In Spain, around 15 percent of children under 15 years of age are subjected to some type of abuse, as highlighted by the pediatricians gathered in Madrid for the celebration of the 9th Pediatric Update Course. These specialists have referred to several studies, conducted at the national level, that reveal that the child abuse affects one in six Spaniards under 15 years of age.

In the opinion of these professionals, they are the ones in the best position to detect possible cases of abuse or sexual abuse, something vital to reduce their incidence, especially considering that, as Dr. Jordi Pou Fernández, chief of the Pediatrics Service of the Sant Joan de Déu Hospital in Barcelona, ​​a child who has been mistreated has a 50 percent chance of going through a similar situation again, and his risk of dying after having detected abuse for the first time It reaches ten percent if the appropriate measures to protect the child are not immediately established.

Experts distinguish four types of child abuse, although they say that the most frequent is that the same child shows signs of more than one of them

As the experts explain, four types of abuse are distinguished, although the most frequent is that the same child shows signs of more than one of them. Physical aggressions, abandonment or neglect of the child's needs, and sexual abuse are easier to identify thanks to physical symptoms, while in the case of psychological abuse, it must be suspected in certain attitudes and behaviors of the child, such as that is too childish or too mature for their age, that presents a psychomotor retardation, that has learning problems or low academic performance, that behaves aggressively or is apathetic, that manifests an excess of manias or phobias ...

Situations of sexual abuse usually occur in the child's family environment, and it is almost always close relatives who carry out the abuse. Although the abuse is physical, it is also a psychological abuse, and pediatricians point out that special attention must be paid to the stories or drawings of the child, which may be the first signs that the child is experiencing an anomalous situation.

Dr. Pou emphasizes that, contrary to what is usually thought, physical abuse is the least frequent, although it can become very serious if it is not detected early, and includes what is known as Munchausen syndrome by proxy, a psychological disorder that one of the parents suffers (almost always the mother), which leads him to take actions to pretend that the child is sick, to the point of stopping feeding him, administering substances that cause vomiting, or intentionally infecting him , all in order to draw attention and appear before others as a person suffering and focused on the care of their child.

The lack of attention or abandonment is the most common type of abuse, and although it is more common among the marginal sectors of the population (people with limited economic resources, low cultural level or toxic habits), it can occur in all social classes, and it translates into lack of hygiene and medical attention, inadequate food or clothing, and insufficient supervision by adults that can compromise the safety of the child who, in addition, is often deprived of access to education because they do not carry it either. to school.

Source: Spanish Association of Primary Care Pediatrics

13 Year Old Afghan Tortured by Husband's Family (November 2019).

En Espagne, environ 15% des enfants de moins de 15 ans sont victimes d'abus, comme l'ont souligné les pédiatres réunis à Madrid pour la célébration du neuvième cours de mise à jour en pédiatrie. Ces spécialistes ont évoqué plusieurs études menées au niveau national qui révèlent que le abus d'enfant affecte un Espagnol sur six de moins de 15 ans.

De l'avis de ces professionnels, ce sont eux qui sont le mieux placés pour détecter d'éventuels cas d'abus ou d'agression sexuelle, élément indispensable pour réduire leur incidence, d'autant plus que, selon le Dr Jordi Pou Fernández, chef du service de pédiatrie de l'hôpital Sant Joan de Déu de Barcelone, un enfant maltraité a 50% de chances de se retrouver dans une situation similaire et le risque de mourir après avoir détecté un abus pour la première fois Il atteint dix pour cent si les mesures appropriées pour protéger l'enfant ne sont pas immédiatement mises en place.

Les experts distinguent quatre types de maltraitance d’enfants, bien qu’ils disent que le plus souvent, c’est le même enfant qui présente les signes de plus d’un d’eux.

Comme l'expliquent les experts, on distingue quatre types de maltraitance, même si le plus fréquent est qu'un même enfant présente des signes de plus d'un d'entre eux. Les agressions physiques, l'abandon ou la négligence des besoins de l'enfant et l'abus sexuel sont plus faciles à identifier grâce aux symptômes physiques, tandis que dans le cas d'abus psychologique, il doit être suspecté de certaines attitudes et comportements de l'enfant, tels que qui est trop enfantin ou trop mature pour son âge, qui présente un retard psychomoteur, qui a des problèmes d’apprentissage ou de faibles performances scolaires, qui se comporte de manière agressive ou qui est apathique, qui manifeste un excès de manies ou de phobies ...

Les situations d'abus sexuel se produisent généralement dans l'environnement familial de l'enfant, et ce sont presque toujours les proches parents qui les subissent. Bien que l'abus soit physique, il s'agit également d'un abus psychologique, et les pédiatres soulignent qu'une attention particulière doit être accordée aux récits ou aux dessins de l'enfant, qui peuvent être les premiers signes que l'enfant vit une situation anormale.

Le Dr Pou souligne que, contrairement à ce que l’on pense habituellement, la violence physique est la moins fréquente, bien qu’elle puisse devenir très grave si elle n’est pas détectée tôt, et inclut ce que l’on appelle Syndrome de Munchausen par procuration, trouble psychologique que l'un des parents (presque toujours la mère) souffre, qui l'amène à faire le nécessaire pour prétendre que l'enfant est malade, au point de cesser de le nourrir, d'administrer des substances provoquant des vomissements ou de l'infecter intentionnellement , tout cela afin d'attirer l'attention et d'apparaître devant les autres en tant que personne souffrant et se concentrant sur les soins à donner à son enfant.

Le type d'attaque le plus courant est le manque d'attention ou l'abandon. Bien qu'il soit plus fréquent parmi les groupes marginaux de la population (personnes disposant de ressources économiques limitées, de niveau culturel bas ou d'habitudes toxiques), il peut se produire dans toutes les classes sociales. et cela se traduit par un manque d'hygiène et de soins médicaux, une nourriture ou des vêtements inadéquats, et une supervision insuffisante d'adultes pouvant compromettre la sécurité de l'enfant qui, de plus, est souvent privé d'accès à l'éducation car il ne la porte pas non plus. à l'école.

Source: Association espagnole de pédiatrie de soins primaires

263 ans de prison pour un ancien policier américain condamné pour viols et abus sexuels (Août 2019).