The nap It is a Spanish custom on which numerous international studies have been carried out, which have demonstrated its benefits for health in general, and for the brain in particular. Now, a group of experts from the dream of University of Massachusetts in Amherst (USA), he has discovered that taking a nap improves the learning capacity and the memory of Preschoolers.

The researchers conducted a study with 40 children from six preschools spread across western Massachusetts, and showed them a visual-spatial task similar to memory tests. In the game, the children saw a grid of images and had to remember where the various images were.

The tests were conducted under two different conditions: after taking a nap -with an average duration of 77 minutes-, and without sleeping. In addition, the game was tested again the next day to check whether nighttime sleep affected performance.

After taking a nap the children were able to remember 10% more of the points of the memory test

The experts found that children forgot a significant number of item locations in the memory test when they had not napped-65% accuracy-compared to what happened when they had slept -75% accuracy-what which indicates that after the nap the little ones were able to remember 10% more of the points of the test than when they were awake.

According to the results, the authors of the work conclude that when the child does not take a nap, the night's sleep does not allow to recover the lost benefit. In the opinion of these researchers, the political authorities should establish measures for children to nap in the nursery classrooms, and encourage them to sleep by creating a favorable environment for the rest of the children, with the aim of improving their learning capacity .

Dr. Oz on Why You Should Take a Power Nap (November 2019).

Le sieste C'est une coutume espagnole sur laquelle de nombreuses études internationales ont été menées, qui ont démontré ses avantages pour la santé en général et pour le cerveau en particulier. Maintenant, un groupe d’experts du rêve de Université du Massachusetts à Amherst (États-Unis), il a découvert que la sieste améliorait la capacité d'apprentissage et la mémoire de Enfants d'âge préscolaire.

Les chercheurs ont mené une étude auprès de 40 enfants de six écoles maternelles réparties dans l'ouest du Massachusetts et leur ont montré une tâche visuo-spatiale similaire aux tests de mémoire. Dans le jeu, les enfants ont vu une grille d’images et ont dû se rappeler où se trouvaient les différentes images.

Les tests ont été menés dans deux conditions différentes: après une sieste d'une durée moyenne de 77 minutes et sans sommeil. En outre, le jeu a été testé à nouveau le lendemain pour vérifier si le sommeil nocturne affectait les performances.

Après la sieste, les enfants ont pu se rappeler 10% de points supplémentaires du test de mémoire.

Les experts ont découvert que les enfants avaient oublié un nombre important d'emplacements d'éléments dans le test de mémoire lorsqu'ils n'avaient pas fait la sieste (précision de 65%), par rapport à ce qui s'était passé quand ils avaient dormi à -75% de précision. ce qui indique qu'après la sieste, les tout-petits ont pu se rappeler 10% de points en plus du test par rapport à leur réveil.

Selon les résultats, les auteurs du travail concluent que lorsque l'enfant ne fait pas la sieste, le sommeil nocturne ne permet pas de récupérer le bénéfice perdu. De l'avis de ces chercheurs, les autorités politiques devraient mettre en place des mesures permettant aux enfants de faire la sieste dans les classes de crèche et de les encourager à dormir en créant un environnement favorable pour le reste des enfants, dans le but d'améliorer leur capacité d'apprentissage. .

De 0 à 5 ans : dormir, ça s'apprend ? - La Maison des maternelles #LMDM (Août 2019).