The Spanish Society of Probiotics and Prebiotics (SEPyP) recently held a meeting in which specialists in the field have presented the findings of various research on the beneficial effects for health of these products. In particular, they highlighted the benefits of administering certain strains of probiotics to premature babies, because it prevents the appearance of Necrotising enterocolitis (NEC), a severe gastrointestinal pathology that affects neonates, especially if the baby is less than 34 weeks of gestation and underweight.

One of the experts who participated in the meeting has been Rafael Tojo, professor and director of the Research Unit in Nutrition and Human Development of Galicia (University of Santiago-University Clinical Hospital of Santiago de Compostela), which has explained that the efficacy of probiotics has also been proven to treat acute infectious diarrhea in children, since the use of these products has contributed to reduce the duration of the disease, and has favored the eradication of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori.

Some strains of probiotics can prevent the occurrence of necrotizing enterocolitis, a severe gastrointestinal disorder that affects neonates

On the other hand, the director of the Nutrition and Metabolism Research Group of the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium), Nathalie Delzenne, has indicated that the intake of prebiotics, by modifying the intestinal flora, improves endocrine function and sensitivity to insulin and the leptin, in addition to increasing the level of hormones responsible for regulating appetite and energy balance, so they can help in the treatment of obesity and other disorders of metabolism.

The meeting also dealt with the increasingly widespread use of probiotics and prebiotics as substitutes for antibiotics in the prevention and treatment of some diseases, such as mastitis, in animals.

Source: Spanish Society of Probiotics and Prebiotics (SEPyP)

Modulating the Gut Microbiome – the Role of Probiotics and Prebiotics (November 2019).

La Société espagnole de probiotiques et de prébiotiques (SEPyP) a récemment organisé une réunion au cours de laquelle des spécialistes du domaine ont présenté les résultats de diverses recherches sur les effets bénéfiques de ces produits sur la santé. En particulier, ils ont souligné les avantages de l'administration de certaines souches de probiotiques à des prématurés, car ils préviennent l'apparition de Entérocolite nécrosante (NEC), une pathologie gastro-intestinale sévère qui touche les nouveau-nés, en particulier si le bébé a moins de 34 semaines de gestation et un poids insuffisant.

L’un des experts ayant participé à la réunion a été Rafael Tojo, professeur et directeur de l'unité de recherche sur la nutrition et le développement humain de la Galice (hôpital clinique universitaire de Santiago de Compostela), qui a expliqué que l'efficacité des probiotiques s'est également avérée efficace dans le traitement diarrhée infectieuse aiguë chez les enfants, car l'utilisation de ces produits a contribué à réduire la durée de la maladie et a favorisé l'éradication de la bactérie Helicobacter pylori.

Certaines souches de probiotiques peuvent prévenir l'apparition d'entérocolites nécrosantes, un trouble gastro-intestinal grave qui affecte les nouveau-nés

De son côté, Nathalie Delzenne, directrice du groupe de recherche sur la nutrition et le métabolisme de l’Université catholique de Louvain (Belgique), a indiqué que la prise de prébiotiques, en modifiant flore intestinale, améliore la fonction endocrinienne et la sensibilité au l'insuline et la leptine, en plus d’augmenter le niveau d’hormones responsables de la régulation de l’appétit et de l’équilibre énergétique, afin de contribuer au traitement de l’obésité et d’autres troubles du métabolisme.

La réunion a également porté sur l'utilisation de plus en plus répandue des probiotiques et des prébiotiques comme substituts des antibiotiques dans la prévention et le traitement de certaines maladies, telles que la mammite chez les animaux.

Source: Société espagnole de probiotiques et prébiotiques (SEPyP)

Les probiotiques, ces bactéries qui nous veulent du bien ! (Août 2019).