According to data provided by the Spanish Confederation of Families of Deaf People (FIAPAS) it is estimated that every year around 2,000 families detect that their children suffer from some kind of auditory disorder, and about 500 of these children suffer from profound deafness.

Taking into account that one in every thousand babies presents a more or less pronounced hearing loss from the moment of birth, and that in half of the cases it is difficult to appreciate the symptoms, in 2003 the Ministry of Health and Autonomous Communities they implanted a Early Detection of Deafness Program in all Spanish hospitals, which aims to identify possible hearing disorders from the first days of the child's life.

Some factors increase the chances of the child developing deafness, such as presenting a congenital malformation that affects hearing ability, family history of hearing loss in childhood, or that the mother has suffered intrauterine infections in pregnancy

The specialists agree on the importance of an early diagnosis that makes it possible to begin the treatment of hearing loss as soon as possible and to favor the adequate development of the patient's capacities. It is necessary that parents remain alert to manifestations that indicate the possibility that the child suffers from an auditory disorder; thus, if they observe that they have a delay in the development of the language in comparison with other children of their age, if they believe that their capacity for attention and concentration are scarce, or do not respond adequately to the sound stimuli, it is convenient that they consult it with the pediatrician.

Some factors may increase the chances of the child developing deafness, such as having a congenital malformation that affects hearing, that one of his family members has had hearing loss during childhood, or that the mother has suffered intrauterine infections during pregnancy, between others. Certain endocrine pathologies, such as hypothyroidism, can also influence the occurrence of hearing loss.

Children may also suffer from temporary hearing loss due to excess earwax or an ear infection, such as otitis media. If this happens, you should go immediately to a specialist to assess the problem and establish the appropriate treatment.

Source: GAES

How common is hearing loss? (November 2019).

Selon les données fournies par la Confédération espagnole des familles de personnes sourdes (FIAPAS), environ 2 000 familles découvriraient chaque année que leurs enfants souffraient d'une sorte de trouble auditif, et environ 500 de ces enfants souffraient de surdité profonde.

Sachant qu'un bébé sur mille présente une perte auditive plus ou moins prononcée dès la naissance et que, dans la moitié des cas, il est difficile d’apprécier les symptômes, en 2003, Ministère de la santé et des communautés autonomes ils ont implanté un Programme de détection précoce de la surdité dans tous les hôpitaux espagnols, qui vise à identifier d'éventuels troubles de l'audition dès les premiers jours de la vie de l'enfant.

Certains facteurs augmentent les risques de surdité chez l'enfant, tels que la présentation d'une malformation congénitale affectant la capacité auditive, les antécédents familiaux de perte auditive dans l'enfance ou le fait que la mère a été victime d'infections intra-utérines pendant la grossesse.

Les spécialistes s'accordent sur l'importance d'un diagnostic précoce permettant de débuter le traitement de la perte auditive dans les meilleurs délais et de favoriser le développement adéquat des capacités du patient. Il est nécessaire que les parents restent attentifs aux manifestations qui indiquent la possibilité que l’enfant souffre d’un trouble de l’audition; ainsi, s’ils constatent un retard dans le développement de la langue par rapport aux autres enfants de leur âge, s’ils estiment que leur capacité d’attention et de concentration est limitée ou ne répond pas adéquatement aux stimuli sonores, il convient de le consulter avec le pédiatre

Certains facteurs peuvent augmenter les risques de surdité chez l’enfant, par exemple une malformation congénitale affectant l’ouïe, l’un des membres de sa famille qui a eu une perte auditive pendant l’enfance ou une mère ayant subi des infections intra-utérines pendant la grossesse d'autres Certaines pathologies endocriniennes, telles que l'hypothyroïdie, peuvent également influer sur la survenue d'une perte auditive.

Les enfants peuvent également souffrir d'une perte auditive temporaire due à un excès de cérumen ou à une infection de l'oreille, telle qu'une otite moyenne. Si cela se produit, vous devez immédiatement consulter un spécialiste pour évaluer le problème et établir le traitement approprié.

Source: GAES

Langue des signes et culture sourde - PDVS XXL #2 (Août 2019).