Type 2 diabetes affects 12% of the population between 30 and 65 years old in our country, while another 11.5% is at risk of developing it. However, more than a million and a half Spaniards are diabetic and do not know it. As Dr. Francisco Javier Ampudia-Blasco, deputy of the Endocrinology and Nutrition Service of the University Hospital of Valencia "Although health campaigns promoted by different agencies have helped to increase the diagnosis in asymptomatic phases of the disease, it is estimated that still one third of patients who suffer from it are unaware of having type 2 diabetes."

Type 2 diabetes is one of the chronic diseases that has increased most in recent years in Western countries. Although it can present serious complications in the medium term, in many cases it remains undiagnosed or not treated adequately, among other reasons because it can remain asymptomatic for many years, and many patients already have complications associated with the disease at the time of treatment. diagnosis.

National and international experts, gathered in Malaga within the framework of the XXII Congress of the Spanish Society of Diabetes, discuss these days on the latest advances and achievements in the treatment of this pathology, with the aim of highlighting the importance of early detection of the disease, the individualization of treatment, and the rational use of available drugs.

The best strategy against diabetes 2

Diabetes is a chronic disease characterized by high levels of blood glucose, which usually appears after years of insulin resistance by the body. Most specialists insist on the need to diagnose type 2 diabetes in time so that the patient can follow a treatment from the beginning based on a healthy and balanced diet, a controlled physical exercise, and an appropriate pharmacological treatment based on current knowledge on the pathophysiology of the disease.

Doctor Ampudia-Blasco points out the need to treat this pathology from the beginning, since "When not addressed correctly, the consequences of type 2 diabetes are devastating. The hyperglycemia untreated is responsible for chronic microvascular complications, such as nephropathy wave retinopathy, which may appear during the course of the disease. In addition, this contributes to a greater predisposition of these patients to suffer cardiovascular diseases. In fact, diabetic patients always have a higher mortality than the general population with the same number of cardiovascular risk factors.

Dr. Luis Rojas Marcos, professor of psychiatry at New York University and member of the New York Academy of Medicine (USA), points out emotional connections, internal self-control, self-esteem, positive thinking and motivation. to live as the basic pillars to overcome and learn to live with the disease. "Ultimately, optimism stimulates in people suffering from type 2 diabetes, the confidence and motivation necessary to enjoy an active, full and happy life, and it is something that we should look for within ourselves", he says.

Source:

Five Signs That Could be Symptoms of Diabetes (November 2019).

Le diabète de type 2 affecte 12% de la population âgée de 30 à 65 ans dans notre pays, tandis que 11,5% est à risque de le développer. Cependant, plus d'un million et demi d'Espagnols sont diabétiques et ne le savent pas. En tant que Dr. Francisco Javier Ampudia-Blasco, adjoint du service d'endocrinologie et de nutrition de l'hôpital universitaire de Valence "Bien que les campagnes de santé promues par différentes agences aient contribué à augmenter le diagnostic dans les phases asymptomatiques de la maladie, on estime qu'un tiers des patients qui en souffrent ne sont pas au courant du diabète de type 2."

Le diabète de type 2 est l’une des maladies chroniques qui a le plus augmenté ces dernières années dans les pays occidentaux. Bien qu’elle puisse présenter des complications graves à moyen terme, elle reste souvent non diagnostiquée ou mal traitée, notamment parce qu’elle peut rester asymptomatique pendant de nombreuses années et que de nombreux patients présentent déjà des complications associées à la maladie au moment du traitement. le diagnostic

Experts nationaux et internationaux réunis à Malaga dans le cadre de la réunion du XXII Congrès de la Société Espagnole du Diabète, discutez ces jours des dernières avancées et réalisations dans le traitement de cette pathologie, dans le but de souligner l’importance du dépistage précoce de la maladie, de l’individualisation du traitement et de l’utilisation rationnelle des médicaments disponibles.

La meilleure stratégie contre le diabète 2

Le diabète est une maladie chronique caractérisée par une glycémie élevée, qui apparaît généralement après des années de résistance à l'insuline de la part du corps. La plupart des spécialistes insistent sur la nécessité de diagnostiquer le diabète de type 2 à temps pour que le patient puisse suivre un traitement dès le début basé sur une alimentation saine et équilibrée, un exercice physique contrôlé et un traitement pharmacologique approprié basé sur les connaissances actuelles sur la physiopathologie de la maladie.

Le docteur Ampudia-Blasco souligne la nécessité de traiter cette pathologie dès le début, car "Lorsqu'elles ne sont pas traitées correctement, les conséquences du diabète de type 2 sont dévastatrices. Le hyperglycémie non traité est responsable de complications microvasculaires chroniques, telles que néphropathie ou le rétinopathie, qui peuvent apparaître au cours de l'évolution de la maladie. De plus, cela contribue à une plus grande prédisposition de ces patients à souffrir maladies cardiovasculaires. En fait, les patients diabétiques ont toujours une mortalité plus élevée que la population générale avec le même nombre de facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires.

Le Dr Luis Rojas Marcos, professeur de psychiatrie à l'Université de New York et membre de l'Académie de médecine de New York (États-Unis), souligne les liens affectifs, la maîtrise de soi, l'estime de soi, la pensée positive et la motivation. vivre comme les piliers de base à surmonter et apprendre à vivre avec la maladie. "En fin de compte, l'optimisme stimule chez les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 la confiance et la motivation nécessaires pour mener une vie active, pleine et heureuse, et c'est quelque chose que nous devrions rechercher en nous-mêmes", dit-il.

Source:

10 conseils alimentaires pour les diabétiques de type 2 - Question Nutrition (Septembre 2019).