The treatment of pancreatic cancer, a neoplasm that affects more than 4,000 people in Spain alone, and significantly reduces the life expectancy of those affected, is much more effective if it is accompanied by adequate nutrition to the special needs of these patients.

In the framework of the XIII Meeting of the Pancreatic Spanish Club, which has recently gathered in Barcelona, ​​185 experts in diseases of the pancreas, Dr. Enrique Domínguez-Muñoz, head of the digestive service of the Clinical Hospital of Santiago de Compostela, said that in A retrospective study with patients with advanced pancreatic cancer, pancreatic enzyme treatment and nutritional support was associated with a mean survival of 301 days compared to 89 days in the case of patients who did not receive such therapy.

If the pancreas does not function properly, the absorption of nutrients is impeded and the patient suffers malnutrition, which decreases their quality of life and worsens the prognosis of cancer.

When the pancreas does not perform its function correctly, as it can happen when it is affected by a cancer, it can cause a exocrine pancreatic insufficiency that prevents absorption of nutrients and, as a result of this, the patient suffers from malnutrition, which significantly reduces their quality of life and worsens the prognosis of the disease, as explained by the organizer of the event, Dr. Jaume Boadas, head of the Digestive Service of the Hospital de Terrassa

During the meeting, the specialists also addressed other pathologies of the pancreas such as acute pancreatitis or autoimmune pancreatitis, and shared their knowledge about these and other diseases, as well as about the latest advances that have occurred in their treatment. Thus, for example, Dr. Jonas Rosendhal, a researcher at the University of Leipzig wanted to highlight the important influence it has on chronic pancreatitis, not only tobacco and alcohol-usual risk factors-but also genetics.

Source: Spanish Pancreatic Club

Progress Against Pancreatic Cancer: Ted Lawrence, M.D., Ph.D. (November 2019).

Le traitement du cancer du pancréas, néoplasme qui touche plus de 4 000 personnes en Espagne et réduit considérablement l'espérance de vie des personnes touchées, est beaucoup plus efficace s'il est accompagné d'une nutrition adéquate répondant aux besoins particuliers de ces patients.

Dans le cadre de la XIIIe réunion du Club d'espagnol du pancréas, qui s'est récemment réunie à Barcelone, 185 experts en maladies du pancréas, le Dr Enrique Domínguez-Muñoz, responsable du service de digestion de l'hôpital clinique de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, a Une étude rétrospective portant sur des patients atteints d'un cancer du pancréas avancé, d'un traitement par une enzyme pancréatique et d'un soutien nutritionnel était associée à une survie moyenne de 301 jours par rapport à 89 jours pour les patients n'ayant pas reçu un tel traitement.

Si le pancréas ne fonctionne pas correctement, l'absorption des nutriments est entravée et le patient souffre de malnutrition, ce qui diminue sa qualité de vie et aggrave le pronostic du cancer.

Lorsque le pancréas ne remplit pas correctement sa fonction, comme cela peut arriver lorsqu’il est affecté d’un cancer, il peut provoquer une insuffisance pancréatique exocrine qui empêche absorption des nutriments En conséquence, le patient souffre de malnutrition, ce qui réduit considérablement sa qualité de vie et aggrave le pronostic de la maladie, comme l'explique l'organisateur de l'événement, le Dr Jaume Boadas, responsable du Service de digestion de l'Hôpital de Terrassa

Au cours de la réunion, les spécialistes ont également abordé d'autres pathologies du pancréas, telles que la pancréatite aiguë ou la pancréatite auto-immune, et ont partagé leurs connaissances sur ces maladies et sur d'autres, ainsi que sur les dernières avancées réalisées en matière de traitement. Ainsi, par exemple, le Dr Jonas Rosendhal, chercheur à l’Université de Leipzig, a voulu souligner l’importance de son influence sur la pancréatite chronique, non seulement le tabac et l’alcool - facteurs de risque habituels - mais aussi la génétique.

Source: Club pancréatique espagnol

Plantes médicinales pour purifier le pancréas (Août 2019).