A study conducted in Australia by a team of researchers from the 'Murdoch Childrens Research Institute' and the 'Royal Children's Hospital', and led by Valerie Sung, has revealed that the use of probiotics -Lactobacillus reuteri- It can be effective to treat infant colic, especially when it comes to babies exclusively fed by breastfeeding.

The authors of the study - which has been published in 'JAMA Pediatrics'- systematically reviewed 12 trials in which 1,825 babies of three months or less were randomized, either oral probiotics, placebo, or no treatment.

Five of these trials examined the efficacy of probiotics in the treatment of infant colic and, in the remaining seven, the role they played in the prevention of this disorder, in order to know the number of episodes of crying in the infant. baby, its duration, or the diagnosis of colic in nursing infants.

Half of the trials analyzed suggested that probiotics had reduced babies' crying

According to the findings of the research, in half of the trials it was suggested that probiotics had reduced the crying of babies. In addition, in three of the five management studies it was ensured that probiotics effectively treated colic in those babies who were breastfed, one suggested that they were not effective in this case, and another suggested that they can be effective also in babies fed formula milk.

Researchers have stated that it is necessary to perform randomized trials of larger size and rigorously designed, in order to assess the effectiveness of probiotic L. Reuteri in the prevention and treatment of these cramps, especially in babies fed artificial milk.

Pediatrics & Child Health Care : Newborn Colic Remedies (November 2019).

Une étude menée en Australie par une équipe de chercheurs du "Murdoch Childrens Research Institute" et du "Royal Children's Hospital", et dirigée par Valerie Sung, a révélé que l'utilisation de probiotiques -Lactobacillus reuteri- Il peut être efficace de traiter les coliques infantiles, en particulier chez les bébés exclusivement nourris au sein.

Les auteurs de l'étude - publiée dans «JAMA Pediatrics» - ont examiné systématiquement 12 essais dans lesquels 1 825 bébés de trois mois ou moins étaient randomisés, probiotiques oraux, placebo ou aucun traitement.

Cinq de ces essais ont examiné l'efficacité des probiotiques dans le traitement de la colique infantile et, dans les sept autres cas, leur rôle dans la prévention de cette maladie, afin de connaître le nombre d'épisodes de pleurs chez l'enfant. bébé, sa durée ou le diagnostic de colique chez le nourrisson allaité.

La moitié des essais analysés suggèrent que les probiotiques ont réduit les pleurs des bébés

Selon les conclusions de la recherche, dans la moitié des essais, il a été suggéré que les probiotiques avaient réduit les pleurs des bébés. En outre, dans trois des cinq études de gestion, on s’assurait que les probiotiques traitaient efficacement les coliques chez les bébés nourris au sein, un donnait à penser qu’il n’était pas efficace dans ce cas, les bébés nourris au lait maternisé.

Les chercheurs ont déclaré qu’il était nécessaire de réaliser des essais randomisés de plus grande taille et rigoureusement conçus pour évaluer l’efficacité des tests probiotiques. L. Reuteri dans la prévention et le traitement de ces crampes, notamment chez les bébés nourris au lait artificiel.

Comment soigner les coliques du nourrisson ? - La Maison des Maternelles (Août 2019).