Christmas festivities can negatively affect our health if we do not take care of food during celebrations, and this is particularly necessary for those suffering from diseases such as hypertension or diabetes, or any other disorder in which the type of diet influences the course of the illness.

This type of pathologies are very frequent among people over 65 years old old. In this population sector, more than half suffer from hypertension (52%), almost a third suffer hypercholesterolemia, 15% have osteoporosis and 12% are affected by constipation or hemorrhoids. For this reason, from the Spanish Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology (SEGG) warn that the elderly must take precautions to prevent any of these problems from worsening.

Recommendations of the SEGG for the correct feeding of the elderly

  • The diet must be varied and appealing.
  • It is better to eat several times throughout the day in small quantities to digest food better. It is best to take five meals as regularly as possible: breakfast, a mid-morning lunch, lunch, snack and dinner.
  • Foods should be prepared in such a way that they are easy to chew because older people often lack a piece of tooth or carry prostheses.
  • Take care of hydration and drink even if there is no feeling of thirst, because when it appears it is a sign of dehydration. You have to drink a minimum of two liters of liquid per day, although in addition to water you can take natural juices, infusions, milk, broths ...
  • Minimize your salt intake and drink sugar in moderation, as long as you do not suffer from any pathology that contraindicates your consumption.
  • During the celebrations, remember that you should not consume more than one or two glasses of wine, and that the menus should be adapted to your personal needs.
  • Eat accompanied when possible.

Comedy Legend, James Gregory (November 2019).

Les fêtes de Noël peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur notre santé si nous ne prenons pas soin de la nourriture pendant les célébrations, ce qui est particulièrement nécessaire pour les personnes souffrant de maladies telles que l'hypertension ou le diabète, ou de tout autre trouble dans lequel le type de régime influence le cours la maladie.

Ce type de pathologies est très fréquent chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans d'âge. Dans ce secteur de la population, plus de la moitié souffrent d'hypertension (52%), près d'un tiers d'hypercholestérolémie, 15% d'ostéoporose et 12% de constipation ou d'hémorroïdes. Pour cette raison, la Société espagnole de gériatrie et de gérontologie (SEGG) a averti que les personnes âgées devaient prendre des précautions pour éviter que ces problèmes ne s'aggravent.

Recommandations du SEGG pour une alimentation correcte des personnes âgées

  • Le régime doit être varié et attrayant.
  • Il est préférable de manger plusieurs fois par jour en petites quantités pour mieux digérer les aliments. Il est préférable de prendre cinq repas aussi régulièrement que possible: petit-déjeuner, déjeuner en milieu de matinée, déjeuner, collation et dîner.
  • Les aliments doivent être préparés de manière à ce qu'ils soient faciles à mâcher, car les personnes âgées n'ont souvent pas de dent ou ne portent pas de prothèse.
  • Prenez soin de votre hydratation et buvez même s'il n'y a pas de sensation de soif, car quand il apparaît, c'est un signe de déshydratation. Vous devez boire un minimum de deux litres de liquide par jour, bien qu'en plus de l'eau, vous puissiez prendre des jus naturels, des infusions, du lait, des bouillons ...
  • Minimisez votre consommation de sel et buvez du sucre avec modération, tant que vous ne souffrez d'aucune pathologie qui contre-indique votre consommation.
  • Pendant les célébrations, n'oubliez pas que vous ne devez pas consommer plus d'un ou deux verres de vin et que les menus doivent être adaptés à vos besoins personnels.
  • Manger accompagné quand c'est possible.

Santé - Tremblement essentiel, la maladie du paradoxe (Août 2019).