The Latin date mens sana in corpore sano It refers to the need for both our physical health and our mental health to be balanced, and to the interconnection that exists between them. There are numerous studies that prove that leading a healthy lifestyle - a healthy diet, practicing physical exercise, sleeping the necessary hours ... - not only prevents the development of diseases and lengthens life expectancy, but also contributes to our emotional well-being.

In the case of people who suffer chronic pathologies, such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, asthma, arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or cancer, among others, the problems associated with the treatment of the disease, the side effects of medications, and the symptoms that impair the quality of life of These patients make them more likely to suffer from mental disorders such as anxiety or depression. In turn, the problems that affect the mental and emotional health of these people make it difficult to manage their disease and worsen the prognosis of it.

Those affected by cardiac pathologies, or those who have suffered a heart attack or a stroke, suffer depression with a frequency between two and three times higher than the rest of the population

Thus, those affected by cardiac pathologies, or those who have suffered a heart attack or a stroke, suffer depression with a frequency between two and three times higher than the rest of the population. The same goes for diabetics, while COPD patients are up to three times more likely to suffer from an anxiety disorder, and they have panic attacks ten times higher.

In the United Kingdom, 30 percent of the population - more than 15 million people - currently suffer from a chronic illness. Taking into account that these patients are two to three times more likely to develop a mental disorder, four million chronic patients may also suffer a mental pathology. Against this background, the report 'Chronic diseases and mental health. The cost of comorbidity, elaborated by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence of the United Kingdom, warns that it is necessary to establish programs that facilitate coordination between the work of mental health specialists and the rest of the professionals involved in the work. the care of patients with chronic diseases, in order to improve the outcome of the treatments without this implying an additional cost.

The report also points out that there is a bidirectional causal relationship between physical and mental illnesses; thus, people suffering from mental disorders and emotional imbalances, such as depression, chronic stress or anxiety, also have a higher risk of developing a wide variety of physical illnesses, compared to people who enjoy good mental health.

The lack of psychological attention to the chronically ill makes them more susceptible to die prematurely because of its pathology and, in addition, also increases health costs because it causes a worsening of symptoms and aggravates their disability, which increases medical consultations and hospital admissions. For this reason, the authors of the report advocate integrating mental health care into rehabilitation programs for patients with chronic diseases.

I have a mental illness, let me die - BBC Stories (November 2019).

La date latine mens sana in corpore sano Il fait référence à la nécessité d’équilibrer notre santé physique et mentale et à l’interconnexion qui existe entre elles. De nombreuses études prouvent que mener un mode de vie sain - alimentation saine, exercice physique, dormir les heures nécessaires ... - non seulement empêche le développement de maladies et allonge l'espérance de vie, mais contribue également à notre bien-être émotionnel.

Dans le cas des personnes qui souffrent pathologies chroniques, tels que les maladies cardiovasculaires, le diabète, l'asthme, l'arthrite, la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) ou le cancer, entre autres, les problèmes associés au traitement de la maladie, les effets secondaires des médicaments et les symptômes qui nuisent à la qualité de vie Ces patients les rendent plus susceptibles de souffrir de troubles mentaux tels que l'anxiété ou la dépression. À leur tour, les problèmes qui affectent la santé mentale et émotionnelle de ces personnes compliquent la gestion de leur maladie et en aggravent le pronostic.

Les personnes atteintes de pathologies cardiaques ou ayant subi une crise cardiaque ou un accident vasculaire cérébral souffrent de dépression avec une fréquence deux à trois fois plus élevée que le reste de la population.

Ainsi, les personnes atteintes de pathologies cardiaques, ou celles qui ont subi une crise cardiaque ou un accident vasculaire cérébral, souffrent de dépression avec une fréquence deux à trois fois plus élevée que le reste de la population. Il en va de même pour les diabétiques, alors que les patients atteints de MPOC sont jusqu'à trois fois plus susceptibles de souffrir d'un trouble anxieux et qu'ils ont des attaques de panique dix fois plus fréquentes.

Au Royaume-Uni, 30% de la population - plus de 15 millions de personnes - souffrent actuellement d'une maladie chronique. Compte tenu du fait que ces patients ont deux à trois fois plus de risques de développer un trouble mental, quatre millions de patients chroniques peuvent également souffrir d'une pathologie mentale. Dans ce contexte, le rapport «Maladies chroniques et santé mentale. Le coût de la comorbidité, élaboré par l’Institut national de la santé et de l’excellence clinique du Royaume-Uni, avertit qu’il est nécessaire d’établir des programmes facilitant la coordination entre le travail des spécialistes de la santé mentale et le reste des professionnels impliqués. la prise en charge des patients atteints de maladies chroniques, afin d’améliorer les résultats des traitements sans pour autant entraîner un coût supplémentaire.

Le rapport souligne également qu'il existe une relation de cause à effet bidirectionnelle entre les maladies physiques et mentales; ainsi, les personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux et de déséquilibres émotionnels, tels que la dépression, le stress chronique ou l’anxiété, courent également un risque plus élevé de développer une grande variété de maladies physiques que les personnes jouissant d’une bonne santé mentale.

Le manque d’attention psychologique envers les malades chroniques les rend plus susceptibles de mourir prématurément en raison de sa pathologie et, en outre, augmente également les coûts de santé, car il provoque une aggravation des symptômes et aggrave leur handicap, ce qui augmente les consultations médicales et les hospitalisations. Pour cette raison, les auteurs du rapport préconisent d'intégrer les soins de santé mentale dans les programmes de réadaptation destinés aux patients atteints de maladies chroniques.

La procédure de titre de séjour pour les malades étrangers et leurs parents accompagnants (Septembre 2019).