This week two visionaries, one in the world of technology, Steve Jobs, the soul of Apple, and another in health, Ralph Steinman, winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine this Monday, have died as a result of cancers of pancreas.

In 2004, Steve Jobs was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, known as pancreatic neuroendocrine tumor (NET). This type of tumors is only diagnosed in approximately one percent of all pancreatic tumors, which in figures is in one out of every 100,000 people. In fact, it is generally said that when someone is said to have pancreatic cancer, it refers to an exocrine cancer, of which 95% are adenocarcinomas.

To understand us, the main difference between one type of cancer and another lies in the glands of the pancreas where the tumor is located: exocrine and endocrine. The first are responsible for producing what is known as pancreatic juice to the intestines, whose enzymes help us digest the fats, carbohydrates and proteins that we ingest with food. If they food could not be absorbed by the intestines. While the endocrine cells of the pancreas, which clump together in islets, secrete blood hormones such as insulin - reducing the amount of sugar in the blood - or the blood sugar - increases blood sugar.

This distinction between both types of cancer is important, since exocrines, which constitute the vast majority of cases, are quite aggressive and have a very poor prognosis - patients usually do not survive more than six months after the diagnosis, usually late, of a adenocarcinoma-, while the endocrine (the one suffering from Jobs) are more easily diagnosable, have a slower evolution and more possibilities of treatment.

In the same 2004, the co-founder of the brand of the apple, decided then to undergo different alternative therapies, but finally had to give in to the evidence and underwent an operation to remove the malignant cells of the damaged organ. After that the boss of Apple returned to work, but five years later he had to go through the operating room again because of a metastasis to have a liver transplant done at the Methodist University Hospital of Memphis.

Two years later Jobs has died surrounded by his own and having won the admiration of the entire planet for his impressive career leading one of the most powerful brands in the world that has changed forever the way we communicate and enjoy the leisure in our day to day.

Experimental therapy

For his part, Steinman died on Friday September 30 after surviving four years to another pancreatic tumor. He himself had designed the pioneering immunotherapy he was dealing with.

The efforts of the researchers are now focused on finding solutions to maximize the life of those affected by one of the most aggressive cancers that exist.

Boy Genius Who Discovered Revolutionary Cancer Tests Reveals He Was Bullied (November 2019).

Cette semaine, deux visionnaires, l'un dans le monde de la technologie, Steve Jobs, l'âme de Apple, et l'autre dans le domaine de la santé, Ralph Steinman, lauréat du prix Nobel de médecine de lundi, sont décédés des suites d'un cancer du cerveau. pancréas

En 2004, Steve Jobs a été diagnostiqué avec une forme rare de cancer, appelée tumeur neuroendocrine pancréatique (TNE). Ce type de tumeurs n'est diagnostiqué que dans environ 1% des tumeurs du pancréas, ce qui correspond à une personne sur 100 000. En fait, on dit généralement que lorsqu'on dit avoir un cancer du pancréas, il s'agit d'un cancer exocrine, dont 95% sont des adénocarcinomes.

Pour nous comprendre, la principale différence entre un type de cancer et un autre réside dans les glandes du pancréas où se trouve la tumeur: exocrine et endocrinienne. Les premiers sont responsables de la production de ce que l’on appelle le suc pancréatique dans les intestins, dont les enzymes nous aident à digérer les graisses, les glucides et les protéines que nous ingérons dans les aliments. S'ils ne peuvent pas absorber les aliments par les intestins. Alors que les cellules endocrines du pancréas, qui s'agglutinent dans des îlots, sécrètent des hormones sanguines telles que l'insuline, ce qui réduit le taux de sucre dans le sang - ou le sucre dans le sang - augmente le sucre dans le sang.

Cette distinction entre les deux types de cancer est importante, car les exocrines, qui constituent la grande majorité des cas, sont plutôt agressifs et ont un très mauvais pronostic (les patients ne survivent généralement pas plus de six mois après le diagnostic, généralement tardivement). adénocarcinome, alors que le système endocrinien (celui qui souffre d’emplois) est plus facile à diagnostiquer, évolue plus lentement et offre plus de possibilités de traitement.

En 2004, le co-fondateur de la marque de la pomme a décidé de se soumettre à différentes thérapies alternatives, mais a finalement dû céder à la preuve et subi une opération pour retirer les cellules malignes de l'organe endommagé. Après cela, le patron d'Apple est retourné au travail, mais cinq ans plus tard, il a dû passer à nouveau dans la salle d'opération à cause d'une métastase pour se faire greffer le foie à l'hôpital méthodiste universitaire de Memphis.

Deux ans plus tard, Jobs s'est éteint entouré des siens et avait gagné l'admiration de toute la planète pour son impressionnante carrière à la tête de l'une des marques les plus puissantes au monde, qui a changé à jamais la façon dont nous communiquons et apprécions le loisirs dans notre quotidien.

Thérapie expérimentale

Steinman est décédé vendredi 30 septembre après avoir survécu quatre ans à une autre tumeur pancréatique. Il avait lui-même conçu l'immunothérapie pionnière à laquelle il faisait face.

Les efforts des chercheurs se concentrent maintenant sur la recherche de solutions permettant de maximiser la vie des personnes atteintes de l’un des cancers les plus agressifs.

Cómo enfrentar el cáncer desde la serenidad y la cordura por el Dr. Martí Bosch - Parte 1 (Août 2019).