Most of the serious diseases that are related to pregnancy are caused by localized infections in the urinary or genital tract and soft tissues, or by those associated with an abortion. In economically disadvantaged countries, infections in pregnancy are the main cause of death of the pregnant woman and, in many cases, can also cause the death of the fetus and even the newborn baby.

However, data obtained in new research conducted by US scientists, and published in 'PloS Medicine', indicate that these diseases can almost always be prevented and treated effectively.

In low and middle income countries infections in pregnancy are the main cause of death of the mother, and may also affect the fetus or baby

The researchers analyzed studies that had previously been published and that contained information on infections in pregnant women, and focused mainly on those studies conducted in Africa and Asia, to determine what would be the best strategies to detect and address these infections.

The authors of the work have explained that they have been able to identify four clinical syndromes and their associated pathogens, responsible for the appearance of infections in the genital tract, the urinary tract, soft tissues, and infections related to abortion, which are the most common infections. frequent during pregnancy in women living in low and middle income countries. In addition, they add that each of these disorders occur at a time other than pregnancy, which makes it easier to detect and prevent.

Therefore, researchers have recommended that in the prenatal care services of these countries are scheduled interventions to control this type of infection, in addition to facilitating access for all pregnant women to diagnostic tests and appropriate treatments, in order to reduce the morbidity associated with pregnancy.

2nd Trimester Q&A with Belly to Baby (November 2019).

La plupart des maladies graves liées à la grossesse sont causées par des infections localisées des voies urinaires et génitales et des tissus mous, ou par celles associées à un avortement. Dans les pays économiquement défavorisés, les infections pendant la grossesse sont la principale cause de décès de la femme enceinte et, dans de nombreux cas, peuvent également entraîner la mort du fœtus et même du nouveau-né.

Cependant, les données obtenues lors de nouvelles recherches menées par des scientifiques américains et publiées dans «PloS Medicine» indiquent que ces maladies peuvent presque toujours être prévenues et traitées efficacement.

Dans les pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire, les infections pendant la grossesse sont la principale cause de décès de la mère et peuvent également toucher le fœtus ou le bébé.

Les chercheurs ont analysé des études précédemment publiées contenant des informations sur les infections chez les femmes enceintes et principalement sur celles menées en Afrique et en Asie, afin de déterminer les meilleures stratégies pour détecter et combattre ces infections.

Les auteurs du travail ont expliqué qu'ils avaient pu identifier quatre syndromes cliniques et leurs agents pathogènes associés, responsables de l'apparition d'infections dans le tractus génital, les voies urinaires, les tissus mous et les infections liées à l'avortement, qui sont les infections les plus courantes. fréquentes pendant la grossesse chez les femmes vivant dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire. En outre, ils ajoutent que chacun de ces troubles survient à un moment autre que la grossesse, ce qui facilite la détection et la prévention.

Les chercheurs ont donc recommandé que les services de soins prénatals de ces pays prévoient des interventions programmées pour lutter contre ce type d'infection, tout en facilitant l'accès de toutes les femmes enceintes à des tests de diagnostic et à des traitements appropriés, afin de réduire la morbidité associée à la grossesse.

Webinar: À chaque maman, son bébé. À chaque bébé, sa maman (Septembre 2019).