The 'World Day of Rheumatoid Arthritis' has this year's slogan the phrase "Move to improve", and is that experts advise the practice of physical exercise regularly to prevent damage such as osteoporosis, or progressive deformity and loss of strength of the affected joints.

It is estimated that rheumatoid arthritis (RA), a chronic and rheumatic disease that causes inflammation of the joints, has a prevalence of 0.5% of the population. A large part of those affected, however, are not diagnosed, so it would be necessary to improve the early detection of this condition in order to treat the symptoms as soon as possible and prevent serious injuries.

Dr. Ana Ortiz, spokesperson for the Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER), and deputy physician of the Rheumatology Service of the Hospital de la Princesa de Madrid, explains that the control of the disease during the first two years conditions the prognosis in the medium and long term, since it has been observed that the early onset of adequate treatment has improved the functional capacity of patients. The biological drugs, adds the specialist, have also contributed to improve the quality of life of patients.

Research is currently being carried out on the prognostic markers of rheumatoid arthritis, which would allow patients in the initial phase of the disease, when the symptoms are difficult to distinguish from those of other conditions, to be identified. the illness. Dr. Ortiz points out that it would also be of great help to have other markers that would serve to know the response of patients to different treatments, to be able to individualize the therapy and avoid delays and adverse side effects, being able to directly use the most effective treatment in each case.

Healthy life habits

In outbreaks of rheumatoid arthritis, when the joints are inflamed, it is necessary to reduce physical activity, although normally the patient will not need to stay in bed unless indicated by the specialist; however, the rest of the time practicing physical exercise should be part of the daily routine of those affected.

You can perform multiple exercises, such as isometrics, in which the muscles are contracted without moving the joint, and which contribute to maintain a good muscle tone, or those that favor the mobilization of the joints to prevent them from atrophy. Also the massages, which relax the muscles, are positive. The most recommended sports for these patients are walking, swimming and cycling.

The specialists also stress the importance of placing the joints well, avoiding keeping the legs and arms flexed during rest because, although this alleviates the discomfort, over time it causes deformities. During night rest, for example, splints can be used, which are devices that serve to keep the extremities stretched, and help to reduce pain and inflammation.

In the appearance of rheumatoid arthritis influence genetic and environmental factors, and among those that can be modified to reduce the risk of suffering from this condition highlights the consumption of snuff. Regarding diet, experts recommend not drinking alcohol (which could interact with medications), and ingesting an adequate amount of calcium to prevent osteoporosis. Currently RA has no cure, but with proper control of the disease you can get the patient to have a normal life.

Source: Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER)

Safe Exercise Tips : How Do I Exercise With Rheumatoid Arthritis? (November 2019).

La Journée mondiale de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde a pour slogan de cette année la phrase "Bouger pour s'améliorer". Les experts conseillent régulièrement la pratique d'exercices physiques pour prévenir les dommages tels que l'ostéoporose ou une déformation progressive et une perte de force des articulations touchées.

On estime que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR), une maladie chronique et rhumatismale causant une inflammation des articulations, a une prévalence de 0,5% de la population. Cependant, une grande partie des personnes touchées ne sont pas diagnostiquées. Il serait donc nécessaire d'améliorer la détection précoce de cette maladie afin de traiter les symptômes le plus rapidement possible et d'éviter les blessures graves.

Dr. Ana Ortiz, porte-parole de la Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER) et médecin adjoint du service de rhumatologie de l'hôpital de la Princesa de Madrid, explique que le contrôle de la maladie au cours des deux premières années conditionne le pronostic à moyen et long terme, car il a été observé que l'apparition précoce de un traitement adéquat a amélioré la capacité fonctionnelle des patients. Le médicaments biologiques, ajoute le spécialiste, ont également contribué à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients.

Des recherches sont en cours sur les marqueurs pronostiques de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, ce qui permettrait d'identifier les patients en phase initiale de la maladie, lorsque les symptômes sont difficiles à distinguer des autres. la maladie. Le Dr Ortiz souligne qu'il serait également très utile de disposer d'autres marqueurs permettant de connaître la réponse des patients à différents traitements, de pouvoir personnaliser le traitement et d'éviter les retards et les effets secondaires indésirables, tout en utilisant directement le traitement le plus efficace. dans chaque cas.

Habitudes de vie saines

Dans les épidémies de polyarthrite rhumatoïde, lorsque les articulations sont enflammées, il est nécessaire de réduire l’activité physique, bien que normalement le patient n’a pas besoin de rester au lit sauf indication contraire du spécialiste; Cependant, le reste du temps, l'exercice physique devrait faire partie de la routine quotidienne des personnes touchées.

Vous pouvez effectuer plusieurs exercices, tels que l'isométrie, dans lesquels les muscles sont contractés sans déplacer l'articulation et qui contribuent à maintenir un bon tonus musculaire, ou ceux qui favorisent la mobilisation des articulations pour éviter leur atrophie. Les massages, qui détendent les muscles, sont également positifs. Les sports les plus recommandés pour ces patients sont la marche, la natation et le cyclisme.

Les spécialistes soulignent également l’importance de bien placer les articulations, en évitant de garder les jambes et les bras fléchis pendant le repos car, bien que cela atténue l’inconfort, il provoque au fil du temps des déformations. Pendant le repos nocturne, par exemple, on peut utiliser des attelles, qui servent à maintenir les extrémités étirées et aident à réduire la douleur et l’inflammation.

Dans l'apparition de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde influent sur les facteurs génétiques et environnementaux, et parmi ceux qui peuvent être modifiés pour réduire le risque de souffrir de cette maladie met en évidence la consommation de tabac à priser. En ce qui concerne l'alimentation, les experts recommandent de ne pas boire d'alcool (qui pourrait interagir avec les médicaments) ni d'ingérer une quantité suffisante de calcium pour prévenir l'ostéoporose. Actuellement, la PR ne guérit pas, mais avec un contrôle adéquat de la maladie, le patient peut mener une vie normale.

Source: Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER)

Yoga pour l'arthrite rhumatoïde (Séance pratique) (Août 2019).