The morphine is an analgesic that is obtained from the opium plant (Papaver Somniferum), popularly known as opium poppy. The opium It is one of the most used drugs in antiquity, which has been replaced by its famous derivatives, morphine and, especially, heroin.

Brief history of morphine

Morphine appeared at the beginning of the 19th century. At this time opium was prescribed (analgesic used to relieve pain), but doubts arose when trying to establish what dose should be administered according to the purity of the preparation.

The town pharmacist commissioned Friedrich Sertürner to conduct an opium quality study, which was dispensed at the pharmacy. Young Friedrich thought of dissolving opium in an acid, then reducing it with ammonia; and finally he obtained gray crystals that he used experimentally in cats, thus manifesting his hypnotic power (producing sleep). Suffering from a strong toothache, Friedrich decided to try it himself. Upon taking it he went into a deep sleep for eight hours. When he awoke he got up without any discomfort.

Therefore, due to its somniferous virtues, in honor of the god of sleep Morpheus, he baptized this substance with the name of morphine.

The opiate was commercialized for the first time in 1817, announcing itself as an analgesic that, in addition, could be used in the treatment of addictions to certain substances, such as opium and alcohol. Over time, unfortunately, it would be discovered that morphine is even more addictive than alcohol or opium.

Although today it has been displaced by other drugs such as heroin, morphine remains one of the preferred substances by heroin addicts when they can not access it.

Uses of morphine

It is used in the following cases:

  • Postoperative pain
  • Severe chronic pain resistant to other analgesics
  • Oncological pain.
  • Transient pain of severe intensity.
  • Pain associated with myocardial infarction.

This opiate can be administered orally (oral solution, tablets and capsules retard) and parenterally (subcutaneously, intravenously, intramuscularly, epidurally and intrathecally). The dose must be adapted individually to each patient, according to the severity of the pain that presents and the response to the analgesic.

In children it is only used exceptionally and in restricted doses, according to their body mass. Pregnant women are only given morphine when there is no alternative and, taking into account that the substance passes into breast milk, breastfeeding should be suspended when a treatment with morphine is established.

Contraindications to the use of morphine

In certain circumstances its use is contraindicated, such as:

  • When the patient presents an allergic reaction of any kind.
  • When you can interact with other medications the patient is taking.
  • During pregnancy and lactation.
  • In children under one year.
  • If the patient suffers from respiratory depression or respiratory diseases that present with severe obstructions.
  • In patients with cranial trauma or elevated intracranial pressure.
  • Before a surgical intervention, or in the first 24 hours after it.
  • When the patient suffers from seizure disorders.
  • In all those cases in which the patient suffers a disease that the doctor considers may be aggravated by the use of the drug.

Side effects of morphine

Morphine has important side effects such as:

  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Alteration in the results of blood tests.
  • Drowsiness, disorientation, dizziness, instability.
  • Blurry vision.
  • Euphoria.
  • Sweating
  • Dry mouth.
  • Constipation.
  • Respiratory alterations and / or variations in blood pressure.
  • Asthenia.
  • Pruritus.
  • Dependency (may occur if its use is prolonged).
  • It can aggravate the condition of the patient when he suffers from diseases such as: pancreatitis, asthma, COPD, alcoholism, hypotension, chronic constipation, hypothyroidism, severe liver or kidney disorders, among others.
  • Physical dependence on the fetus and withdrawal syndrome in the baby if administered to a pregnant woman. In addition, it passes into breast milk, so it should not be used during breastfeeding.

Illegal Drugs: Opium, Morphine and Heroin (Documentary) (November 2019).

Le morphine est un analgésique obtenu à partir de l’opium (Papaver Somniferum), plus connu sous le nom de pavot à opium. Le l'opium C'est l'un des médicaments les plus utilisés dans l'Antiquité, qui a été remplacé par ses dérivés célèbres, la morphine et, en particulier, l'héroïne.

Bref historique de la morphine

La morphine est apparue au début du 19ème siècle. A cette époque, l'opium était prescrit (l'analgésique était utilisé pour soulager la douleur), mais des doutes étaient apparus lors de la détermination de la dose à administrer en fonction de la pureté de la préparation.

Le pharmacien de la ville a chargé Friedrich Sertürner de mener une étude sur la qualité de l'opium, qui a été réalisée à la pharmacie. Le jeune Friedrich pensait dissoudre l’opium dans un acide puis le réduire à l’ammoniac; et finalement il obtint des cristaux gris qu'il utilisa expérimentalement chez le chat, manifestant ainsi son pouvoir hypnotique (produisant le sommeil). Souffrant d'un fort mal de dents, Friedrich décida de l'essayer lui-même. Après l'avoir pris, il s'endormit profondément pendant huit heures. Quand il s'est réveillé, il s'est levé sans aucune gêne.

Par conséquent, en raison de ses vertus somnifères, en l'honneur du dieu du sommeil Morpheus, il baptisa cette substance avec le nom de morphine.

L'opiacé a été commercialisé pour la première fois en 1817, en se présentant comme un analgésique qui pourrait en outre être utilisé dans le traitement des dépendances à certaines substances, telles que l'opium et l'alcool. Avec le temps, on découvrirait malheureusement que la morphine crée une dépendance encore plus grande que l’alcool ou l’opium.

Bien qu’aujourd’hui elle ait été remplacée par d’autres drogues telles que l’héroïne, la morphine reste l’une des substances préférées des héroïnomanes quand ils ne peuvent y accéder.

Utilisations de la morphine

Il est utilisé dans les cas suivants:

  • Douleur postopératoire
  • Douleur chronique sévère résistante à d'autres analgésiques
  • Douleur oncologique.
  • Douleur transitoire d'intensité sévère.
  • Douleur associée à l'infarctus du myocarde.

Cet opiacé peut être administré par voie orale (solution buvable, comprimés et gélules retard) et par voie parentérale (sous-cutanée, intraveineuse, intramusculaire, épidurale et intrathécale). La dose doit être adaptée individuellement à chaque patient, en fonction de la sévérité de la douleur et de la réponse à l'analgésique.

Chez l'enfant, il n'est utilisé qu'exceptionnellement et à doses limitées, en fonction de la masse corporelle. La morphine n'est administrée aux femmes enceintes qu'en l'absence d'alternative et, compte tenu du fait que la substance passe dans le lait maternel, l'allaitement doit être suspendu lorsqu'un traitement par la morphine est instauré.

Contre-indications à l'utilisation de la morphine

Dans certaines circonstances, son utilisation est contre-indiquée, telles que:

  • Lorsque le patient présente une réaction allergique de toute nature.
  • Lorsque vous pouvez interagir avec d’autres médicaments pris par le patient.
  • Pendant la grossesse et l'allaitement.
  • Chez les enfants de moins d'un an.
  • Si le patient souffre de dépression respiratoire ou de maladies respiratoires présentant de graves obstructions.
  • Chez les patients présentant un traumatisme crânien ou une pression intracrânienne élevée.
  • Avant une intervention chirurgicale ou dans les 24 heures qui suivent.
  • Lorsque le patient souffre de troubles convulsifs.
  • Dans tous les cas dans lesquels le patient souffre d'une maladie qui, selon le médecin, peut être aggravée par l'utilisation du médicament.

Effets secondaires de la morphine

La morphine a des effets secondaires importants tels que:

  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Modification des résultats des tests sanguins.
  • Somnolence, désorientation, vertiges, instabilité.
  • Vision trouble.
  • L'euphorie
  • Transpiration
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Constipation
  • Altérations respiratoires et / ou variations de la pression artérielle.
  • Asthénie
  • Démangeaisons
  • Dépendance (peut survenir si son utilisation est prolongée).
  • Il peut aggraver l'état du patient lorsqu'il souffre de maladies telles que: pancréatite, asthme, BPCO, alcoolisme, hypotension, constipation chronique, hypothyroïdie, troubles hépatiques ou rénaux graves.
  • Dépendance physique du fœtus et syndrome de sevrage chez le bébé administré à une femme enceinte. En outre, il passe dans le lait maternel et ne doit donc pas être utilisé pendant l'allaitement.

L'Opium, à travers l'histoire. (Août 2019).