A research carried out by the Lipids and Arteriosclerosis Unit of the Reina Sofía University Hospital in Córdoba, has detected that there is an improvement in the arterial function of the elderly after taking a diet that includes olive oil and other foods rich in monounsaturated fatty acids, compared to other diets low in fat or rich in saturated fats.

This work, published in the February issue of American Journal Clinical Nutrition, has analyzed the influence of nutrition on the natural aging process of the circulatory system of the elderly, and has verified that the Mediterranean diet It has beneficial effects on the arterial function of this sector of the population.

The study was attended by twenty patients (ten men and ten women), who did not have serious health problems and were over 65 years of age. The researchers took into account the state of their arteries at the beginning of the study because this factor indicates the possibilities of developing cardiovascular disorders and thrombosis later on. Thus, they checked how the endothelium was, that it covers the inner wall of the arteries and is very important for an adequate blood circulation, and they evaluated other aspects related to the deterioration produced by aging and cellular oxidation.

During a period of four weeks, the volunteers followed three different diets: one of the Mediterranean type, in which foods rich in monounsaturated fatty acids predominated, such as olive oil; another in which saturated fatty acids abounded; and another high in carbohydrates and low in fat.

Cardiovascular protection of the Mediterranean diet

The data obtained with the study reveal that the consumption of typical foods of the Mediterranean diet reduces the deterioration of the endothelium that is associated with aging, and stimulates its cellular regeneration, which improves the function of the arteries.

Javier Delgado, one of the authors of the work, explained that, after following the Mediterranean diet, the volunteers had lower levels of markers of oxidation and aging, and the capacity for dilatation of the endothelium also improved in them. Delgado adds that the beneficial effects of this diet that have been observed ensure greater protection against future cardiovascular events.

It is the first time that a research is able to demonstrate the link between this type of diet and the state of the circulatory system in older people, and a new project has been launched with the aim of studying the same parameters on a large scale, with a greater number of participants.

How to Use Olive Oil /Information about olive oil /olive oil benefits (November 2019).

Une étude menée par l'unité des lipides et de l'artériosclérose de l'hôpital universitaire Reina Sofía de Córdoba a révélé une amélioration de la fonction artérielle des personnes âgées après un régime comprenant de l'huile d'olive et d'autres aliments riches en acides gras monoinsaturés, comparé à d’autres régimes pauvres en graisse ou riches en graisses saturées.

Cet ouvrage, publié dans le numéro de février de American Journal Clinical Nutrition, a analysé l’influence de la nutrition sur le processus de vieillissement naturel du système circulatoire des personnes âgées et a vérifié que regime méditerranéen Il a des effets bénéfiques sur la fonction artérielle de ce secteur de la population.

Vingt patients (dix hommes et dix femmes) ont participé à l’étude. Ils n’avaient pas de problèmes de santé graves et étaient âgés de plus de 65 ans. Les chercheurs ont pris en compte l'état de leurs artères au début de l'étude car ce facteur indique les possibilités de développer ultérieurement des troubles cardiovasculaires et une thrombose. Ainsi, ils ont vérifié la nature de l'endothélium, qu'il couvre la paroi interne des artères et qu'il est très important pour une circulation sanguine adéquate. Ils ont également évalué d'autres aspects liés à la détérioration produite par le vieillissement et l'oxydation cellulaire.

Pendant quatre semaines, les volontaires ont suivi trois régimes différents: l'un de type méditerranéen, dans lequel prédominaient les aliments riches en acides gras monoinsaturés, tels que l'huile d'olive; un autre dans lequel abondaient les acides gras saturés; et un autre riche en glucides et faible en gras.

Protection cardiovasculaire du régime méditerranéen

Les données obtenues avec cette étude révèlent que la consommation d'aliments typiques du régime méditerranéen réduit la détérioration de l'endothélium associée au vieillissement et stimule sa régénération cellulaire, ce qui améliore le fonctionnement des artères.

Javier Delgado, l'un des auteurs de l'ouvrage, a expliqué qu'après le régime méditerranéen, les volontaires présentaient des niveaux plus bas de marqueurs d'oxydation et de vieillissement, et que leur capacité de dilatation de l'endothélium s'améliorait également. Delgado ajoute que les effets bénéfiques observés de ce régime assurent une meilleure protection contre les futurs événements cardiovasculaires.

C’est la première fois qu’une recherche est en mesure de démontrer le lien entre ce type de régime et l’état de l’appareil circulatoire chez les personnes âgées, et un nouveau projet a été lancé dans le but d’étudier les mêmes paramètres à grande échelle, avec plus grand nombre de participants.

A 60 ans cet aliment a amélioré ma vision nettoyé mon colon et réduit la graisse de mon foie (Août 2019).