A study presented during the last congress of the Spanish Society of Family and Community Medicine (semFYC), held in Zaragoza, reveals that up to 20% of people over 80 show apathy, the most frequent depressive symptom.

According to Dr. Miguel Ángel Martínez Adell, coordinator of the Wholesale Care Group of semFYC, this type of disorder is usually underdiagnosed since "if the old man lives alone at home, in residences, or accompanied by the couple of the same age, and also has several diseases, it is easier for apathy to live with him".

"It is difficult to diagnose it in older people," says this expert, since "they are not aware of having this disorder, and the first thing to do is to think that they can have it and, if so, treat it, because there are solutions" .

Another study conducted in urban health centers in Catalonia, with a sample of more than 600 people, has also shown that 20.5% of the elderly had suffered at least one fall in the last 6 months, 6.3% had risk of malnutrition and 22% of depression.

Dependence in the elderly is "a problem more social than medical"

The conclusion of the study indicates that one third of this population presented social risk, which makes them more vulnerable and increases the risk of the appearance of physical and psychic disorders, hence the need to establish social intervention strategies that contribute to improve the health and social integration of the elderly population.

For Dr. Adell, dependence on the elderly is "a social rather than a medical problem", and he regrets that patients with high physical and mental dependencies "demand a lot of resources that we can not offer now." It is a health, social and family problem, to which we will have to contribute all ".

The Healthy Aging Mind—Aging Gracefully and Beating Depression | Jin Joo, M.A., M.D. (November 2019).

Une étude présentée lors du dernier congrès de la Société espagnole de médecine familiale et communautaire (semFYC), tenue à Saragosse, révèle que près de 20% des personnes de plus de 80 ans présentent apathie, le symptôme dépressif le plus fréquent.

Selon le Dr Miguel Ángel Martínez Adell, coordinateur du groupe de soins de gros de semFYC, ce type de trouble est généralement sous-diagnostiqué puisque "si le vieil homme vit seul à la maison, dans des résidences ou accompagné du couple du même âge et qu'il souffre également de plusieurs maladies, il est plus facile pour l'apathie de vivre avec lui".

"Il est difficile de le diagnostiquer chez les personnes âgées", déclare cet expert, car "ils ne sont pas au courant de cette maladie et la première chose à faire est de penser qu'ils peuvent en souffrir et, le cas échéant, de la traiter, car il existe des solutions" .

Une autre étude menée dans des centres de santé urbains en Catalogne, avec un échantillon de plus de 600 personnes, a également montré que 20,5% des personnes âgées avaient subi au moins une chute au cours des 6 derniers mois, 6,3% avaient risque de malnutrition et 22% de dépression.

La dépendance des personnes âgées est "un problème plus social que médical"

La conclusion de l'étude indique qu'un tiers de cette population présente un risque social, ce qui la rend plus vulnérable et augmente le risque d'apparition de troubles physiques et psychiques, d'où la nécessité d'établir stratégies d'intervention sociale qui contribuent à améliorer la santé et l'intégration sociale de la population âgée.

Pour le Dr Adell, la dépendance à l'égard des personnes âgées est "un problème social plutôt que médical" et il regrette que les patients présentant une forte dépendance physique et mentale "exigent de nombreuses ressources que nous ne pouvons pas offrir maintenant". C'est un problème de santé, social et familial, auquel nous devrons tous contribuer ".

Le suicide - PSYCHOPTIK #2 (Août 2019).