The risk of developing this serious mental disorder is similar for men and women, and specialists estimate that up to 1% of the population could be affected by the disease before reaching 45 years. Schizophrenia is a disease that severely limits the ability of patients, who present cognitive alterations, delusions and hallucinations, which lead to inappropriate behaviors that generate conflicts in their social relationships, isolating them from their environment and preventing them from leading a normal life.

Professor Jerónimo Saiz, Head of the Psychiatry Service of the Ramón y Cajal Hospital and president of the Spanish Psychiatric Society, emphasizes the importance of controlling schizophrenia with an adequate pharmacological treatment, and warns that patients who stop taking the medication (something which happens frequently) are up to five times more likely to suffer a relapse and require hospital admission, than those who maintain therapeutic adherence.

A new antipsychotic, which is administered through a single monthly dose, will make it easier for patients to continue treatment, reducing the risk of therapeutic abandonment

Recently, a new medicine based on paliperidone palmitate has been presented, which, as explained by Dr. Fernando Cañas, Head of the Psychiatry Service of the Madrid Lafora Psychiatric Hospital, is characterized by its rapid and prolonged action and is effective from the first dose.

The new antipsychotic also has a very important advantage, which is that it is administered through a single monthly dose, which will make it easier for patients to continue treatment and to develop their social and work activities normally, reducing the risk of abandonment and, consequently, , relapses and hospitalizations, which in addition to harming the well-being of the sick and worsening the prognosis of the disease, suppose a high economic cost.

Source: Janssen

Only a Genius Or a Person With a Mental Illness Can Answer This (November 2019).

Le risque de développer ce trouble mental grave est similaire pour les hommes et les femmes, et les spécialistes estiment que jusqu'à 1% de la population pourrait être touchée par la maladie avant l'âge de 45 ans. La schizophrénie est une maladie qui limite sévèrement les capacités des patients présentant des altérations cognitives, des délires et des hallucinations, ce qui entraîne des comportements inappropriés qui génèrent des conflits dans leurs relations sociales, les isolent de leur environnement et les empêchent de mener une vie normale.

Le professeur Jerónimo Saiz, chef du service de psychiatrie de l'hôpital Ramón y Cajal et président de la Société espagnole de psychiatrie, souligne qu'il est important de contrôler la schizophrénie avec un traitement pharmacologique adéquat, et avertit les patients qui arrêtent de prendre le médicament qui survient fréquemment) sont jusqu'à cinq fois plus susceptibles de subir une rechute et d’être hospitalisés que ceux qui maintiennent l’observance thérapeutique.

Un nouvel antipsychotique, administré en une seule dose mensuelle, facilitera la poursuite du traitement par les patients, réduisant ainsi le risque d'abandon thérapeutique.

Récemment, un nouveau médicament à base de palmitate de palipéridone a été présenté, qui, comme l'a expliqué le Dr Fernando Cañas, chef du service de psychiatrie de l'hôpital psychiatrique Lafora de Madrid, se caractérise par son action rapide et prolongée et la première dose.

Le nouvel antipsychotique présente également un avantage très important, à savoir qu’il est administré en une seule dose mensuelle, ce qui facilitera la poursuite du traitement et le développement des activités sociales et professionnelles des patients, réduisant ainsi le risque d’abandon et, partant, le traitement. , les rechutes et les hospitalisations qui, en plus de nuire au bien-être des malades et à l’aggravation du pronostic de la maladie, supposent un coût économique élevé.

Source: Janssen

Temps Présent - Une vie de jeune en psychiatrie (Août 2019).