Olive leaves contain oleanolic acid, a substance with anti-inflammatory properties that has achieved, in a laboratory test, pathologies that have a strong inflammatory component, as is the case of multiple sclerosis, progress more slowly, by decreasing the inflammatory processes inherent in the disease.

In a study conducted by a group of researchers from the Institute of Biology and Molecular Genetics (IBGM) of Valladolid, oleanolic acid has been used as an active principle in mice with experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis (EAE), a condition that presents with similar processes and symptoms. those that presents multiple sclerosis in humans.

Oleanolic acid has the ability to block the inflammatory response and also regulate the response of the immune system, making the disease less aggressive

The scientists found that treating the sick animals with oleanolic acid significantly reduced the symptoms of the disease, both the clinical manifestations and the immuno-inflammatory processes that it triggered. As explained by María Luisa Nieto, of the Innate Immunity and Inflammation Unit of the IBGM, the compounds used have the capacity to block the inflammatory response and also regulate the response of the immune system, making the disease less aggressive.

It is a laboratory test whose good results have led the authors of the work to patent a new pharmacological application that they hope will awaken the interest of the pharmaceutical industry. The researchers intend to also contact specialists in neurology to test their findings in clinical practice.

The treatment with oleanolic acid could also be used for other types of pathologies associated with inflammatory processes, such as myocarditis, a disease that affects the heart and is due to an infection - caused by viruses, bacteria or fungi - that causes inflammation of the organ. Thus, the IBGM researchers carried out another study in cell cultures to observe how the oleanolic acid acted against the infection, and found that in this case there was also a remission of symptoms.

Olive leaf Extract and Colloidal Silver review-Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis (November 2019).

Les feuilles d'olivier contiennent acide oléanolique, substance aux propriétés anti-inflammatoires qui a permis d’obtenir en laboratoire des pathologies à forte composante inflammatoire, comme dans le cas de la sclérose en plaques, progresse plus lentement en diminuant les processus inflammatoires inhérents à la maladie.

Dans une étude menée par un groupe de chercheurs de l'Institut de biologie et de génétique moléculaire (IBGM) de Valladolid, l'acide oléanolique a été utilisé comme principe actif chez des souris atteintes d'encéphalomyélite auto-immune expérimentale (EAE), une maladie qui présente des processus et des symptômes similaires. ceux qui présentent la sclérose en plaques chez l'homme.

L'acide oléanolique a la capacité de bloquer la réponse inflammatoire et également de réguler la réponse du système immunitaire, rendant la maladie moins agressive.

Les scientifiques ont découvert que le traitement des animaux malades avec de l'acide oléanolique réduisait considérablement les symptômes de la maladie, à la fois les manifestations cliniques et les processus immuno-inflammatoires qu'elle provoquait. Comme l'explique María Luisa Nieto, de l'unité Innate Immunity and Inflammation Unit de l'IBGM, les composés utilisés ont la capacité de bloquer la réponse inflammatoire et de réguler également la réponse du système immunitaire, rendant la maladie moins agressive.

Il s’agit d’un test de laboratoire dont les bons résultats ont conduit les auteurs du travail à breveter une nouvelle application pharmacologique qui, espère-t-il, suscitera l’intérêt de l’industrie pharmaceutique. Les chercheurs ont également l'intention de contacter des spécialistes en neurologie pour tester leurs résultats en pratique clinique.

Le traitement à l'acide oléanolique pourrait également être utilisé pour d'autres types de pathologies associées à des processus inflammatoires, tels que myocardite, une maladie qui touche le cœur et est due à une infection causée par un virus, une bactérie ou un champignon et qui provoque une inflammation de l’organe. Ainsi, les chercheurs de l'IBGM ont mené une autre étude sur des cultures cellulaires afin de déterminer comment l'acide oléanolique agissait contre l'infection et ont découvert que, dans ce cas, il y avait également une rémission des symptômes.

Curcuma : anti-inflammatoire naturel, arthrose, arthrite, anti-cancer (Août 2019).