In Spain, COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) affects more than 10% of Spaniards between 40 and 79 years, but 70% of patients have not yet been diagnosed. For this reason, it is vital to make the population aware of the importance of early diagnosis. With this objective, the conference "EPOC: a challenge, a commitment" was held, in which the deputies of the Madrid Assembly participated.

COPD has a slow and progressive evolution, and at the moment when the patient consults the doctor, the disease has advanced a lot, so it is difficult to slow down its progress and improve the quality of life of the patient. In Spain, this disease kills more than 18,000 people each year, and originates a health expenditure that exceeds 2,600 million euros per year.

During the Day "COPD: A challenge, a commitment", organized by the Spanish Society of Pneumology and Thoracic Surgery (SEPAR), the Madrid Society of Pulmonology and Toothache (Neumomadrid) and the University of Patients, and in which Novartis has also collaborated, emphasized the importance of achieving an early diagnosis of the disease because, although it has no cure, if it is diagnosed in its first stage the available treatments can stop the progression of the disease and decrease the symptoms that incapacitate the patient to lead a normal life.

The Madrid parliamentarians who attended the Assembly of Madrid during the celebration of the Day, underwent a spirometry to find out if they run the risk of developing COPD.

Spirometry consists of blowing rapidly and forcefully through a tube, and serves to determine the air that fits in the lungs and at what speed a person can expel air, which allows to check their respiratory function, their lung capacity and if their bronchi are obstructed. The specialists recommend an annual spirometry to smokers over 40 years, because it is a cheap and simple test, able to predict the risk of suffering from the disease.

COPD (& Emphysema) Explained Clearly - Pathophysiology & Treatment (November 2019).

En Espagne, la MPOC (maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique) affecte plus de 10% des Espagnols âgés de 40 à 79 ans, mais 70% des patients n'ont pas encore été diagnostiqués. Pour cette raison, il est essentiel de sensibiliser la population à l’importance du diagnostic précoce. C'est dans cet objectif qu'a été organisée la conférence "EPOC: un défi, un engagement", à laquelle ont participé les députés de l'Assemblée de Madrid.

La BPCO évolue lentement et progressivement et, au moment où le patient consulte son médecin, la maladie a beaucoup évolué. Il est donc difficile de ralentir sa progression et d’améliorer sa qualité de vie. En Espagne, cette maladie tue plus de 18 000 personnes chaque année et entraîne des dépenses de santé dépassant 2 600 millions d'euros par an.

Pendant le jour "La MPOC: un défi, un engagement", organisée par la Société espagnole de pneumologie et de chirurgie thoracique (SEPAR), la Société de pneumologie et de maux de dents de Madrid (Neumomadrid) et l’Université des patients, et à laquelle Novartis a également collaboré, ont souligné l’importance de un diagnostic précoce de la maladie car, même si elle n’est pas guérie, si elle est diagnostiquée à sa première étape, les traitements disponibles peuvent enrayer la progression de la maladie et atténuer les symptômes qui rendent le patient incapable de mener une vie normale.

Les parlementaires de Madrid qui ont assisté à l'Assemblée de Madrid lors de la célébration de la journée ont subi une spirométrie afin de déterminer s'ils couraient le risque de développer une MPOC.

La spirométrie consiste à souffler rapidement et avec force à travers un tube et sert à déterminer l'air qui pénètre dans les poumons et à quelle vitesse une personne peut-elle expulser de l'air, ce qui permet de contrôler leur fonction respiratoire, leur capacité pulmonaire et si les bronches sont obstruées. Les spécialistes recommandent aux fumeurs de plus de 40 ans une spirométrie annuelle, car il s’agit d’un test simple et peu coûteux, capable de prédire le risque de souffrir de la maladie.

Sarcoidose pulmonaire articulaire renale hepatique cutanée ophtalmologique (Septembre 2019).