Various studies and expert psychologists agree that practicing sport is a psychological therapy affordable and accessible, which provides numerous benefits for the health and well-being of those who dare to try it. We must practice exercise throughout the year, but in the summer it is better to be outdoors, and there are many exercises that we can practice and that do not require special sports skills, such as walking, swimming, or riding a bicycle (always remembering to avoid the hours when it is warmer, and that it is necessary to protect against the sun, and hydrate properly, as well as adapt the intensity and duration of the exercise to our abilities and our age.

Carlos Díez, director of Sanitas-Real Madrid Medical Services, warns that the lack of physical activity in Western society is a serious problem that harms both physical health and emotional well-being, and praises the virtues of sport that offers us the opportunity to learn, exercise and strengthen a series of mental skills that will allow us to improve in the sport to which we are fans, but also in other environments, such as our professional or academic activity or our social relationships.

Among the health effects of sports practice include:

  • It helps to control stress. Reduces anxiety and its consequences, such as irritability and tension maintained.
  • It's fun so it helps to forget about problems and occupies leisure time in a healthy way.
  • Motivate the individual and favors its ability to set challenges and successfully deal with them.
  • Improves self-esteem This is usually linked to greater physical well-being and because with exercise the body usually looks better which gives more confidence in oneself. In addition, it helps to develop our spirit of sacrifice and improvement.
  • Increase cognitive performance By increasing the flow of oxygen to the brain, alertness is enhanced and learning ability, memory and concentration improve.
  • It promotes emotional well-being: activates the production of endorphins, hormones that make us feel pleasure.
  • Help to be tolerant in the face of frustration: we learn to work hard and not to be discouraged when difficulties arise, and to work with perseverance to achieve our goals.
  • Decreases the symptoms of depression: Physical exercise is often used as a treatment that complements other therapies, and sometimes it is even an alternative to traditional methods when managing some mental disorders. Experts estimate, in fact, that people who exercise regularly have about 40% less chance of developing a depressive disorder than sedentary people.

Sport benefits children

In the case of children, the key is to choose the sport that best suits each one, and make your practice fun.

This will ensure that physical activity promotes the physical and emotional development of the child, and that it provides benefits such as:

  • It facilitates their social integration, because they learn to comply with standards.
  • It helps the most timid to lose the fear of relating, and reduces the impulsivity of the most active.
  • They learn to collaborate with other children, to work as a team, and to be disciplined, since they must abide by the rules of the game and respect shifts.
  • They become more responsible because they have to fulfill certain obligations.
  • Improves movement coordination.
  • It positively influences their physical development.

Before starting any physical activity or sport, it is necessary to consult with a specialist which is the most appropriate for our age and physical condition, and that they make us a previous medical examination. And it is that despite how healthy it is to practice exercise, it can be harmful if we do it badly or have a health problem that makes it unadvisable.

Source: Sanitas Medical Services - Real Madrid

2.11 Exercise: Nature's Medicine for Depression and Stress (November 2019).

Diverses études et experts psychologues s'accordent à dire que la pratique du sport est une thérapie psychologique abordable et accessible, qui procure de nombreux avantages pour la santé et le bien-être de ceux qui osent l’essayer. Nous devons pratiquer des exercices tout au long de l’année, mais en été, il est préférable d’être à l’extérieur. Il existe de nombreux exercices que nous pouvons pratiquer et qui n'exigent pas de compétences sportives particulières, telles que marcher, nager ou faire du vélo (rappelez-vous toujours les heures où il fait plus chaud et qu'il est nécessaire de se protéger du soleil et de s'hydrater correctement, ainsi que d'adapter l'intensité et la durée de l'exercice à nos capacités et à notre âge.

Carlos Díez, directeur des services médicaux de Sanitas-Real Madrid, avertit que le manque d'activité physique dans la société occidentale est un problème sérieux qui nuit à la santé physique et au bien-être émotionnel, et loue les vertus du sport qui nous offre l'occasion apprendre, faire de l'exercice et renforcer une série d'habiletés mentales qui nous permettront de nous améliorer dans le sport auquel nous sommes fans, mais également dans d'autres environnements, tels que notre activité professionnelle ou académique ou nos relations sociales.

Parmi les effets de la pratique sportive sur la santé, on peut citer:

  • Cela aide à contrôler le stress. Réduit l'anxiété et ses conséquences, telles que l'irritabilité et la tension maintenue.
  • C'est amusant il est donc utile d’oublier les problèmes et d’occuper son temps de loisir de manière saine.
  • Motiver l'individu et favorise sa capacité à définir des défis et à les gérer avec succès.
  • Améliore l'estime de soi Ceci est généralement lié à un plus grand bien-être physique et parce qu'avec l'exercice, le corps a généralement meilleure apparence, ce qui donne plus de confiance en soi. En outre, cela contribue à développer notre esprit de sacrifice et d'amélioration.
  • Augmenter les performances cognitives En augmentant le flux d'oxygène vers le cerveau, la vigilance est améliorée et la capacité d'apprentissage, la mémoire et la concentration s'améliorent.
  • Il favorise le bien-être émotionnel: active la production d'endorphines, des hormones qui nous procurent du plaisir.
  • Aide à être tolérant face à la frustration: nous apprenons à travailler dur, à ne pas nous décourager lorsque des difficultés surviennent et à travailler avec persévérance pour atteindre nos objectifs.
  • Diminue les symptômes de dépression: L’exercice physique est souvent utilisé comme traitement complémentaire à d’autres thérapies et parfois même comme une alternative aux méthodes traditionnelles de prise en charge de certains troubles mentaux. Les experts estiment en effet que les personnes qui exercent régulièrement ont environ 40% moins de risques de développer un trouble dépressif que les personnes sédentaires.

Le sport profite aux enfants

Dans le cas des enfants, la clé est de choisir le sport qui convient le mieux à chacun et de rendre votre pratique amusante.

Cela garantira que l'activité physique favorise le développement physique et émotionnel de l'enfant et qu'elle procure des avantages tels que:

  • Cela facilite leur intégration sociale, car ils apprennent à se conformer aux normes.
  • Cela aide les plus timides à perdre la peur des relations et réduit l'impulsivité des plus actifs.
  • Ils apprennent à collaborer avec d'autres enfants, à travailler en équipe et à faire preuve de discipline, car ils doivent respecter les règles du jeu et respecter les changements.
  • Ils deviennent plus responsables car ils doivent remplir certaines obligations.
  • Améliore la coordination des mouvements.
  • Cela influence positivement leur développement physique.

Avant de commencer une activité physique ou un sport, il est nécessaire de consulter un spécialiste qui convient le mieux à notre âge et à notre condition physique et qui examen médical préalable. Et c’est que, malgré sa bonne santé, il peut être nocif de faire de l’exercice si on le fait mal ou si on a un problème de santé qui le déconseille.

Source: Sanitas Medical Services - Real Madrid

La méditation, la grande énigme du cerveau (Août 2019).