People with a very marked sensitivity to variations in pressure usually suffer from discomfort in the ears when traveling by plane, and also when traveling by car, when going up or down a mountain pass.

"The pain and other discomforts usually disappear within a few hours, but there may be an effusion of the ear fluid, a hemorrhage, or a perforation of the eardrum in the most serious cases"

During the summer holidays, we travel more frequently, and we can suffer from ear problems -which are known as barotraumatisms- as a result of the aforementioned pressure changes. Although they are not usually serious, they are very annoying, and it is convenient to take precautions so that the desired vacations do not make us bitter.

These disorders cause symptoms such as pain or a temporary loss of hearing, and although they usually disappear within a few hours, sometimes the discomfort is prolonged and there may be a leakage of the ear fluid, a hemorrhage, or even a perforation of the eardrum. more serious cases.

Although at present the cabins of the airplanes are pressurized precisely to avoid the sudden variations of pressure, it is something that is not always achieved and it is easy for the ears to be stuck, especially when the plane is descending. If you also suffer from allergies or have a cold, and you have a stuffy nose, your ears are even more likely to be affected by pressure changes. Therefore, it is best that you take some simple precautions to make the trip more comfortable.

Tips to keep your ears healthy

Here are some tips so that your ears do not give you problems when traveling:

  • If you suffer sinusitis or allergy, or have just had the bad luck to catch a cold just before traveling, it is convenient to consult a specialist, who will explain what you can do to prevent hearing disorders, or prescribe a medication to decongest your nose if you think it is convenient.
  • Chewing gum, drinking water and yawning during the flight will help you activate the muscles that are responsible for the opening of the eustachian tube and your ears are uncovered.
  • It is better not to fall asleep during takeoff and landing.
  • To prevent tamponade in young children it is advisable that during the descent they have their pacifier, or give them some liquid to increase the swallowing.
  • If you notice discomfort in the ears during the trip, you can do the following: cover your nose with your fingers and breathe in through your mouth, expelling the air gently through your nose pressing with the muscles of the throat and cheeks to separate the fingers from the nose and that the offices are opened so that the air comes out. A click in the ears will tell you that you have succeeded. You can repeat this exercise during the descent, but always do it gently so as not to damage the eardrums.
  • If the discomfort continues after the trip, visit an otolaryngologist.

Source: GAES Auditory Centers

Ear Problems and Air Travel - Boys Town Ear, Nose & Throat Institute (November 2019).

Les personnes ayant une sensibilité très marquée aux variations de pression souffrent généralement de gêne aux oreilles lors de leurs déplacements en avion, mais également lors de leurs déplacements en voiture, lors de la montée ou de la descente d'un col.

"La douleur et les autres malaises disparaissent généralement en quelques heures, mais il peut y avoir un épanchement du liquide auriculaire, une hémorragie ou une perforation du tympan dans les cas les plus graves"

Pendant les vacances d’été, nous voyageons plus fréquemment et nous pouvons souffrir de problèmes d’oreille - connus sous le nom de barotraumatismes - en raison des changements de pression susmentionnés. Bien qu'ils ne soient généralement pas graves, ils sont très ennuyeux et il convient de prendre des précautions afin que les vacances souhaitées ne nous rendent pas amers.

Ces troubles provoquent des symptômes tels que douleur ou perte temporaire de l'audition. Bien qu'ils disparaissent généralement en quelques heures, la gêne se prolonge parfois et il peut se produire une fuite du liquide auriculaire, une hémorragie ou même une perforation du tympan. cas plus graves.

Bien que les cabines des avions soient actuellement pressurisées précisément pour éviter les brusques variations de pression, cela n’est pas toujours réalisable et il est facile de se coincer les oreilles, en particulier lorsque l’avion est en descente. Si vous souffrez également d'allergies ou d'un rhume et que vous avez le nez bouché, vos oreilles risquent encore plus d'être affectées par les changements de pression. Par conséquent, il est préférable que vous preniez quelques précautions simples pour rendre le voyage plus confortable.

Conseils pour garder vos oreilles en bonne santé

Voici quelques conseils pour que vos oreilles ne vous posent pas de problèmes lorsque vous voyagez:

  • Si vous avez une sinusite ou une allergie, ou si vous avez juste eu la malchance d'attraper un rhume juste avant de voyager, il est préférable de consulter un spécialiste qui vous expliquera ce que vous pouvez faire pour prévenir les troubles de l'audition ou vous prescrira un médicament pour vous décongestionner le nez si vous pensez que c'est pratique.
  • Le chewing-gum, l'eau potable et le bâillement pendant le vol vous aideront à activer les muscles responsables de l'ouverture de la trompe d'Eustache et à dévoiler vos oreilles.
  • Il vaut mieux ne pas s'endormir pendant le décollage et l'atterrissage.
  • Pour prévenir la tamponnade chez les jeunes enfants, il est conseillé d’avoir leur sucette pendant la descente ou de leur donner un peu de liquide pour augmenter la déglutition.
  • Si vous remarquez une gêne aux oreilles pendant le voyage, vous pouvez: couvrir votre nez avec les doigts et respirer par la bouche, en expulsant doucement l’air par le nez en pressant les muscles de la gorge et les joues pour séparer les doigts le nez et que les bureaux sont ouverts pour que l'air sorte. Un clic dans les oreilles vous dira que vous avez réussi. Vous pouvez répéter cet exercice pendant la descente, mais faites-le toujours doucement pour ne pas endommager les tympans.
  • Si le malaise persiste après le voyage, consultez un oto-rhino-laryngologiste.

Source: Centres auditifs GAES

Protection Auditive Avion Quies (Août 2019).