Canadian researchers have shown that a species of Ebola virus from Zaire, which is extremely virulent in humans, can replicate in pigs, trigger the disease, and be transmitted to animals that had not previously been exposed to the virus. The results of this work have been published in The Journal of Infectious Diseases.

To prevent human outbreaks of Ebola hemorrhagic fever, it is important to identify the species of animals that replicate and transmit the virus to other animals and, potentially, to people.

The Ebola virus of Zaire, one of the multiple species of this virus, has a 90% mortality rate in humans Antibodies have been found for other species not associated with the human disease, known as Ebola Reston virus, in pig farms in the Philippines, suggesting that pigs may be able to transmit virulent Ebola virus to people as well.

This study, led by Gary P. Kobinger, of the Public Health Agency of Canada, and Hana Weingartl, of the National Center for Foreign Animal Disease of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, investigated whether Zabo's Ebola virus, such as the Ebola Reston virus, could replicate and cause disease in pigs and be transmitted to other animals. Thus, using farm pigs, the researchers evaluated the replication of the virus and its pathogenicity and elimination.

By eliminating the virus from the nasal mucosa, the infected pigs transmit the infection to the animals with which they live

The researchers found that after the mucosa was exposed to the Ebola virus of Zaire, the pigs replicated the virus in large quantities, especially in the respiratory tract. The elimination of the virus from the nasal mucosa was detected for up to 14 days after infection, and a severe lung disease. The study also showed that the virus was transmitted to all pigs that were previously not exposed and that lived with the infected animals.

The authors of the study suggest that farm pigs are susceptible to the Èbola virus of Zaire through mucosal infection, and that the severe respiratory disease that accompanies it is associated with the elimination of high viral loads in the environment, exposing pigs without infect this infection.

In contrast to the systemic syndrome that affects various organs, which often leads to shock and death in primates, these researchers emphasize, the respiratory syndrome that pigs develop can be confused with other porcine respiratory diseases.

Top 5 Deadliest Diseases (November 2019).

Des chercheurs canadiens ont montré qu’une espèce de virus Ebola du Zaïre, extrêmement virulente chez l’homme, peut répliquer chez le porc, déclencher la maladie et être transmis à des animaux qui n’avaient jamais été exposés au virus. Les résultats de ces travaux ont été publiés dans Le journal des maladies infectieuses.

Pour prévenir les épidémies de fièvre hémorragique Ebola chez l'homme, il est important d'identifier les espèces d'animaux qui répliquent et transmettent le virus à d'autres animaux et, éventuellement, à l'homme.

Le virus Ebola du Zaïre, l’une des multiples espèces de ce virus, a une Taux de mortalité de 90% chez l'homme Des anticorps ont été trouvés pour d'autres espèces non associées à la maladie humaine, connue sous le nom de Virus Ebola Reston, dans des élevages de porcs aux Philippines, suggérant que les porcs pourraient également transmettre le virus Ebola virulent à la population.

Cette étude, dirigée par Gary P. Kobinger, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, et Hana Weingartl, du Centre national des maladies animales exotiques de la Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, ont étudié si le virus Ebola de Zabo, tel que le virus Ebola Reston, pouvait se répliquer et causer la maladie chez les porcs et être transmis à d'autres animaux. Ainsi, à l'aide de porcs de ferme, les chercheurs ont évalué la réplication du virus ainsi que son pouvoir pathogène et son élimination.

En éliminant le virus de la muqueuse nasale, les porcs infectés transmettent l'infection aux animaux avec lesquels ils vivent

Les chercheurs ont découvert qu'après l'exposition de la muqueuse au virus Ebola du Zaïre, les porcs ont répliqué le virus en grande quantité, en particulier dans les voies respiratoires. L'élimination du virus de la muqueuse nasale a été détectée jusqu'à 14 jours après l'infection, et une grave maladie pulmonaire. L'étude a également montré que le virus était transmis à tous les porcs non exposés auparavant et vivant avec les animaux infectés.

Les auteurs de l’étude suggèrent que les porcs d’élevage sont sensibles au virus Ebola du Zaïre par une infection des muqueuses et que la maladie respiratoire sévère qui l’accompagne est associée à l’élimination des charges virales élevées dans l’environnement, exposant les porcs sans infecter cette infection.

Les chercheurs soulignent que, contrairement au syndrome systémique qui touche plusieurs organes, ce qui entraîne souvent un choc et la mort chez les primates, le syndrome respiratoire développé par les porcs peut être confondu avec d'autres maladies respiratoires porcines.

Ce que vous devez savoir sur la Grippe en quelques minutes (Août 2019).