The prevention of schizophrenia is not possible, but numerous studies show that certain anomalies of motor development (speech, coordination, social behavior, etc.) suffered by children and young people, and even intrauterine markers, are indications of the existence of the disease. years before it manifests, according to Professor Celso Arango.

Arango, head of the Unit of Adolescents of Psychiatry at the Gregorio Marañón Hospital in Madrid and scientific director of the Center for Biomedical Research in Mental Health Network (CIBERSAM), adds that "there is evidence that shows that schizophrenia is a disease of neurodevelopment."

Early detection is important to provide the necessary support and improve the quality of life of patients and their families, but experts warn that the total or partial withdrawal of medication is a significant problem, since almost forty percent of patients abandon antipsychotic treatment during the first year, and 75 percent do so during the second year, suffering a relapse of the disease between six and twenty-four months after the suppression of the drugs.

New medications for schizophrenia

At present, the treatment of schizophrenia is based on the administration of antipsychotic drugs and psychosocial therapies, but the side effects of these drugs are being analyzed, since there are studies that show that the use of these drugs increases the incidence of Side effects in younger patients.

Therefore, the goal of scientists is to increase investment in research to effectively combat mental disorders such as schizophrenia, as well as reduce the disability they cause, taking into account the needs of the sick.

The cost associated with schizophrenia in Spain represents 2.7% of the total health cost of the National Health System, and it is estimated that this pathology affects one percent of the Spanish population, although only fifty percent of the patients diagnosed receives treatment

Only a Genius Or a Person With a Mental Illness Can Answer This (November 2019).

La prévention de la schizophrénie n’est pas possible, mais de nombreuses études montrent que certaines anomalies du développement moteur (parole, coordination, comportement social, etc.) subies par des enfants et des jeunes, voire des marqueurs intra-utérins, sont des indices de l’existence de la maladie. années avant sa manifestation, selon le professeur Celso Arango.

Arango, chef de l'unité des adolescents psychiatriques de l'hôpital Gregorio Marañón de Madrid et directeur scientifique du réseau du Centre de recherche biomédicale en santé mentale (CIBERSAM), ajoute qu '"il est prouvé que la schizophrénie est une maladie du développement neurologique".

La détection précoce est importante pour fournir le soutien nécessaire et améliorer la qualité de vie des patients et de leurs familles, mais les experts ont averti que le retrait total ou partiel des médicaments était un problème important, puisque près de quarante pour cent des les patients abandonnent le traitement antipsychotique au cours de la première année et 75% au cours de la deuxième année, souffrant d'une rechute de la maladie entre six et vingt-quatre mois après la suppression des médicaments.

Nouveaux médicaments pour la schizophrénie

À l'heure actuelle, le traitement de la schizophrénie repose sur l'administration d'antipsychotiques et de thérapies psychosociales, mais les effets secondaires de ces médicaments sont en cours d'analyse, car des études ont montré que l'utilisation de ces médicaments augmentait l'incidence de ces médicaments. Effets secondaires chez les patients plus jeunes.

Par conséquent, l'objectif des scientifiques est d'accroître les investissements dans la recherche pour lutter efficacement contre les troubles mentaux tels que la schizophrénie, ainsi que de réduire l'invalidité qu'ils provoquent, en tenant compte des besoins des malades.

Le coût associé à la schizophrénie en Espagne représente 2,7% du coût total de la santé du système national de santé et on estime que cette pathologie affecte 1% de la population espagnole, bien que seulement 50% des patients diagnostiqués reçoit un traitement

HOPITAL PSYCHIATRIQUE : LE TEMOIGNAGE BOULEVERSANT D'UN PATIENT À PINEL (Août 2019).