Lymphatic cancer affects the cells of the immune system responsible for protecting the body against infections. It is estimated that there are around 35 types of lymphoma, which makes diagnosis and treatment difficult. When the diagnosis is Hodgkin's lymphoma, polychemotherapy, with or without radiotherapy, achieves the cure of 80% of patients, but in the case of non-Hodgkin the percentage is not so favorable.

However, according to Dr. Dolores Caballero, hematologist and president of the Spanish Group of Lymphomas / Bone Marrow Autologous Transplantation (GEL / TAMO), belonging to the Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy (SEHH), which was created with the aim of investigate about lymphatic cancer and discover new treatments to fight against this disease, "the new ones are starting to work monoclonal antibodies”.

The treatment consists of administering to the patient some synthetic proteins, similar to the antibodies of the immune system, designed to detect which lymphocytes are affected and eliminate them selectively, thus slowing down the progression of the disease.

Early diagnosis is essential, as well as identifying the type of lymphoma and the stage in which the disease is found, because this will determine the treatment to be followed and the patient's prognosis.

An epidemiological study conducted by the Spanish Registry of Lymphomas, reveals that in our country about 8,500 new cases of lymphomas are diagnosed each year, but it is a pathology that, in its beginnings, usually goes unnoticed due to the lack of symptoms. Usually, the sign that usually indicates the existence of a lymphoma is the inflammation of a lymph node, although there are other symptoms that can alert as unexplained fever, excessive tiredness or night sweats.

According to Doctor Caballero, early diagnosis is essential, as well as identifying the type of lymphoma and the stage in which the disease is found, because this will determine the treatment to be followed and the patient's prognosis.

Recent advances in treatments have allowed high healing rates to be reached in the most aggressive lymphomas, also improving the quality of life of patients. This is the case of follicular lymphoma, which has now become a chronic disease because, as the specialist points out, an "average survival of 16 years" has been achieved.

Source: Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy (SEHH)

Monoclonal Antibodies: Making Cancer a Target (November 2019).

Le cancer lymphatique affecte les cellules du système immunitaire chargées de protéger le corps contre les infections. On estime qu'il existe environ 35 types de lymphome, ce qui rend le diagnostic et le traitement difficiles. Quand le diagnostic est Lymphome de Hodgkin, la polychimiothérapie, avec ou sans radiothérapie, permet de guérir 80% des patients, mais dans le cas des patients non hodgkiniens, le pourcentage n'est pas aussi favorable.

Cependant, selon le Dr Dolores Caballero, hématologue et présidente du groupe espagnol de transplantation autologue de lymphomes / moelle osseuse (GEL / TAMO), qui appartient à la Société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie (SEHH), créée dans le but de: enquêter sur le cancer lymphatique et découvrir de nouveaux traitements pour lutter contre cette maladie ", les nouveaux commencent à travailler anticorps monoclonaux”.

Le traitement consiste à administrer au patient des protéines synthétiques, similaires aux anticorps du système immunitaire, conçues pour détecter les lymphocytes affectés et les éliminer de manière sélective, ce qui ralentit la progression de la maladie.

Un diagnostic précoce est essentiel, ainsi que l'identification du type de lymphome et du stade dans lequel la maladie est détectée, car cela déterminera le traitement à suivre et le pronostic du patient.

Une étude épidémiologique menée par le registre espagnol des lymphomes révèle que dans notre pays environ 8 500 nouveaux cas de lymphomes sont diagnostiqués chaque année, mais qu’il s’agit d’une pathologie qui, à ses débuts, passe généralement inaperçue en raison de l’absence de symptômes. Habituellement, le signe indiquant l’existence d’un lymphome est l’inflammation d’un ganglion lymphatique, bien qu’il existe d’autres symptômes pouvant alerter comme une fièvre inexpliquée, une fatigue excessive ou des sueurs nocturnes.

Selon le docteur Caballero, un diagnostic précoce est essentiel, de même que l'identification du type de lymphome et du stade de découverte de la maladie, car ils détermineront le traitement à suivre et le pronostic du patient.

Les progrès récents des traitements ont permis d’atteindre des taux de guérison élevés dans les lymphomes les plus agressifs, améliorant ainsi la qualité de vie des patients. C'est le cas du lymphome folliculaire, qui est devenu une maladie chronique car, comme le souligne le spécialiste, une "survie moyenne de 16 ans" a été atteinte.

Source: Société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie (SEHH)

L’arthrite rhumatoïde : comment en contrôler les symptômes ? (Août 2019).