OMS a formulé de nouvelles recommandations sur l'activité physique pour améliorer la santé et que tous les groupes d'âge sachent à quel point ils doivent faire de l'exercice.

Ces directives, adaptées aux groupes d’âge allant de 5 à 17 ans, de 18 à 64 ans et à partir de 65 ans, donnent des conseils sur la fréquence, la durée, l’intensité et le type d’exercice approprié. pour chaque individu.

Pour les enfants et les jeunes, l’activité physique recommandée par l’OMS comprend des jeux, des sports, des transports, des devoirs, des activités récréatives, de l’éducation physique ou des exercices planifiés à réaliser en milieu familial, à l’école et avec le reste de la communauté.

L'objectif est d'améliorer la condition physique, à la fois cardiovasculaire et musculaire, la santé des os et les biomarqueurs métaboliques et cardiovasculaires. Pour ce faire, les enfants et les adolescents âgés de 5 à 17 ans doivent pratiquer «au moins 60 minutes d'activité physique quotidienne moyenne à intense». "S'exercer pendant plus de 60 minutes apporte des bénéfices supplémentaires pour la santé", a-t-il déclaré de l'OMS. "La plupart de ces exercices quotidiens devraient être aérobiques. Toutefois, les activités plus intenses, y compris celles qui renforcent les muscles et les os, devraient également être menées au moins trois fois par semaine ", ont-ils déclaré.

Pour les adultes de 18 à 64 ans, ils proposent la réalisation d’activités physiques comprenant des exercices physiques pendant les loisirs, la marche ou le vélo, des exercices à domicile, des jeux, du sport et des exercices planifiés. Tout cela peut être mis en pratique "dans le contexte d'activités quotidiennes, dans l'environnement familial et dans les activités communautaires". Ce groupe doit effectuer «au moins 150 minutes d’activité aérobique modérée à intense au cours de la semaine ou au moins 75 minutes d’exercice aérobique intense par semaine ou une combinaison équivalente d’activités des deux intensités».

Pour obtenir «des avantages supplémentaires en matière de santé», les adultes devraient augmenter le temps dont ils disposent pour modérer leurs exercices de 300 minutes par semaine ou passer 150 minutes par semaine à des exercices aérobiques intenses. Les exercices visant à renforcer les muscles doivent être effectués «deux jours ou plus par semaine».

Pour le groupe des 65 ans et plus, l’OMS propose de réaliser le même type d’exercice que le reste des adultes. Il leur est recommandé de pratiquer «au moins 150 minutes d’exercices aérobiques modérés à intenses toutes les semaines ou au moins 75 minutes d’activités intenses par semaine ou une combinaison des deux rythmes». L'exercice doit être effectué à intervalles d'au moins 10 minutes.

Pour obtenir des avantages supplémentaires, ils doivent augmenter leur activité physique modérée à 300 minutes par semaine ou consacrer 150 minutes par semaine à une activité physique intense ou à un équivalent combiné d'exercices modérés et intenses. "Les personnes âgées ayant des problèmes de mobilité doivent pratiquer une activité physique pour rester et éviter les chutes trois jours ou plus par semaine. Les activités visant à renforcer les muscles doivent être effectuées deux jours ou plus par semaine ", ont-ils déclaré à l'OMS.

EUROPE PRESSE

Zday 2010 "Social Pathology" Lecture, by Peter Joseph (Août 2019).