The early diagnosis of breast cancer and the new treatments used to cope with it, have significantly reduced mortality from this pathology. However, its high incidence (one in nine women will have suffered breast cancer at the age of 85), continues to be a major health problem.

World Breast Cancer Day is celebrated on October 19, a neoplasm whose prognosis of survival ten years after diagnosis has improved markedly, since it has gone from 55% in the middle of the last century, to 86% at present.

Because the diagnosis of the disease in its initial stages is still the best way to combat it, the Spanish Association Against Cancer (AECC) emphasizes the need for women to practice self-examination and request a mammogram ( who has the ability to detect non-palpable lesions up to two years before the onset of symptoms) when they are suspected of having cancer, and as prevention after 40 years.

A very frequent cancer

Specialists estimate that one in nine women will have gone through the experience of suffering from breast cancer at the age of 85. In Spain, about 20,000 new cases are diagnosed every year and more than 5,000 women die as a result of this disease, although there is a gradual decrease in mortality, thanks to early detection and advances in treatments.

Risk factors include longer exposure to estrogen (early menarche, late menopause and few pregnancies), age and genetic predisposition, along with external factors such as diet (eating lots of animal fats and little fiber increases the chances of developing cancer), sedentary lifestyle, and the consumption of tobacco and alcohol, among others.

Although all these factors, and especially the combination of several, influence the appearance of the disease, they are not determinant, and any woman is susceptible to breast cancer even without known risk factors, hence the importance of prevention.

Fun Run in Afghanistan for Breast Cancer (November 2019).

Le diagnostic précoce du cancer du sein et les nouveaux traitements utilisés pour y faire face ont considérablement réduit la mortalité due à cette pathologie. Cependant, son incidence élevée (une femme sur neuf aura un cancer du sein à l'âge de 85 ans) continue de poser un problème de santé majeur.

La célébration de la Journée mondiale du cancer du sein est célébrée le 19 octobre. Son pronostic de survie dix ans après le diagnostic s'est nettement amélioré depuis qu'il est passé de 55% au milieu du siècle dernier à 86% actuellement.

Parce que le diagnostic de la maladie à ses débuts reste le meilleur moyen de la combattre, l’Association Espagnole Contre le Cancer (AECC) souligne la nécessité pour les femmes de s’auto-examiner et de demander une mammographie ( capable de détecter des lésions non palpables jusqu’à deux ans avant l’apparition des symptômes) lorsqu’elles sont soupçonnées d’être atteintes d’un cancer et à titre préventif après 40 ans.

Un cancer très fréquent

Les spécialistes estiment qu’une femme sur neuf aura souffert du cancer du sein à 85 ans. En Espagne, environ 20 000 nouveaux cas sont diagnostiqués chaque année et plus de 5 000 femmes décèdent des suites de cette maladie, bien que la mortalité diminue progressivement, grâce au dépistage précoce et aux progrès des traitements.

Les facteurs de risque comprennent une exposition plus longue aux œstrogènes (ménarche précoce, ménopause tardive et peu de grossesses), l'âge et la prédisposition génétique, ainsi que des facteurs externes tels que le régime alimentaire (manger beaucoup de graisses animales et peu de fibres augmente les chances cancer), le mode de vie sédentaire et la consommation de tabac et d’alcool, entre autres.

Bien que tous ces facteurs, et en particulier la combinaison de plusieurs facteurs, aient une influence sur l'apparition de la maladie, ils ne sont pas déterminants et toute femme est sensible au cancer du sein même sans facteurs de risque connus, d'où l'importance de la prévention.

[Audrey Dussutour] Le Blob (Août 2019).