In World Youth Week, the World Health Organization (WHO) wanted to remember that more than 2.6 million adolescents and young people between 10 and 24 years old die every year in the world, most of them from preventable causes , such as HIV, malnutrition, violence or diseases related to the abuse of drugs such as alcohol or tobacco.

WHO Deputy Director General Anarfi Asamoa-Baah warns that "WHO estimates indicate that 2.6 million young people die every year, tens of millions suffer from health problems and hundreds of millions acquire unhealthy habits that could lead them to suffer diseases and die prematurely ", most of them are inhabitants of poor countries.

Promoting healthy habits among adolescents and better protecting young people from health risks is "key" for the future of countries and social infrastructure, in addition to preventing health problems in the adult population, according to the WHO.

To this end, the Millennium Development Goals seek, for example, to achieve universal access to reproductive health, since 16 million adolescents between 15 and 19 years old give birth each year in the world, representing 11 percent of all births .

Another objective is to stop the spread of HIV / AIDS in this population, reducing cases by 25 percent. Currently, young people between 15 and 24 years account for 40 percent of new HIV infections of adults around the world, according to 2009 data. Each day, 2,400 young people are infected with HIV. Worldwide there are more than 5 million young people living with HIV / AIDS.

Malnutrition is another problem that affects young people. Many children who grow up in poor countries reach adolescence with problems of malnutrition, which makes them vulnerable to diseases. On the other hand, obesity and soprepeso grows, another form of malnutrition with serious consequences for health.

Mental health problems are another challenge to improve, since about 20 percent of adolescents will suffer this type of problem, with depression or anxiety being the most common. The experiences of violence and poverty increase this risk. Without forgetting suicide, one of the main causes of death among the youngest population.

The consumption of snuff and alcohol, so established in these age groups is another of the evils of youth. According to the WHO, at present, about 150 million young people smoke and about 14 percent of adolescents and 18 percent of boys between 13 and 15 years old, inhabitants of low and middle income countries, already consume alcohol. The education and state policies of prevention are the keys to stop the increase of their consumption.

Why Club Penguin Died (November 2019).

Dans le cadre de la Semaine mondiale de la jeunesse, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a tenu à rappeler que plus de 2,6 millions d'adolescents et de jeunes âgés de 10 à 24 ans meurent chaque année dans le monde, la plupart d'entre eux de causes évitables. , tels que le VIH, la malnutrition, la violence ou des maladies liées à l’abus de drogues telles que l’alcool ou le tabac.

Le Directeur général adjoint de l'OMS, Anarfi Asamoa-Baah, a averti que "les estimations de l'OMS indiquent que 2,6 millions de jeunes meurent chaque année, que des dizaines de millions souffrent de problèmes de santé et que des centaines de millions d'entre eux acquièrent de mauvaises habitudes les font souffrir de maladies et meurent prématurément ", la plupart d’entre eux sont des habitants de pays pauvres.

Promouvoir des habitudes saines chez les adolescents et mieux protéger les jeunes des risques pour la santé est "essentiel" pour l'avenir des pays et des infrastructures sociales, en plus de la prévention des problèmes de santé de la population adulte, selon l'OMS.

À cette fin, les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement visent, par exemple, à assurer un accès universel à la santé en matière de reproduction, puisque 16 millions d'adolescentes âgées de 15 à 19 ans donnent naissance chaque année dans le monde, soit 11% de toutes les naissances. .

Un autre objectif consiste à enrayer la propagation du VIH / sida dans cette population en réduisant le nombre de cas de 25%. Selon les données de 2009, les jeunes de 15 à 24 ans représentent actuellement 40% des nouvelles infections à VIH chez les adultes dans le monde. Chaque jour, 2 400 jeunes sont infectés par le VIH. Dans le monde entier, plus de 5 millions de jeunes vivent avec le VIH / sida.

La malnutrition est un autre problème qui affecte les jeunes. Beaucoup d'enfants qui grandissent dans des pays pauvres atteignent l'adolescence avec des problèmes de malnutrition, ce qui les rend vulnérables aux maladies. En revanche, l'obésité et le soprepeso se développent, une autre forme de malnutrition aux conséquences graves pour la santé.

Les problèmes de santé mentale constituent un autre défi à relever, car environ 20% des adolescents souffrent de ce type de problème, la dépression ou l’anxiété étant le plus fréquent. Les expériences de violence et de pauvreté augmentent ce risque. Sans oublier le suicide, l'une des principales causes de décès chez les plus jeunes.

La consommation de tabac à priser et d'alcool, bien établie dans ces groupes d'âge, est un autre des maux de la jeunesse. Selon l'OMS, environ 150 millions de jeunes fumeurs et environ 14% d'adolescents et 18% de garçons âgés de 13 à 15 ans, habitant des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire, fument actuellement. déjà consommer de l'alcool. L’éducation et les politiques de prévention mises en place par l’État sont la clé pour arrêter l’augmentation de leur consommation.

6 - Le cannabis, la politique et la science - Raisonnance (Août 2019).