It is estimated that there are around 500 million people in the world chronically infected with hepatitis B and C viruses, which can trigger diseases as serious as cirrhosis and liver cancer. Today is celebrated World Hepatitis Day, and the Royal National Academy of Medicine (RANM) has claimed greater involvement of the Health Authorities in the care of these infections.

It is estimated that there are around 500 million people in the world chronically infected with hepatitis B and C viruses

During a commemorative day that the RANM celebrated last June, he stressed the need to launch a National Plan that includes the creation of Hepatitis Units. The president of the RANM, Professor Manuel Díaz-Rubio, affirmed that it is necessary to improve the awareness of the population about these infections, and warned about the important degree of ignorance that exists not only among society in general, but also between those affected themselves, since only 10% of the carriers of the hepatitis B and C virus are aware of their situation.

"It is a major health problem. Health education campaigns and early diagnosis and treatment are key to modifying the natural history of the disease. Also, therapeutic failure is a reality in many patients, so the progress in research remains a hope for this disease, "he said.

During the Conference, the president of the RANM read a statement in which the following objectives were highlighted as priorities:

  • Extend to the whole world the improvement of general sanitary conditions to hinder the chain of transmission of hepatitis viruses.
  • Develop National Hepatitis Plans aimed at working to increase awareness and prevention, as well as improve epidemiological knowledge.
  • Universalize vaccination against the B virus.
  • Increase efforts to obtain an effective vaccine against C.
  • Develop and dispose of new drugs against viruses B and C that are more effective, better tolerated, less expensive and that allow short-term treatments.
  • Dedicate special attention and follow-up to patients suffering from chronic diseases due to hepatitis B and C viruses, creating even specific units for this. These monographic units should homogeneously evaluate not only the indication of antiviral treatment, but a comprehensive multidisciplinary follow-up and support that favors compliance, and therefore therapeutic success.

Source: Royal National Academy of Medicine (RANM)

Update on Hepatitis B and C (November 2019).

On estime qu'environ 500 millions de personnes dans le monde sont infectées de manière chronique par les virus de l'hépatite B et de l'hépatite C, susceptibles de déclencher des maladies aussi graves que la cirrhose et le cancer du foie. Aujourd'hui est célébré Journée mondiale contre l'hépatiteet l’Académie royale de médecine du Canada (RANM) ont réclamé une plus grande implication des autorités sanitaires dans la prise en charge de ces infections.

On estime qu'environ 500 millions de personnes dans le monde sont infectées de manière chronique par les virus de l'hépatite B et de l'hépatite C

Lors d’une journée commémorative célébrée par le RANM en juin dernier, il a souligné la nécessité de lancer une Plan national qui comprend la création de Unités d'hépatite. Le professeur Manuel Díaz-Rubio, président du RANM, a déclaré qu'il était nécessaire de sensibiliser davantage la population à ces infections et a mis en garde sur le degré important d'ignorance qui existe non seulement dans la société en général, mais également entre ceux-ci se sont eux-mêmes touchés puisque seuls 10% des porteurs du virus de l'hépatite B et du virus C sont au courant de leur situation.

"C’est un problème de santé majeur. Les campagnes d'éducation pour la santé, ainsi que le diagnostic et le traitement précoces, sont essentiels pour modifier l'évolution naturelle de la maladie. En outre, l’échec thérapeutique est une réalité chez de nombreux patients. Les progrès de la recherche restent donc un espoir pour cette maladie ", at-il déclaré.

Au cours de la conférence, le président du RANM a lu une déclaration dans laquelle les objectifs suivants étaient prioritaires:

  • Étendre au monde entier l'amélioration des conditions sanitaires générales pour entraver la chaîne de transmission des virus de l'hépatite.
  • Élaborer des plans nationaux de lutte contre l'hépatite visant à accroître la sensibilisation et la prévention, ainsi qu'à améliorer les connaissances épidémiologiques.
  • Universaliser la vaccination contre le virus B.
  • Redoubler d'efforts pour obtenir un vaccin efficace contre C.
  • Développer et éliminer de nouveaux médicaments plus efficaces, mieux tolérés, moins coûteux et permettant des traitements à court terme contre les virus B et C.
  • Accordez une attention particulière et un suivi aux patients souffrant de maladies chroniques dues aux virus de l'hépatite B et C, en créant même des unités spécifiques à cet effet. Ces unités monographiques doivent évaluer de manière homogène non seulement l'indication du traitement antiviral, mais également un suivi multidisciplinaire complet et un soutien favorisant l'observance, et donc le succès thérapeutique.

Source: Académie royale nationale de médecine (RANM)

Pédophilie : Entretien avec Violaine Guérin - Association Stop aux Violences Sexuelles (Août 2019).