A study carried out by researchers from the Hospital del Mar in Barcelona and its Imim Research Institute, as well as the Cyber ​​Respiratory Diseases Cyber ​​(Ciberes), of the Carlos III Health Institute in Madrid, has revealed that chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) in very advanced phases causes muscle destruction in patients, although these have a good muscle mass.

COPD, which affects 10% of the Spanish population, consists of a progressive chronic limitation of airflow, normally irreversible, and which in 90% of cases is due to tobacco consumption. Its main symptom is a decrease in respiratory capacity, which significantly deteriorates the quality of life of the patient.

It had already been proven that patients with COPD in severe condition and with a significant loss of muscle mass had high levels of programmed cell death in tissues, so the new study, which has been published in Journal of Applied Physiology, points out that it is advisable that these patients exercise the musculature.

Patients with COPD in severe condition and with a significant loss of muscle mass, had high levels of programmed cell death in tissues

To carry out the study, the researchers divided patients into groups according to COPD, moderate and severe, and established a group of control subjects. Using biopsies, they took samples of respiratory muscles and the lower extremities of each patient, and analyzed them from four markers. In this way, they observed whether there was cellular inflammation in three muscles: the external intercostal, diaphragm and quadriceps.

Esther Barreiro, pulmonologist at the Hospital del Mar and scientist at Ciberes, who has led the work, explained, however, that in the case of patients in intermediate stages of the disease, and who did not have muscle mass loss, they have not found no indicator of muscle destruction or that it presented advanced signs of programmed cell death.

Source: EUROPA PRESS

Understanding COPD (November 2019).

Une étude menée par des chercheurs de l'Hôpital del Mar à Barcelone et de son institut de recherche Imim, ainsi que du Cyber-Respiratory Diseases Cyber ​​(Ciberes), de l'Institut Carlos III de la Santé à Madrid, a révélé que la bronchopneumopathie chronique obstructive (MPOC) phases très avancées entraînent la destruction musculaire chez les patients, bien que ceux-ci aient une bonne masse musculaire.

La BPCO, qui touche 10% de la population espagnole, consiste en une limitation chronique progressive du débit d'air, généralement irréversible, et qui, dans 90% des cas, est due à la consommation de tabac. Son symptôme principal est une diminution de la capacité respiratoire, qui détériore considérablement la qualité de vie du patient.

Il avait déjà été prouvé que les patients atteints de BPCO dans un état grave et présentant une perte importante de masse musculaire présentaient des taux élevés de mort cellulaire programmée dans les tissus. C'est pourquoi la nouvelle étude publiée dans Journal de physiologie appliquée, souligne qu'il est conseillé que ces patients exercent leur musculature.

Les patients atteints de BPCO dans un état grave et présentant une perte importante de masse musculaire présentaient des taux élevés de mort cellulaire programmée dans les tissus

Pour mener à bien cette étude, les chercheurs ont réparti les patients en groupes en fonction de la MPOC modérée à sévère et ont constitué un groupe de sujets témoins. À l'aide de biopsies, ils ont prélevé des échantillons de muscles respiratoires et des membres inférieurs de chaque patient, et les ont analysés à partir de quatre marqueurs. Ils ont ainsi observé s'il existait une inflammation cellulaire dans trois muscles: l'intercostal externe, le diaphragme et le quadriceps.

Esther Barreiro, pneumologue à l'Hôpital del Mar et scientifique à Ciberes, qui a dirigé les travaux, a toutefois expliqué que, dans le cas des patients à un stade intermédiaire de la maladie et n'ayant pas subi de perte de masse musculaire, ils aucun indicateur de destruction musculaire ou qu'il présentait des signes avancés de mort cellulaire programmée.

Source: EUROPA PRESS

22. La Fibrose Pulmonaire (Août 2019).