It is undoubtedly the citrus par excellence, with more than 300 varieties accounted, and more 30 tons produced every year in the world. Although it is in winter, with the drop in temperatures, when its multiple benefits make it especially recommended. Nutritionally they suppose an important contribution of vitamin C, in addition to other vitamins and minerals.

In addition, orange contains about 170 types of photochemical and 60 flavonoids, helpful elements for the body, especially for the heart. It can also help us defend against infections, fight against cholesterol and high blood pressure and, of course, fill us with energy.

Although, as we say, is the protagonist of the fruit in winter, its multiple varieties with different properties of sweetness and texture allow it to be consumed during the rest of the year, since depending on the type of orange also varies the period in which it is collected, that covers from the month of October to the spring and, even, the summer.

In this way, we find that each season of the year is ideal for certain varieties of orange. That is why experts recommend knowing them well to choose each variety at the optimum moment of madruación, in order to maximize their qualities. Here are some of the most important ones.

Varieties of oranges

Navelina

It is one of the most productive and most cultivated orange types. Its taste is very sweet, so it is ideal for dessert. It is the variety most resistant to cold, and can be harvested from October to mid-February. They are medium sized, slightly oval or round, with a very juicy pulp and without seeds, and the skin of intense orange color when it is ripe.

Valencia Late

Recognized as the most important variety in the world, and cultivated in many places, it produces high quality juices thanks to its large amount of juice and its sweet taste and intense color. It is one of the oranges that later mature, between March and July. It is a sweet orange variety that began to spread in Spain in the first half of the twentieth century, medium to large in size, with a slightly elongated to spherical shape, a thin and smooth skin.

Sevilla Amarga

It is a type of bitter orange that is grown in our country and is used mainly in the preparation of jam. Its existence has been known for centuries and it is a fruit of medium to large size, spherical, sometimes somewhat flattened and depressed at the ends. Its pulp is juicy and has many seeds. The skin is rough, thick and irregular in texture. When it is ripe it has an intense orange color. The Sevilla Amarga is collected during the months of January and February in Seville and Malaga. Due to its bitterness and acidity it is not consumed naturally, but it is intended especially for jams.

Native

Although similar to the Valencia Late, it is a slightly more acid orange. It is grown almost exclusively in Brazil (it is usually harvested at Christmas), and it is a very important variety for making juices. It presents a quality fruit, with few seeds, thin skin (something green even when it is already ripe) and tender and juicy pulp. It presents ideal conditions for conservation and transport. Its fruit can stay several months in the tree maintaining all its qualities.

Annoying Orange - Frosty the Snowcone (November 2019).

C’est sans aucun doute l’agrume par excellence, avec plus de 300 variétés et plus de 30 tonnes produites chaque année dans le monde. Bien que ce soit en hiver, avec la baisse des températures, quand ses multiples avantages le rendent particulièrement recommandé. Sur le plan nutritionnel, ils supposent un apport important en vitamine C, en plus d'autres vitamines et minéraux.

En outre, l’orange contient environ 170 types de produits photochimiques et 60 flavonoïdes, des éléments utiles pour le corps, en particulier pour le cœur. Cela peut aussi nous aider à nous défendre contre les infections, à lutter contre le cholestérol et l’hypertension artérielle et, bien sûr, à nous donner de l’énergie.

Bien que, comme on dit, le protagoniste du fruit en hiver, ses multiples variétés aux propriétés de douceur et de texture différentes permettent de le consommer pendant le reste de l'année, car, en fonction du type d'orange, la période de récolte varie également. cela couvre à partir du mois d'octobre au printemps et même l'été.

De cette manière, nous trouvons que chaque saison de l’année est idéale pour certaines variétés d’orange. C'est pourquoi les experts recommandent aux connaisseurs de bien les choisir afin de choisir chaque variété au moment optimal de la madruación, afin de maximiser leurs qualités. Voici quelques-uns des plus importants.

Variétés d'oranges

Navelina

C'est l'un des types d'orange les plus productifs et les plus cultivés. Son goût est très doux, il est donc idéal pour le dessert. C'est la variété la plus résistante au froid, et peut être récoltée d'octobre à mi-février. Ils sont de taille moyenne, légèrement ovales ou ronds, avec une pulpe très juteuse et sans pépins, et une peau de couleur orange intense à maturité.

Valence en retard

Reconnu comme la variété la plus importante au monde et cultivé dans de nombreux endroits, il produit des jus de haute qualité grâce à sa grande quantité de jus, à son goût sucré et à sa couleur intense. C'est l'un des oranges qui mûrit plus tard, entre mars et juillet. C’est une variété d’orange douce qui a commencé à se répandre en Espagne dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, de taille moyenne à grande, avec une forme légèrement allongée à sphérique, une peau mince et lisse.

Sevilla Amarga

C'est un type d'orange amère qui est cultivé dans notre pays et qui est utilisé principalement dans la préparation de la confiture. Son existence est connue depuis des siècles et c'est un fruit de taille moyenne à grande, sphérique, parfois quelque peu aplati et déprimé aux extrémités. Sa pulpe est juteuse et contient de nombreuses graines. La peau est rugueuse, épaisse et de texture irrégulière. Quand il est mûr, il a une couleur orange intense. Le Sevilla Amarga est collecté pendant les mois de janvier et février à Séville et à Malaga. En raison de son amertume et de son acidité, il n'est pas consommé naturellement, mais il est spécialement destiné aux confitures.

Natal

Bien que semblable au Valencia Late, c'est un orange légèrement plus acide. Il est cultivé presque exclusivement au Brésil (il est généralement récolté à Noël) et constitue une variété très importante pour la fabrication de jus. Il présente un fruit de qualité, avec peu de pépins, une peau fine (quelque chose de vert même quand il est déjà mûr) et une pulpe tendre et juteuse. Il présente des conditions idéales pour la conservation et le transport. Ses fruits peuvent rester plusieurs mois dans l'arbre en conservant toutes ses qualités.

12 BLAGUES DE NOËL ! LA GUERRE DES BLAGUES (Août 2019).