Premature babies - those born before the end of week 37 of pregnancy - have an increased risk of dying, and also suffer numerous complications and sequelae. To the point that premature birth is considered the leading cause of illness and death in neonates and, in the long term, can have serious consequences for the Health of these children, from learning disorders and hyperactivity, to respiratory problems or cerebral palsy.

In the last decade, numerous efforts have been made to try to avoid premature births, which are estimated to be around 13 million per year worldwide and which, only in the United States, imply a health cost of more than 26 billion dollars annually. Now, a group of researchers from the Vall d'Hebron hospital in Barcelona have tested a device - a cervical pessary- that, inserted during the first trimester of pregnancy, to those women who present a short cervix, significantly reduces the chances of having a preterm delivery.

Around 13 million premature babies are born every year around the world and, only in the US, this implies a health cost of more than 26 billion dollars per year

The short cervix is ​​a risk factor for prematurity. Therefore, 15,000 were chosen pregnant with this characteristic so that they could participate in the Preterm Preventive Delivery Project through a cervical pessary in pregnant women with decreased cervical length (PECEP). The authors of the trial, whose results have published The Lancet, found that pregnant women who carried pessaries were much less likely to give birth prematurely, something that happened to 6% of these women compared to 27% of those who did not carry the device.

The cervical pessary, as the authors of the study explain, is a simple device to put on and take off, inexpensive - its cost is 38 euros - and non-invasive. In addition, 95 percent of the women who used it declared themselves satisfied, and there were no relevant side effects. Although new studies are still needed for this device to be considered an effective treatment in women with cervical insufficiency, experts hope it can be used to reduce the incidence of premature births and associated complications.

Considerations and Strategies to Help Prevent Preterm Birth (November 2019).

Les bébés prématurés - ceux qui sont nés avant la fin de la semaine 37 de la grossesse - ont un risque accru de décès et souffrent également de nombreuses complications et séquelles. Au point que la naissance prématurée est considérée comme la principale cause de maladie et de décès chez les nouveau-nés et qu’elle peut avoir, à long terme, des conséquences graves pour la santé. la santé troubles de l’apprentissage et de l’hyperactivité, à des problèmes respiratoires ou à la paralysie cérébrale.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, de nombreux efforts ont été déployés pour éviter les naissances prématurées, estimées à environ 13 millions par an dans le monde et qui, aux États-Unis seulement, impliquent des coûts de santé supérieurs à 26 milliards de dollars par an. Maintenant, un groupe de chercheurs de l’hôpital du Vall d’Hebron à Barcelone a testé un appareil - un pessaire cervical- que, insérée pendant le premier trimestre de la grossesse, aux femmes qui présentent un col utérin court, réduit considérablement les chances d'avoir un accouchement prématuré.

Environ 13 millions de bébés prématurés naissent chaque année dans le monde, ce qui représente un coût de santé supérieur à 26 milliards de dollars par an.

Le col utérin court est un facteur de risque de prématurité. Par conséquent, 15 000 ont été choisis enceinte avec cette caractéristique pour pouvoir participer au projet d'accouchement préventif prématuré par l'intermédiaire d'un pessaire cervical chez les femmes enceintes présentant une longueur cervicale réduite (PECEP). Les auteurs de l'essai, dont les résultats ont été publiés par The Lancet, ont découvert que les femmes enceintes porteuses de pessaires étaient beaucoup moins susceptibles d'accoucher prématurément, ce qui est arrivé à 6% de ces femmes contre 27% de celles qui ne portaient pas le dispositif.

Comme l'expliquent les auteurs de l'étude, le pessaire cervical est un dispositif simple à mettre et à enlever, peu coûteux - son coût est de 38 euros - et non invasif. En outre, 95% des femmes qui l'ont utilisé se sont déclarées satisfaites et il n'y a pas eu d'effets secondaires pertinents. Bien que de nouvelles études soient encore nécessaires pour que ce dispositif soit considéré comme un traitement efficace chez les femmes présentant une insuffisance cervicale, les experts espèrent qu’il pourra être utilisé pour réduire l’incidence des naissances prématurées et des complications qui y sont associées.

Fausses couches à répétition : la technique du cerclage définitif - Allô Docteurs (Août 2019).