Many cancer patients treated with radiation therapy are afraid of suffering from a second tumor. Well, it had always been thought that this treatment was associated with a risk of developing a secondary cancer, but until now it was unknown in what proportion. The magazine 'The Lancet Oncology' has published a study of the National Cancer Institute in Rockville (United States) that reveals the mystery: eight percent. Much less than what was believed.

The authors, led by Amy Berrington de González, calculated the long-term risk of secondary cancers arising from radiotherapy at the locations of solid primary tumors of 647,672 patients during a 30-year follow-up period. During this time, nine percent of those who survived five years developed a second, solid cancer.

Of these, the researchers estimated that only eight percent of these secondary cancers could be associated with the radiotherapy treatment of the first cancer. More than half of these cancers occurred in breast and prostate cancer survivors. The estimated proportion of secondary cancers associated with radiotherapy varied according to the location of the first cancer, from four percent in the case of ocular cancers to 24 percent for testicular cancer.

The risk of developing a second cancer was higher in patients treated at a younger age and in organs exposed to higher doses of radiation and increased with the longer time since diagnosis. For every 1,000 patients treated with radiotherapy, the researchers estimated an excess of three cancers associated with radiation treatment in the 10 years following the diagnosis of the first cancer and an excess of five cancers at 15 years. These risks, the authors point out, are small compared to the possible benefits of the treatment.

Among these benefits, we could point out that radiotherapy is used to reduce the size of tumors, either to make them smaller and thus facilitate surgery, or to delay their progression. For this it damages the tumor cells, although it can also cause some damage in healthy cells. In this way it helps to reduce the possible pain associated with cancer, as well as to avoid relapses.

Radiation Therapy for Lung Cancer | Q&A with Russell Hales, M.D. (November 2019).

De nombreux patients cancéreux traités par radiothérapie ont peur de souffrir d'une deuxième tumeur. Eh bien, on avait toujours pensé que ce traitement était associé à un risque de développer un cancer secondaire, mais jusqu'à présent on ignorait dans quelle proportion. Le magazine 'The Lancet Oncology' a publié une étude du National Cancer Institute de Rockville (États-Unis) qui révèle le mystère: huit pour cent. Beaucoup moins que ce que l'on croyait.

Les auteurs, dirigés par Amy Berrington de González, ont calculé le risque à long terme de cancers secondaires résultant de la radiothérapie sur les tumeurs primitives solides de 647 672 patients au cours d'une période de suivi de 30 ans. Au cours de cette période, neuf pour cent des personnes ayant survécu cinq ans ont développé un deuxième cancer solide.

Parmi ceux-ci, les chercheurs ont estimé que seulement huit pour cent de ces cancers secondaires pourraient être associés au traitement par radiothérapie du premier cancer. Plus de la moitié de ces cancers sont survenus chez les survivants du cancer du sein et de la prostate. La proportion estimée de cancers secondaires associés à la radiothérapie variait en fonction de la localisation du premier cancer, allant de 4% dans le cas des cancers oculaires à 24% pour le cancer des testicules.

Le risque de développer un deuxième cancer était plus élevé chez les patients traités plus jeunes et dans les organes exposés à des doses de rayonnement plus élevées et augmentait avec le temps écoulé depuis le diagnostic. Les chercheurs ont estimé, pour 10 000 patients traités par radiothérapie, un excès de trois cancers associés à la radiothérapie dans les 10 années suivant le diagnostic du premier cancer et un excès de cinq cancers à 15 ans. Les auteurs soulignent que ces risques sont minimes par rapport aux avantages potentiels du traitement.

Parmi ces avantages, on peut noter que la radiothérapie est utilisée pour réduire la taille des tumeurs, soit pour les réduire, pour faciliter la chirurgie, soit pour en retarder la progression. Pour cela, il endommage les cellules tumorales, bien qu'il puisse également causer des dommages aux cellules saines. De cette façon, il aide à réduire la douleur éventuelle associée au cancer, ainsi qu’à éviter les rechutes.

Cancer du Rein (Septembre 2019).