In the framework of the celebration of the 'World Day of Osteoporosis', specialists have wanted to highlight the serious implications of this pathology, which currently is not given enough importance, although it affects 200 million people in all the world, and is the cause of a vertebral fracture every 22 seconds.

Only in Spain, in 2010, 30,000 vertebral fractures were diagnosed, and this taking into account that this type of injury does not cause symptoms, so, according to Dr. Luis Arboleya, spokesman of the Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER) and rheumatologist of the Central University Hospital of Asturias (Oviedo), there may be twice as many people with undiagnosed vertebral fractures.

80% of those affected do not follow a treatment, nor take precautions such as practicing physical exercise, including calcium-rich foods in their daily diet, and avoiding tobacco and alcohol

This specialist has warned about the lack of necessary measures to prevent the onset of this pathology and also that, once the disease is diagnosed, there is no appropriate follow-up of the patients that would prevent them from suffering new fractures. In fact, he points out that up to 80% of those affected do not follow a treatment or take precautions such as practicing moderate physical exercise regularly, include foods rich in calcium and vitamin D in their daily diet, and avoid tobacco and alcohol intake.

The International Osteoporosis Foundation has conducted a study in our country, which has concluded that about 1.6 million women and 438,000 men suffer from osteoporosis, and that 3.8 million women and 2 million men have osteopenia, a condition that is milder than osteoporosis but also increases the risk of suffering a fracture, so even if they do not need medication, they should adopt healthy habits as indicated above (exercise, calcium consumption, eliminate harmful habits such as tobacco and alcohol ...) to promote the health of your bones.

The aim of the pharmacological treatment of osteoporosis is to stop the loss of bone mass and, in some cases, to increase the bone density of the patient. However, another problem faced by specialists is that only 21% of patients diagnosed follow the treatment, while the rest leave, possibly because it is a chronic disease that does not manifest symptoms or cause death of those affected. For this reason, they insist on the need to disclose the consequences that can be derived from therapeutic non-compliance, in order to make patients aware of the need to continue with treatment.

Source: Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER)

Getting a Jump on Osteoporosis (November 2019).

Dans le cadre de la célébration de la "Journée mondiale de l'ostéoporose", des spécialistes ont souhaité mettre en lumière les graves implications de cette pathologie, qui, à l'heure actuelle, n'est pas assez importante, même si elle touche 200 millions de personnes au total. le monde, et est la cause d'une fracture vertébrale toutes les 22 secondes.

Seulement en Espagne, en 2010, 30 000 fractures vertébrales ont été diagnostiquées, ce qui tient compte du fait que ce type de blessure ne provoque pas de symptômes. Ainsi, selon le Dr Luis Arboleya, porte-parole de la Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER) et rhumatologue. de l'hôpital universitaire central des Asturies (Oviedo), il pourrait y avoir deux fois plus de personnes atteintes de fractures vertébrales non diagnostiquées.

80% des personnes touchées ne suivent pas de traitement ni ne prennent de précautions telles que la pratique de l'exercice physique, incluant des aliments riches en calcium dans leur alimentation quotidienne, et en évitant le tabac et l'alcool

Ce spécialiste a mis en garde sur le manque de mesures nécessaires pour prévenir l'apparition de cette pathologie et sur le fait que, une fois la maladie diagnostiquée, aucun suivi approprié des patients ne les empêcherait de subir de nouvelles fractures. En fait, il souligne que près de 80% des personnes touchées ne suivent pas de traitement ou ne prennent pas de précautions telles que la pratique régulière d'un exercice physique modéré, incorporent des aliments riches en calcium et en vitamine D dans leur alimentation quotidienne et évitent de consommer du tabac et de l'alcool.

Le Fondation internationale contre l'ostéoporose a mené une étude dans notre pays qui a conclu qu'environ 1,6 million de femmes et 438 000 hommes souffrent d'ostéoporose et que 3,8 millions de femmes et 2 millions d'hommes ont l'ostéopénie, une affection moins grave que l'ostéoporose mais qui augmente également le risque de fracture. Ainsi, même s'ils n'ont pas besoin de médicaments, ils doivent adopter les habitudes saines indiquées ci-dessus (exercice, consommation de calcium, éliminer les habitudes néfastes telles que: tabac et alcool ...) pour favoriser la santé de vos os.

Le traitement pharmacologique de l'ostéoporose a pour objectif de mettre fin à la perte de masse osseuse et, dans certains cas, d'augmenter la densité osseuse du patient. Cependant, un autre problème rencontré par les spécialistes est que seulement 21% des patients diagnostiqués suivent le traitement, les autres le laissant, probablement parce qu’il s’agit d’une maladie chronique qui ne manifeste pas de symptômes ni ne mort des personnes touchées. Pour cette raison, ils insistent sur la nécessité de divulguer les conséquences pouvant découler d'une non-observance thérapeutique, afin de sensibiliser les patients à la nécessité de poursuivre le traitement.

Source: Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER)

Cómo enfrentar el cáncer desde la serenidad y la cordura por el Dr. Martí Bosch - Parte 1 (Août 2019).