Despite the fact that epilepsy is the second most frequent neurological pathology, with around 400,000 patients diagnosed in Spain, the World Health Organization (WHO) warns that the scarcity of resources and the social stigma that accompanies it cause that between a 60 and 90 percent of epileptic people residing in developed countries are not adequately treated.

Epilepsy is a very complex disease that affects people of all ages, and includes more than 30 different types of epileptic seizures, characterized by various symptoms such as convulsions, spasms and abrupt contractions of muscles, and loss of consciousness, between others, and around 100 epileptic syndromes.

The Treaty of Epilepsy addresses all aspects associated with pathology, from its history and diagnostic elements, to the various options available for its treatment, and its prognosis and consequences

With the aim of analyzing epilepsy and epileptic syndromes, in addition to deepening knowledge about the diagnosis and treatment of this disease, 70 Spanish epileptologists have joined their experience to develop a new Treaty of Epilepsy, aimed at specialists in Neurology and any other health professional interested in the subject, which has been edited by the Spanish Society of Neurology (SEN) and the Spanish Society of Pediatric Neurology (SENP), in collaboration with UCB Pharma.

During the presentation of the Treaty, in the LXIII Congress of the SEN, Dr. Jerónimo Sancho, president of this Society, has highlighted that there have been important advances in neuroimaging techniques and other exploratory methods, and that new ones have also been developed. drugs and improvements in surgical interventions in recent years.

Throughout 47 chapters, divided into three sections, the new publication addresses all aspects associated with this pathology, from its history and diagnostic elements, to the various options currently available for its treatment, and the prognosis and consequences of the disease on the quality of life of the patient.

The specialists who have participated in this initiative have wanted to record the social problems that this disease brings because of the stigmatization still suffered by patients today and that it is necessary to fight. Thus, in the last chapter, the authors describe the social and labor problems that affect patients that are translated, for example, into social rejection or difficulties in finding or maintaining a job.

Children also suffer from epilepsy

Epilepsy has a high incidence in the child population and, for this reason, several chapters of the Treaty of Epilepsy also deal with the diagnosis and treatment of this pathology in childhood. It is estimated that, in our country, the incidence of epilepsy in children under 15 years of age is 62.6 cases diagnosed per 100,000 people.

The development of the brain that occurs during childhood is a factor involved in the appearance of epilepsy in this stage of life. Dr. Carlos Salas, one of the coordinators of the Treaty, believes that in the pediatric age it is more complicated to establish the diagnosis, and that the treatment requires great precision and the doses must be carefully adjusted to prevent possible risks or the appearance of sequelae in the central nervous system, which in children is in the process of development.

Sources: Spanish Society of Neurology (SEN) and the Spanish Society of Pediatric Neurology (SENP)

Psychogenic Seizures — What are They, How Can They be Diagnosed and Treated? (November 2019).

Malgré le fait que l'épilepsie soit la deuxième pathologie neurologique la plus fréquente, avec près de 400 000 patients diagnostiqués en Espagne, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) met en garde que la rareté des ressources et la stigmatisation sociale qui l'accompagne 60 et 90% des épileptiques résidant dans les pays développés ne sont pas traités de manière adéquate.

L’épilepsie est une maladie très complexe qui touche les personnes de tous âges et comprend plus de 30 types différents de crises épileptiques, caractérisés par divers symptômes tels que convulsions, spasmes et contractions musculaires brusques, ainsi que de perte de conscience, entre autres et environ 100 syndromes épileptiques.

Le Traité d'épilepsie traite de tous les aspects liés à la pathologie, de son historique aux éléments de diagnostic, en passant par les différentes options disponibles pour son traitement, ainsi que de son pronostic et de ses conséquences.

Dans le but d'analyser l'épilepsie et les syndromes épileptiques, outre l'approfondissement des connaissances sur le diagnostic et le traitement de cette maladie, 70 épileptologues espagnols ont uni leur expérience pour développer un nouveau Traité d'épilepsie, destiné aux spécialistes en neurologie et à tout autre professionnel de la santé intéressé par le sujet, a été édité par la Société espagnole de neurologie (SEN) et la Société espagnole de neurologie pédiatrique (SENP), en collaboration avec UCB Pharma.

Lors de la présentation du traité, lors du congrès de la LXIII du SEN, le président de cette société, M. Jerónimo Sancho, a souligné que des progrès importants avaient été réalisés dans les techniques de neuroimagerie et d'autres méthodes exploratoires, et que de nouvelles étaient également développées. médicaments et améliorations des interventions chirurgicales au cours des dernières années.

Au cours des 47 chapitres, divisés en trois sections, la nouvelle publication aborde tous les aspects associés à cette pathologie, de son historique aux éléments de diagnostic, en passant par les diverses options actuellement disponibles pour son traitement, et en ce qui concerne le pronostic et le diagnostic. conséquences de la maladie sur la qualité de vie du patient.

Les spécialistes qui ont participé à cette initiative ont souhaité enregistrer les problèmes sociaux posés par cette maladie en raison de la stigmatisation que subissent encore les patients et qu’il est nécessaire de combattre. Ainsi, dans le dernier chapitre, les auteurs décrivent les problèmes sociaux et du travail qui affectent les patients et qui se traduisent par exemple par un rejet social ou des difficultés à trouver ou à conserver un emploi.

Les enfants souffrent également d'épilepsie

L'épilepsie a une incidence élevée dans la population infantile et, pour cette raison, plusieurs chapitres du Traité sur l'épilepsie traitent également du diagnostic et du traitement de cette pathologie chez l'enfant. On estime que dans notre pays l'incidence de l'épilepsie chez les enfants de moins de 15 ans est de 62,6 cas diagnostiqués pour 100 000 habitants.

Le développement du cerveau qui se produit pendant l'enfance est un facteur impliqué dans l'apparition de l'épilepsie à ce stade de la vie. Le Dr Carlos Salas, l'un des coordinateurs du traité, estime que l'établissement du diagnostic est plus compliqué à l'âge pédiatrique, que le traitement nécessite une grande précision et que les doses doivent être soigneusement ajustées pour éviter tout risque éventuel ou l'apparition de séquelles chez le patient. le système nerveux central, qui chez les enfants est en cours de développement.

Sources: Société espagnole de neurologie (SEN) et Société espagnole de neurologie pédiatrique (SENP)

What You Eat Matters - 2018 Documentary H.O.P.E. (Septembre 2019).