The lupus it is a chronic disease of variable course in which there are forms that barely modify survival (non-aggressive forms), to forms that develop rapidly and endanger the patient's life. Most often, it is presented with an intermittent course, with exacerbations and remissions. Sometimes it is difficult to determine if the patient has a reactivation of the disease, another disease added, or a complication of the treatment.

During the last 20 years the survival of patients with lupus has been increased linearly, thanks to the earlier diagnosis and the treatments used, so that currently survival is over 75% at ten years after the onset of symptoms.

The factors that most influence the prognosis of the disease are renal function, the presence of anemia and the involvement of the central nervous system. In such a way that the most frequent causes of death are infections, renal failure and neurological injuries.

Advice for patients with lupus

From the Spanish Society of Rheumatology remember that to improve the prognosis and quality of the patient with lupus, it is advisable to put into practice some tips to control the effects of this chronic disease. For this, it is fundamental:

  • Dispense with habits as unhealthy as smoking or excessive consumption of alcohol.
  • Control cardiovascular risk factors.
  • Keep the vaccination calendar updated, taking into account that these patients should avoid live virus vaccines.
  • Follow a balanced diet and perform daily physical exercise, following the recommendations of your rheumatologist.

The Importance Of Lupus Research (September 2019).

Le le lupus c'est une maladie chronique d'évolution variable dans laquelle il existe des formes qui modifient à peine la survie (formes non agressives), à des formes qui se développent rapidement et mettent en danger la vie du patient. Le plus souvent, il est présenté avec un parcours intermittent, avec exacerbations et rémissions. Il est parfois difficile de déterminer si le patient a une réactivation de la maladie, une autre maladie ajoutée ou une complication du traitement.

Au cours des 20 dernières années, la survie des patients atteints de lupus a augmenté linéairement, grâce au diagnostic plus précoce et aux traitements utilisés, de sorte que la survie dépasse actuellement 75% dix ans après l'apparition des symptômes.

Les facteurs qui influencent le plus le pronostic de la maladie sont la fonction rénale, la présence d'anémie et l'implication du système nerveux central. Les causes de décès les plus fréquentes sont les infections, l’insuffisance rénale et les lésions neurologiques.

Conseils pour les patients atteints de lupus

De la Société espagnole de rhumatologie, rappelez-vous que pour améliorer le pronostic et la qualité du patient lupique, il est conseillé de mettre en pratique des conseils pour contrôler les effets de cette maladie chronique. Pour cela, il est fondamental:

  • Abandonnez-vous avec des habitudes aussi malsaines que le tabagisme ou la consommation excessive d'alcool.
  • Contrôler les facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires.
  • Maintenez le calendrier de vaccination à jour, en tenant compte du fait que ces patients doivent éviter les vaccins à virus vivants.
  • Suivez un régime alimentaire équilibré et pratiquez un exercice physique quotidien en suivant les recommandations de votre rhumatologue.

Sommet des réfugiés à l'ONU : Quelles problématiques ont été soulevées à New York ? (Août 2019).