An investigation carried out by scientists from the cancer center City of Hope of California, in the United States, published in the magazine Cancer Prevention Research, has revealed that chemical compounds found in pomegranates can reduce the risk of developing a type of breast cancer associated with estrogen receptors.

Shiuan Chen, author of the research, explains that they have managed to identify ten substances present in the pomegranate that have the ability to inhibit the activity of aromatase, an enzyme that plays an important role in the development of these tumors, because it intervenes in the production of estrogen.

In previous research, it was already proven that consuming the juice of this fruit, rich in antioxidants and vitamins, helps prevent the onset of heart disease, cancer and Alzheimer's disease.

The authors of the study do not claim that the new compounds discovered replace the drugs currently available, and that they act as aromatase inhibitors because, as Dr. Chen explains, their potency is lower than that of the available drugs, so the research focuses more on the preventive possibilities than on the therapeutic efficacy.

Several scientists who have not participated in the study have highlighted that these are promising results and that it is convenient to carry out more studies that ratify the obtained data. According to Gary Stoner, of the Ohio State University, It has not yet been proven whether the necessary levels could be achieved in animals or humans because there is not a good absorption of the compounds in the blood when they are obtained through the diet.

How to Prevent Breast Cancer – Top 10 Breast Cancer Prevention Diets for this Disease (November 2019).

Une enquête menée par des scientifiques du centre de cancérologie Ville d'espoir de Californie, aux États-Unis, publié dans le magazine Recherche sur la prévention du cancer, a révélé que les composés chimiques présents dans les grenades peuvent réduire le risque de développer un type de cancer du sein associé aux récepteurs des œstrogènes.

Shiuan Chen, auteur de la recherche, explique qu'ils ont réussi à identifier dix substances présentes dans la grenade qui ont la capacité d'inhiber l'activité de l'aromatase, une enzyme qui joue un rôle important dans le développement de ces tumeurs, car elle intervient dans la production d'œstrogène.

Dans des recherches antérieures, il avait déjà été prouvé que la consommation du jus de ce fruit, riche en antioxydants et en vitamines, permettait de prévenir l'apparition de maladies cardiaques, de cancers et de la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Les auteurs de l’étude ne prétendent pas que les nouveaux composés découverts remplacent les médicaments actuellement disponibles et qu’ils agissent en tant qu’inhibiteurs de l’aromatase car, comme le explique le Dr Chen, leur activité est inférieure à celle des médicaments disponibles. la recherche se concentre donc davantage sur les possibilités de prévention que sur l'efficacité thérapeutique.

Plusieurs scientifiques qui n’ont pas participé à l’étude ont souligné qu’il s’agissait là de résultats prometteurs et qu’il était pratique de mener davantage d’études permettant de valider les données obtenues. Selon Gary Stoner, de la Université d'État de l'Ohio, Il n'a pas encore été prouvé si les niveaux nécessaires pourraient être atteints chez les animaux ou chez l'homme, car les composés ne sont pas bien absorbés dans le sang lorsqu'ils sont obtenus par le régime alimentaire.

Les fruits qui préviennent le cancer du sein (Août 2019).