Metabolic syndrome and one of its associated complications, being overweight, diminish a woman's chances to stay pregnant, and is a risk factor for infertility, because insulin resistance is related to the chronic hyperandrogenic anovulation, a disorder that causes infertility in eight out of ten women who suffer from it.

Another gynecological pathology that can cause infertility and that is also associated with obesity and, consequently, the metabolic syndrome, is the micropoliquist ovarian syndrome.

The possibility of achieving a pregnancy in the case of women with obesity decreases by 5% for each unit of Body mass index (BMI) higher than 29, according to an investigation whose data publishes the magazine 'Human Reproduction'. The study also reveals that a BMI greater than 24 - which is not yet considered overweight - is related to a lower oocyte quality, lower implantation rate and higher risk of miscarriage.

Overweight women also get worse results when they undergo assisted reproduction techniques, although obesity does not affect the quality of the embryos, once pregnancy is achieved

Therefore, specialists from the National Association of Assisted Reproduction Clinics (ANACER) recommend overweight women -especially those with a BMI greater than 30-, who are informed about the difficulties they may have to conceive, as well as about the potential risks of pregnancy in your case.

Women who are overweight also get worse results when they undergo assisted reproduction techniques, although obesity does not affect the quality of the embryos, once pregnancy is achieved. But obesity also favors the appearance of complications during pregnancy; thus, as Dr. Florentino Garrido, vice president of ANACER, points out, in some countries such as New Zealand access to assisted reproduction treatments is prevented for women with a BMI higher than 32.

Dr. Garrido advises that women with overweight problems who want to have a baby should modify their lifestyle and adopt appropriate dietary guidelines, following a balanced diet. It is also important that these patients are placed in the hands of a multidisciplinary team of medical professionals, which includes, together with specialists in assisted reproduction, endocrinologists, internists and psychologists if necessary.

Source: ANACER

Infertility, Metabolic Syndrome, BPH and Prostatitis part1 (November 2019).

Le syndrome métabolique et l'une de ses complications associées, le surpoids, diminuent les chances de rester d'une femme enceinteet est un facteur de risque d'infertilité, car la résistance à l'insuline est liée à la anovulation hyperandrogénique chronique, un trouble qui cause l'infertilité chez huit femmes sur dix qui en souffrent.

Le syndrome micropoliquiste des ovaires est une autre pathologie gynécologique pouvant causer l'infertilité et qui est également associée à l'obésité et, par conséquent, au syndrome métabolique.

La possibilité d’obtenir une grossesse chez les femmes obèses diminue de 5% pour chaque unité de Indice de masse corporelle (IMC) supérieur à 29, selon une enquête dont les données publient le magazine 'Reproduction humaine'. L'étude révèle également qu'un IMC supérieur à 24 - qui n'est pas encore considéré comme un excès de poids - est lié à une qualité ovocytaire inférieure, à un taux d'implantation moins élevé et à un risque plus élevé de fausse couche.

Les femmes en surpoids obtiennent également de moins bons résultats lorsqu'elles utilisent des techniques de procréation assistée, bien que l'obésité n'affecte pas la qualité des embryons, une fois la grossesse terminée

Par conséquent, les spécialistes de l’ANACER (Association nationale des cliniques de procréation assistée) recommandent aux femmes en surpoids, en particulier celles ayant un IMC supérieur à 30, qui sont informées des difficultés qu’elles peuvent rencontrer à concevoir, ainsi que des les risques potentiels de grossesse dans votre cas.

Les femmes en surpoids obtiennent également de moins bons résultats lorsqu'elles utilisent des techniques de procréation assistée, bien que l'obésité n'affecte pas la qualité des embryons, une fois la grossesse terminée. Mais l'obésité favorise également l'apparition de complications pendant la grossesse; Ainsi, comme le souligne le Dr Florentino Garrido, vice-président d’ANACER, dans certains pays tels que la Nouvelle-Zélande, l’accès aux traitements de procréation assistée est empêché par les femmes dont l’IMC est supérieur à 32.

La Dre Garrido recommande aux femmes souffrant de surcharge pondérale qui souhaitent avoir un bébé de modifier leur mode de vie et d'adopter des directives diététiques appropriées, en suivant un régime équilibré. Il est également important que ces patients soient confiés à une équipe multidisciplinaire de professionnels de la santé, qui comprend, avec des spécialistes de la procréation assistée, des endocrinologues, des internistes et des psychologues si nécessaire.

Source: ANACER

Conseils en naturopathie : Syndrome des Ovaires Polykystiques (Août 2019).