An initiative that has been carried out by five Spanish hospitals - Hospital Universitarios Virgen del Rocío in Seville, La Fe de Valencia, Virgen de la Arrixaca in Murcia, San Cecilio in Granada and the Hospital de Jerez - has provided milk free to babies children of women infected with HIV, during their first six months of life.

The project, which has been called COURTESY, aims to prevent healthy newborns from contracting the AIDS virus through breastfeeding, one of the main routes of transmission from mother to child - especially in those countries where the general population has less income-, which is between 7 and 15 percent of the cases of babies who become infected after childbirth. And is that antiretroviral therapies and the prophylactic measures have already managed to significantly reduce the percentage of babies infected during pregnancy and childbirth.

The project will be extended to all Spanish territory, so that HIV-infected mothers with an unfavorable socioeconomic status can feed their babies with this free milk

Not all babies who breastfeed and whose mothers are infected with the virus in turn become infected, since transmission depends on many factors, such as cracks in the mother's nipple and viral load, But newborns, lacking a fully developed immune system, are more vulnerable to infections, so use artificial lactation in these cases, along with the administration to the mother of an appropriate antiretroviral therapy, and deliver by cesarean section , are measures that have proven to be effective in reducing the spread of mothers to children that, in developed countries, currently means less than 1%.

The success of the COURTESY program, which has been presented at the III GeSIDA National Congress held in Seville, has encouraged its promoters to extend it throughout the Spanish territory, with the aim that all mothers who are infected with HIV and whose socioeconomic situation is unfavorable can benefit from this free milk to feed their children, without having to resort to breastfeeding with the dangers that this would entail for the baby.

Breastfeeding (November 2019).

Une initiative mise en œuvre par cinq hôpitaux espagnols - l’hôpital universitaire Virgen del Rocío de Séville, La Fe de Valencia, la Vierge de l'Arrixaca de Murcie, San Cecilio de Grenade et l'hôpital de Jerez - a permis du lait libre de les bébés enfants de femmes infectées par le VIH, au cours de leurs six premiers mois de vie.

Le projet, intitulé COURTOISIE, vise à empêcher les nouveau-nés en bonne santé de contracter le virus du SIDA par l'allaitement au sein, l'un des principaux modes de transmission de la mère à l'enfant - en particulier dans les pays où la population en général a moins de revenus, ce qui représente entre 7 et 15% des cas de bébés infectés après l’accouchement. Et est-ce thérapies antirétrovirales et les mesures prophylactiques ont déjà réussi à réduire de manière significative le pourcentage de bébés infectés pendant la grossesse et l’accouchement.

Le projet sera étendu à tout le territoire espagnol, afin que les mères infectées par le VIH et ayant un statut socio-économique défavorable puissent nourrir leurs bébés avec ce lait gratuit.

Tous les bébés qui allaitent et dont la mère est infectée par le virus ne le sont pas à leur tour, car la transmission dépend de nombreux facteurs, tels que les fissures dans le mamelon et la charge virale de la mère, Mais les nouveau-nés, dépourvus de système immunitaire pleinement développé, sont plus vulnérables aux infections. Par conséquent, utilisez l'allaitement artificiel dans ces cas, ainsi que l'administration à la mère d'un traitement antirétroviral approprié et l'accouchement par césarienne. , sont des mesures qui se sont avérées efficaces pour réduire la propagation de la mère à l'enfant qui, dans les pays développés, signifie actuellement moins de 1%.

Le succès du programme COURTOISIE, présenté au IIIe Congrès national GeSIDA à Séville, a encouragé ses promoteurs à l’étendre sur tout le territoire espagnol afin que toutes les mères infectées par le VIH et le Les personnes dont la situation socio-économique est défavorable peuvent bénéficier de ce lait gratuit pour nourrir leurs enfants, sans avoir à recourir à l'allaitement avec les dangers que cela comporterait pour le bébé.

Prises de sein en cas de problèmes de succion. (Août 2019).