The world has a new challenge: the increase of chronic noncommunicable diseases. This has been noted by the Director General of the WHO, Margaret Chan, who has given concrete data to raise this alarm: some 36 million people died of chronic noncommunicable diseases in the world during 2008, which means that 63 percent of the deaths that year were caused by these pathologies that, by 2030, could have ended the lives of about 52 million people.

Four groups of pathologies accumulate about 80 percent of all deaths from chronic noncommunicable diseases. Cardiovascular diseases generate the majority of these deaths, some 17 million deaths annually, followed by cancer, with 7.6 million; respiratory diseases, with 4.2 million, and diabetes, with 1.3 million. All of them have four common risk factors: smoking, sedentary lifestyle, alcohol abuse and poor diets.

Chan has warned of the repercussions of this situation. Not only in terms of human lives: "for some countries it is not an exaggeration to describe the situation as an imminent disaster, a disaster for health, society and above all for national economies". And he explained that "chronic noncommunicable diseases launch a double blow to development. They cause billions of dollars in losses of national resources and push millions of people below the poverty line, every year. "

Along the same lines, the Deputy Director General for Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health of WHO, Ala Alwan, pointed out: "Nearly 30 percent of people who die from chronic noncommunicable diseases in low and middle income countries have less than 60 years old and they are in their most productive stage of life. These premature deaths are the most tragic because they could be prevented, "he says.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Shocking: The top 10 causes of death in India (November 2019).

Le monde fait face à un nouveau défi: l’augmentation du nombre de maladies chroniques non transmissibles. La directrice générale de l’OMS, Margaret Chan, a pris note de cette remarque et a fourni des données concrètes alarme: les 36 millions de personnes sont mortes de maladies chroniques non transmissibles dans le monde en 2008, ce qui signifie que 63% des décès de cette année ont été causés par ces pathologies qui, d’ici 2030, auraient pu mettre fin à la vie de quelque 52 millions de personnes.

Quatre groupes de pathologies accumulent environ 80% de tous les décès dus à des maladies chroniques non transmissibles. Les maladies cardiovasculaires sont à l'origine de la majorité de ces décès, environ 17 millions de décès par an, suivis du cancer, avec 7,6 millions; les maladies respiratoires, avec 4,2 millions, et le diabète, avec 1,3 million. Tous ont quatre facteurs de risque communs: le tabagisme, la sédentarité, l’abus d’alcool et une mauvaise alimentation.

Chan a mis en garde contre les répercussions de cette situation. Pas seulement en termes de vies humaines: "pour certains pays, il n'est pas exagéré de décrire la situation comme une catastrophe imminente, une catastrophe pour la santé, la société et surtout pour les économies nationales". Et il a expliqué que "les maladies chroniques non transmissibles portent un double coup au développement. Ils causent des milliards de dollars de pertes de ressources nationales et poussent chaque année des millions de personnes en dessous du seuil de pauvreté. "

Dans le même ordre d'idées, Ala Alwan, directeur général adjoint des Maladies non transmissibles et de la santé mentale de l'OMS, a souligné: "Près de 30% des personnes décédées des suites de maladies chroniques non transmissibles dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire ont moins de 60 ans et ils sont dans leur phase la plus productive de la vie. Ces décès prématurés sont les plus tragiques car ils pourraient être évités ", a-t-il déclaré.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Epidémies industrielles du XXIème siècle Séance délocalisée de l'ANM ds les Hauts-de-France (Août 2019).