When antibiotics began to be used less than a century ago, scientists were surprised by how quickly the bacteria developed resistance to these drugs. However, recently, researchers at McMaster University (Canada) have discovered that bacteria have been developing this resistance for at least 30,000 years.

The results of the research, published in the journal 'Nature', show that resistance to antibiotics is a natural phenomenon, prior to the modern clinical use of these substances.

"Antibiotic resistance is a problem today, antibiotics are becoming less effective due to the diffusion of resistance in hospitals," says Gerry Wright, one of the principal investigators of the study and scientific director of the Institute. of Infectious Disease Research Michael G. DeGroote. "The great doubt is the origin of this resistance".

"Antibiotics are part of the natural ecology of the planet, so when we think we have developed a drug that will not cause resistance we are deceiving ourselves"

After years of studying bacterial DNA extracted from 30,000-year-old frozen soil (in the Yukon Territory, Canada), the researchers were able to develop methods to isolate this DNA in the Ancient DNA Center of McMaster, and analyze small fragments of ancient DNA using techniques of molecular biology.

The researchers discovered antibiotic resistance genes along with ancient DNA genes, from mammoths, horses and bison, as well as plants from the last interglacial period in the Pleistocene, 30,000 years ago. The scientists focused on the resistance of antibiotics to vancomycin, an important clinical problem that arose in 1980, and that is associated with outbreaks of Nosocomial infections around the world.

According to the study, these genes are present in the depths of the ice, and are consistent with the age of other genes, such as those of the mammoth. Brian Golding, of the Department of Biology of McMaster, explains that these genes were not contemporary, but were part of the same family. Next, they recreated the genetic product in the laboratory, purified the protein, and demonstrated that they had the same activity and structure as they do now.

According to Wright, the advance will have a decisive impact to understand the antibiotic resistance, since, as he affirms "the antibiotics are part of the natural ecology of the planet, reason why when we think that we have developed a drug that will not cause resistance we are By cheating ourselves completely, antibiotics are part of our natural world and, therefore, we have to be very careful when we use them. "

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Attack of the Super Bugs (November 2019).

Lorsque les antibiotiques ont commencé à être utilisés il y a moins d'un siècle, les scientifiques ont été surpris par la rapidité avec laquelle la bactérie s'est développée. résistance à ces médicaments. Cependant, des chercheurs de l'Université McMaster (Canada) ont récemment découvert que les bactéries développaient cette résistance depuis au moins 30 000 ans.

Les résultats de la recherche, publiés dans la revue "Nature", montrent que la résistance aux antibiotiques est un phénomène naturel, antérieur à l'utilisation clinique moderne de ces substances.

"La résistance aux antibiotiques est un problème aujourd'hui, les antibiotiques perdent de leur efficacité en raison de la diffusion de la résistance dans les hôpitaux", a déclaré Gerry Wright, l'un des principaux chercheurs de l'étude et directeur scientifique de l'Institut. de recherche sur les maladies infectieuses Michael G. DeGroote. "Le grand doute est à l'origine de cette résistance".

"Les antibiotiques font partie de l'écologie naturelle de la planète. Ainsi, lorsque nous pensons avoir mis au point un médicament qui ne provoquera pas de résistance, nous nous leurrons nous-mêmes"

Après des années d'étude de l'ADN bactérien extrait d'un sol gelé vieux de 30 000 ans (au Yukon, Canada), les chercheurs ont pu mettre au point des méthodes permettant d'isoler cet ADN dans le Ancien centre d'ADN de McMaster et analyser de petits fragments d’ADN ancien en utilisant des techniques de Biologie moléculaire.

Les chercheurs ont découvert des gènes de résistance aux antibiotiques ainsi que des gènes d’ADN anciens, provenant de mammouths, de chevaux et de bisons, ainsi que des plantes de la dernière période interglaciaire du Pléistocène, il ya 30 000 ans. Les scientifiques se sont concentrés sur la résistance des antibiotiques au vancomycine, un problème clinique important apparu en 1980 et associé aux épidémies de infections nosocomiales Dans le monde entier.

Selon l'étude, ces gènes sont présents dans les profondeurs de la glace et correspondent à l'âge d'autres gènes, tels que ceux du mammouth. Brian Golding, du département de biologie de McMaster, explique que ces gènes n'étaient pas contemporains, mais appartenaient à la même famille. Ensuite, ils ont recréé le produit génétique en laboratoire, purifié la protéine et démontré qu’ils avaient la même activité et la même structure qu’aujourd’hui.

Selon Wright, l’avancée aura un impact décisif sur la compréhension de la résistance aux antibiotiques, puisque, comme il affirme «les antibiotiques font partie de l’écologie naturelle de la planète, nous pensons que lorsque nous pensons avoir mis au point un médicament qui ne causera pas de résistance En se trompant complètement, les antibiotiques font partie de notre monde naturel et, par conséquent, nous devons faire très attention lorsque nous les utilisons. "

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

LE SALON DU SURVIVALISME – Les Reportages de Vincent Lapierre (Août 2019).