A study published in the magazine The New England Journal of Medicine, supported by the French Society of Dermatology and by Roche, analyzes the treatment of pemphigus with rituximab, a monoclonal antibody.

Pemphigus is a skin condition autoimmune, rare, which almost always manifests in middle-aged adults or elderly people, and is characterized by the formation of blisters on the outer layer of the skin (epidermis) and mucous membranes. The body's immune system produces antibodies to fight certain proteins in skin and mucous membranes, which cause a reaction that leads to the detachment of epidermal cells.

The study, in which 13 centers participated in France and was approved by the Seine-Maritime Ethics Committee, demonstrated the efficacy of rituximab, performing the trial on 21 patients (14 men and 7 women), where 86% were in complete remission three months after receiving four weekly infusions of rituximab.

In conclusion, this research suggests that rituximab is a very effective treatment for severe pemphigus, but a longer follow-up would be broader and safer, necessary to evaluate the long-term risks of treatment.

BLISTERING AUTOIMMUNE DISEASE| MY STORY WITH PEMPHIGUS VULGARIS (November 2019).

Une étude publiée dans le magazine Le journal de médecine de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, soutenu par la Société française de dermatologie et par Roche, analyse le traitement des pemphigus avec le rituximab, un anticorps monoclonal.

Le pemphigus est une affection cutanée auto-immune, rare, qui se manifeste presque toujours chez les adultes d'âge moyen ou chez les personnes âgées, et qui se caractérise par la formation de cloques sur la couche externe de la peau (épiderme) et des muqueuses. Le système immunitaire du corps produit des anticorps qui combattent certaines protéines de la peau et des muqueuses, provoquant ainsi une réaction qui provoque le détachement des cellules épidermiques.

L’étude, à laquelle treize centres ont participé en France et a été approuvée par le Comité d’éthique de Seine-Maritime, a démontré l’efficacité du rituximab en testant 21 patients (14 hommes et 7 femmes), dont 86% étaient rémission complète trois mois après avoir reçu quatre perfusions hebdomadaires de rituximab.

En conclusion, cette recherche suggère que le rituximab est un traitement très efficace du pemphigus grave, mais un suivi plus long serait plus large et plus sûr, nécessaire pour évaluer les risques à long terme du traitement.

À propos du Dr Steven Bernstein, Dermatologue - Victoria Park (Août 2019).