When a woman suffers infections during pregnancy, even mild, these can have serious consequences for your baby. And is that at the time of delivery, bacteria found in the vaginal tract of the mother can be transmitted to the baby when it comes into contact with the maternal bacterial flora.

23.4% of newborn deaths worldwide are due to neonatal infections, such as sepsis -infection in the blood-, pneumonia or meningitis. The transmission of pathogens to the baby can occur both during birth and before birth, if the bacteria cross the placenta and infect the baby. amniotic fluid.

In a study that has reviewed the data of 67 scientific studies, and whose conclusions have been published in 'PLOS Medicine', it has been found that when the mother is infected increases up to seven times the risk of your baby suffering a neonatal infection.

When the mother is infected increases up to seven times the risk of your baby suffering a neonatal infection

The authors of the study point out that the study has an important impact at the level of health policy because establishing intrapartum antibiotic prophylaxis would contribute to reducing the incidence of infections in the newborn acquired through the mother. In fact, they add, in the developed countries protocols are already available that indicate the way to act in case of situations of risk such as premature birth.

However, in disadvantaged countries located in areas such as Southeast Asia or Africa between 22.5 and 27.2 percent of deaths in newborns are due to sepsis, a rate that drops to between 9.1 and 15.3 percent in Europe.

Understanding Early Pregnancy Loss (November 2019).

Lorsqu'une femme souffre d'infections, même bénignes, pendant la grossesse, cela peut avoir de graves conséquences pour votre bébé. Et est-ce qu'au moment de l'accouchement, les bactéries présentes dans le tractus vaginal de la mère peuvent être transmises au bébé lorsqu'il entre en contact avec la flore bactérienne maternelle.

23,4% des décès de nouveau-nés dans le monde sont dus à infections néonatales, tels que la septicémie-infection dans le sang, la pneumonie ou la méningite. La transmission d'agents pathogènes au bébé peut se produire à la naissance et avant la naissance si la bactérie traverse le placenta et infecte le bébé. le liquide amniotique.

Dans une étude qui a examiné les données de 67 études scientifiques et dont les conclusions ont été publiées dans «PLOS Medicine», il a été constaté que, lorsque la mère est infectée, le risque que votre bébé soit infecté soit jusqu'à sept fois plus élevé.

Lorsque la mère est infectée, le risque d'infection néonatale chez votre bébé augmente jusqu'à sept fois plus

Les auteurs de l’étude soulignent que l’étude a un impact important au niveau de la politique de santé car la mise en place d’une prophylaxie par antibiotiques intrapartum contribuerait à réduire l’incidence des infections chez le nouveau-né contractées par la mère. En fait, ajoutent-ils, dans les pays développés, il existe déjà des protocoles qui indiquent comment agir en cas de risque, tel qu'une naissance prématurée.

Cependant, dans les pays défavorisés situés dans des régions telles que l’Asie du Sud-Est ou l’Afrique, 22,5 à 27,2% des décès chez les nouveau-nés sont dus à une sepsie, un taux qui chute entre 9,1 et 15,3% en Europe.

Grossesse et médicaments : une association risquée - Le Magazine de la santé (Août 2019).