Schizophrenics have a high probability of suffering cardiovascular complications due to the presence of risk factors such as: smoking, obesity, etc. Therefore, they have worse health than the population in general. Schizophrenia is a mental disorder where the patient experiences that his mental processes and his will are not under control.

A study, whose results are published in the journal "European Psychiatry" show that the causes that cause higher risk of suffering cardiovascular problems are hypercholesterolemia and triglycerides, along with a minimum follow-up of recommendations in the diet and weight loss.

In the trials, clinical analyzes were carried out, such as: measurement of weight, height, heart rate, electrocardiograms, and so on, to 733 patients suffering from schizophrenia between December 2004 and May 2005.

The results of the study were clear: 66% of the participants in the study had hypercholesterolemia, 26% had high triglyceride levels and 8% had diabetes.

Miquel Bernardo, director of the Schizophrenia Program at Hospital Clinic in Barcelona, ​​comments that "the mortality rate of people with schizophrenia is between 2 and 3 times higher than the general population", due to the higher risk of suffering cardiovascular, respiratory and infectious complications , which can be three times higher than that of healthy people.

Schizophrenia & Life Expectancy | Schizophrenia (November 2019).

Les schizophrènes ont une probabilité élevée de souffrir de complications cardiovasculaires en raison de la présence de facteurs de risque tels que le tabagisme, l'obésité, etc. Par conséquent, leur santé est moins bonne que celle de la population en général. La schizophrénie est un trouble mental dans lequel le patient ressent que ses processus mentaux et sa volonté ne sont pas sous contrôle.

Une étude, dont les résultats sont publiés dans la revue "European Psychiatry", montre que les causes entraînant un risque plus élevé de souffrir de problèmes cardiovasculaires sont l'hypercholestérolémie et les triglycérides, ainsi qu'un suivi minimum des recommandations en matière d'alimentation et de perte de poids.

Au cours des essais, des analyses cliniques ont été effectuées, telles que: mesure du poids, de la taille, de la fréquence cardiaque, d'électrocardiogrammes, etc. auprès de 733 patients atteints de schizophrénie entre décembre 2004 et mai 2005.

Les résultats de l'étude étaient clairs: 66% des participants à l'étude avaient une hypercholestérolémie, 26% des taux de triglycérides élevés et 8% étaient atteints de diabète.

Miquel Bernardo, directeur du programme de schizophrénie à la clinique hospitalière de Barcelone, a déclaré que "le taux de mortalité des personnes atteintes de schizophrénie est de 2 à 3 fois supérieur à celui de la population générale", en raison du risque plus élevé de complications cardiovasculaires, respiratoires et infectieuses. , qui peut être trois fois plus élevé que celui des personnes en bonne santé.

Maladies genetiques - C'est pas sorcier (Août 2019).