The menthol, a chemical substance that causes a sensation of freshness, by acting on the nerve endings whose function is to perceive the cold, can also stimulate the need to nicotine, according to a study, which has revealed that menthol cigarettes they are more addictive, and consumers of this type of tobacco find it harder to stop smoking.

The fact that menthol is attributed various beneficial properties -antibacterial, analgesic, anti-inflammatory, to combat halitosis, etc.-, and that various pharmacy and parapharmacy products include it in its composition, has led some people to think, erroneously , that menthol tobacco is less harmful, and even believe that it has certain advantages such as masking the smell of nicotine, or reduce throat irritation.

"Menthol favors the stimulation of areas of the brain responsible for processing the sensation of reward, pleasure and addiction"

Currently there is a controversy about whether menthol tobacco is the same, more, or less harmful than normal, and studies have been carried out for years, with different results. Thus, while there are those who point out that some of its characteristics -such as the sensation of a fresher inhalation and an analgesic effect that softens the effects of smoke-, can encourage young people to start smoking, other studies have found that smokers of menthol tobacco smoked fewer cigarettes a day than consumers of normal tobacco.

The new research, which has been carried out in the United States, and has been published in 'Frontiers in Pharmacology', However, supports the thesis against menthol cigarettes, and concludes that menthol binds to a specific type of nicotinic receptor on nerve cells - the nicotinic acetylcholine receptor a7 - and decreases the response to nicotine. In the long term, in addition, this substance seems to promote the expression of other genes of nicotinic receptors in those areas of the brain responsible for processing the sensation of reward, pleasure and addiction.

1 JUUL Pod = 20 cigarettes | Why this doesn't make sense. (November 2019).

Le menthol, une substance chimique qui provoque une sensation de fraîcheur, en agissant sur les terminaisons nerveuses dont la fonction est de percevoir le froid, peut également stimuler la nécessité de: nicotine, selon une étude, qui a révélé que cigarettes au menthol ils créent davantage de dépendance et les consommateurs de ce type de tabac ont plus de difficulté à arrêter de fumer.

Le fait que le menthol se voit attribuer diverses propriétés bénéfiques - antibactérienne, analgésique, anti-inflammatoire, pour lutter contre la mauvaise haleine, etc. ", et que divers produits de pharmacie et de parapharmacie l’incluent dans sa composition, a amené certaines personnes à penser, à tort, , le tabac mentholé est moins nocif et pense même qu’il présente certains avantages, tels que masquer l’odeur de nicotine ou réduire l’irritation de la gorge.

"Le menthol favorise la stimulation des zones du cerveau responsables du traitement de la sensation de récompense, de plaisir et de dépendance"

Il existe actuellement une controverse sur le point de savoir si le tabac menthol est identique, plus ou moins nocif que la normale, et des études ont été menées pendant des années, avec des résultats différents. Ainsi, même si certains soulignent que certaines de ses caractéristiques, telles que la sensation d’une inhalation plus fraîche et un effet analgésique qui atténue les effets de la fumée, peuvent encourager les jeunes à commencer à fumer, d’autres études ont montré que les fumeurs tabacs mentholés fumaient moins de cigarettes par jour que les consommateurs de tabac normal.

La nouvelle recherche effectuée aux États-Unis et publiée dans 'Frontières en pharmacologieCependant, soutient la thèse contre les cigarettes mentholées et conclut que le menthol se lie à un type spécifique de récepteurs nicotiniques situés sur les cellules nerveuses - le récepteur nicotinique de l’acétylcholine a7 - et diminue la réponse à la nicotine. En outre, à long terme, cette substance semble favoriser l’expression d’autres gènes des récepteurs nicotiniques dans les zones du cerveau responsables du traitement de la sensation de récompense, de plaisir et de dépendance.

LE CANNABIS EST MOINS DANGEREUX QUE LE TABAC ? Vrai ou Faux #49 (Août 2019).