Many children have already sent the letter to Santa Claus and the Magi, and await their Christmas gifts with great enthusiasm. The toys, in addition to entertaining and entertaining, can serve to facilitate the development and education of the little ones, stimulate their imagination and make them more creative. Therefore, pediatricians advise parents to help their children to choose toys, and ensure that the most appropriate are those that encourage children's desire to experiment and their creativity.

When choosing gifts, it is very important to take into account the age of the child. Until two years, for example, tend to take everything to the mouth, so toys can not have sharp edges or pointed, should be made of soft materials that lack toxicity, and can not have small parts that the child could enter in the mouth, nose, ears ... At these ages, in addition, it is necessary for an adult to play and talk with them to facilitate the development of language and its interaction with people in their environment.

Electronic toys help children become familiar with the world of computers, and can be an effective educational complement

From 3 or 4 years old children are more creative and have more developed fine motor coordination, so they are able to have fun with construction games, modeling with plasticine, drawing, and invent stories with their favorite dolls.

The games in which several players participate and in which they have to adhere to established rules, are very appropriate for school-age children because they help them to reason, to work as a team, and promote social relationships. At this stage it is also important to encourage the habit of reading.

Electronic toys are among the favorites of children of this age, and Dr. Ana Martínez Rubio, pediatrician of Primary Care at the Center of Health of Beds (Seville), and member of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics of Primary Care (AEPap) , believes that they are very instructive because they help children to become familiar with the world of computing, and can be an effective educational complement. However, he warns that it is necessary to restrict the time devoted to this type of entertainment.

The expert also recommends that parents limit the time their children spend watching television because, especially on these dates, the large amount of advertising on toys can confuse the little ones, inciting them to consumerism and wanting everything. In his opinion, children should not ask for more than two or three toys or games, always advised by their parents.

Tips for choosing toys well at Christmas

Experts insist that all attention be paid to toys that meet all safety standards and are appropriate so that the child can manipulate them without him or anyone in their environment being at risk. In order not to fail in the election, Dr. Antonio Redondo, pediatrician, recommends:

  • Carefully read the instructions on the boxes or containers, checking that it is appropriate for the age of the child, and that it complies with the safety regulations prescribed by law.
  • Choose good quality toys, which are trustworthy, and learn well about the way of employment.
  • Do not buy toys that are too difficult for the child's ability or ability.
  • Do not use balls, skates, bicycles, toys that are thrown or shot in the home, or any device that is indicated for the outside, to prevent the child or others from being injured.
  • Visit the stores to see all available alternatives because not all toys appear in advertising.
  • Check periodically the toys to verify that they are in good condition and that they do not pose any danger to the child.
  • Check that the toys that are used to climb them are stable and safe, and do not present any assembly defect that could constitute a risk.

Sources: Spanish Society of Outpatient Pediatrics and Primary Care (SEPEAP) and Spanish Association of Primary Care Pediatrics (AEPap)

Children and Holiday Safety (November 2019).

De nombreux enfants ont déjà envoyé la lettre au père Noël et aux mages et attendent leurs cadeaux de Noël avec un grand enthousiasme. Les jouets, en plus d’être amusants et divertissants, peuvent servir à faciliter le développement et la éducation des plus petits, stimulent leur imagination et les rendent plus créatifs. Par conséquent, les pédiatres conseillent aux parents d’aider leurs enfants à choisir des jouets et s’assurent que les plus appropriés sont ceux qui encouragent leur désir d’expérimenter et leur créativité.

Lors du choix des cadeaux, il est très important de prendre en compte l'âge de l'enfant. Jusqu'à deux ans, par exemple, ont tendance à tout porter à la bouche, de sorte que les jouets ne peuvent pas avoir des bords tranchants ou pointus, devraient être fabriqués avec des matériaux souples qui manquent de toxicité, et ne peuvent pas avoir de petites pièces que l'enfant pourrait entrer dans la bouche, le nez, les oreilles ... À ces âges, il est en outre nécessaire qu'un adulte joue et parle avec eux pour faciliter le développement du langage et son interaction avec les personnes dans leur environnement.

Les jouets électroniques aident les enfants à se familiariser avec le monde des ordinateurs et peuvent constituer un complément éducatif efficace

À partir de 3 ou 4 ans, les enfants sont plus créatifs et ont une coordination motrice fine plus développée, ce qui leur permet de s'amuser avec les jeux de construction, de modeler avec de la pâte à modeler, de dessiner et d'inventer des histoires avec leurs poupées préférées.

Les jeux auxquels participent plusieurs joueurs et doivent respecter les règles établies sont très appropriés pour les enfants d’âge scolaire, car ils les aident à raisonner, à travailler en équipe et à promouvoir les relations sociales. À ce stade, il est également important d'encourager l'habitude de lire.

Les jouets électroniques sont parmi les favoris des enfants de cet âge, et la Dre Ana Martínez Rubio, pédiatre des soins primaires au centre de santé des lits (Séville) et membre de l'Association espagnole de pédiatrie des soins primaires (AEPap) , estime qu’ils sont très instructifs car ils aident les enfants à se familiariser avec le monde des IT, et peut être un complément éducatif efficace. Cependant, il prévient qu'il est nécessaire de limiter le temps consacré à ce type de divertissement.

L’expert recommande également aux parents de limiter le temps que leurs enfants passent à regarder la télévision car, en particulier à ces dates, la grande quantité de publicité sur les jouets peut dérouter les plus petits, les inciter à la consommation et tout vouloir. À son avis, les enfants ne devraient pas demander plus de deux ou trois jouets ou jeux, toujours conseillés par leurs parents.

Conseils pour bien choisir ses jouets à Noël

Les experts insistent pour que toute l'attention soit accordée aux jouets qui répondent à toutes les normes de sécurité et qui conviennent pour que l'enfant puisse les manipuler sans que lui-même ou quiconque dans son environnement ne soit en danger. Afin de ne pas échouer lors de cette élection, le Dr Antonio Redondo, pédiatre, recommande:

  • Lisez attentivement les instructions sur les boîtes ou les conteneurs, en vérifiant qu’elles correspondent à l’âge de l’enfant et qu’elles respectent les consignes de sécurité prescrites par la loi.
  • Choisissez des jouets de bonne qualité, dignes de confiance, et apprenez-en davantage sur le mode d'emploi.
  • N'achetez pas de jouets trop difficiles pour la capacité de l'enfant.
  • N'utilisez pas de balles, de patins, de bicyclettes, de jouets lancés ou tirés à la maison, ni de tout dispositif indiqué pour l'extérieur, afin d'éviter de blesser l'enfant ou des tiers.
  • Visitez les magasins pour voir toutes les alternatives disponibles car tous les jouets ne figurent pas dans la publicité.
  • Vérifiez périodiquement les jouets pour vous assurer qu'ils sont en bon état et qu'ils ne présentent aucun danger pour l'enfant.
  • Vérifiez que les jouets utilisés pour les gravir sont stables et sûrs et qu’ils ne présentent aucun défaut d’assemblage qui pourrait constituer un risque.

Sources: Société espagnole de pédiatrie externe et de soins de santé primaires (SEPEAP) et Association espagnole de pédiatrie de soins primaires (AEPap)

НЕСКУЧНОЕ ЗДОРОВЬЕ # 6 / MEDICAL NEWS # 6 (Août 2019).