According to data from a study carried out by researchers from the Center for Research on Congenital Anomalies (CIAC) of the Carlos III Health Institute (ISCIII), men are recommended a daily intake of small amounts of folic acid, together with the abandonment of tobacco, at least three months before fertilization.

A study whose results are published in the journal Journal of Medical Genetics, shows that the prevention to have a healthy child is the responsibility of both the father and the mother, therefore, if both parents consume sufficient amounts of folic acid, the risk of the baby suffering from congenital defects.

In the essay, the epigenetic mechanisms that occur from fertilization to embryonic and fetal development and that regulate the transcription and translation of genes, which do not depend on the primary DNA sequence, are studied.

The director of CIAC-ISCIII, Dr. María Luisa Martínez Frías, together with the other authors of the study, establish a series of recommendations to follow for both men and women prior to pregnancy:

  • Eat 0.4 mg of folic acid daily.
  • Follow a balanced and healthy diet.
  • No Smoking.
  • Do not drink alcohol.
  • Do not take medication without first consulting a doctor.
  • Follow the rules of prevention of occupational hazards, especially with chemical products, since most are expelled in the seminal fluid, so it can contaminate women.

This series of advice should be followed by the woman equally throughout the pregnancy.

Understanding the Causes of Major Birth Defects: Steps to Prevention (November 2019).

Selon les données d'une étude réalisée par des chercheurs du Centre de recherche sur les anomalies congénitales (CIAC) de l'Institut de la santé Carlos III (ISCIII), il est recommandé aux hommes apport quotidien de petites quantités d'acide folique, ainsi que l’abandon du tabac, au moins trois mois avant la fertilisation.

Une étude dont les résultats sont publiés dans la revue Journal de génétique médicale, montre que la prévention d’avoir un enfant en bonne santé incombe à la fois au père et à la mère. Par conséquent, si les deux parents consomment des quantités suffisantes d’acide folique, risque de malformations congénitales chez le bébé.

Dans l'essai, nous étudions les mécanismes épigénétiques qui vont de la fécondation au développement embryonnaire et fœtal et qui régulent la transcription et la traduction de gènes, qui ne dépendent pas de la séquence d'ADN primaire.

La directrice de la CIAC-ISCIII, Dre María Luisa Martínez Frías, a formulé avec les autres auteurs de l'étude une série de recommandations à suivre pour les hommes et les femmes avant la grossesse:

  • Consommez 0,4 mg d'acide folique par jour.
  • Suivez un régime alimentaire sain et équilibré.
  • Ne pas fumer.
  • Ne bois pas d'alcool.
  • Ne prenez pas de médicaments sans d'abord consulter un médecin.
  • Respectez les règles de prévention des risques professionnels, en particulier des produits chimiques, car la plupart sont expulsées dans le liquide séminal et peuvent donc contaminer les femmes.

Cette série de conseils devrait être suivie par la femme de la même manière tout au long de la grossesse.

Prenez-vous assez de ces 5 vitamines et minéraux? (Août 2019).