Despite the fact that each year one and a half million people contract leishmaniasis, the World Health Organization (WHO) denounces that due attention is not paid to this infectious disease because, although it is present in around 100 countries, the 90 % of cases occur in economically disadvantaged areas, especially in Southeast Asia (Bangladesh, India and Nepal) and in East Africa (Ethiopia, Sudan).

The tropical countries-in development-are those that have a higher prevalence of leishmaniasis, which experts define as the 'disease of poverty' because it has always been associated with population groups with few socio-economic resources, and who are forced to live crammed into inadequate housing and with inadequate hygiene.

The parasite that causes leishmaniasis causes various injuries, from ulcers on the skin and mucous membranes, to damage to internal organs such as the kidneys or liver

This disease, which is transmitted by the bite of certain insects, is also endemic in other countries of central and lower Asia, such as Afghanistan, as well as in Latin America (Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras ...).

The parasite that causes leishmaniasis -and that is inoculated to the human being through the bite of the vector- causes various injuries to the affected person, from ulcers on skin and mucous membranes, to damage in internal organs such as the kidneys or liver, and some types of leishmaniasis, such as visceral, can cause death.

The treatment of visceral leishmaniasis, which mainly affects the population of Southeast Asian countries, has improved thanks to a new drug - amphotericin B liposomal - which is achieving high cure rates - around 96% - in patients with those that have been administered. Experts insist, however, that more research is necessary to develop more effective drugs against the cutaneous variant of leishmaniasis that, despite not being fatal, causes serious injuries and sequelae in patients.

Teen scientists have breakthrough on skin disease (November 2019).

Malgré le fait que chaque année un million et demi de personnes contractent la leishmaniose, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) dénonce le fait que cette maladie infectieuse n’est pas suffisamment prise en compte car, bien qu’elle soit présente dans 90 pays Le pourcentage de cas survient dans des zones économiquement défavorisées, en particulier en Asie du Sud-Est (Bangladesh, Inde et Népal) et en Afrique de l'Est (Éthiopie, Soudan).

Les pays tropicaux en développement sont ceux où la prévalence de la leishmaniose est plus élevée, ce que les experts définissent comme la «maladie de la pauvreté», car elle a toujours été associée à des groupes de population disposant de peu de ressources socio-économiques. qui sont forcés de vivre entassés dans un logement inadéquat et avec une hygiène insuffisante.

Le parasite responsable de la leishmaniose provoque diverses lésions, allant des ulcères de la peau et des muqueuses à des lésions des organes internes tels que les reins ou le foie.

Cette maladie, transmise par la piqûre de certains insectes, est également endémique dans d’autres pays d’Asie centrale et basse, comme l’Afghanistan, ainsi qu’en Amérique latine (Colombie, Costa Rica, Équateur, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, etc.).

Le parasite qui cause la leishmaniose - et qui est inoculé à l’être humain par la piqûre du vecteur - provoque diverses lésions chez la personne touchée, des ulcères de la peau et des muqueuses, à des lésions au niveau des organes internes tels que les reins ou le foie de la leishmaniose, telle que viscérale, peut causer la mort.

Le traitement de la leishmaniose viscérale, qui touche principalement la population des pays d'Asie du Sud-Est, s'est amélioré grâce à un nouveau médicament - l'amphotéricine B liposomal - qui permet d'obtenir des taux de guérison élevés - environ 96% - chez les patients ceux qui ont été administrés. Les experts insistent cependant sur le fait qu'il est nécessaire de poursuivre les recherches pour mettre au point des médicaments plus efficaces contre la variante cutanée de la leishmaniose qui, sans être fatale, provoque des lésions et des séquelles graves chez les patients.

L’efficacité du miel dans la lutte contre les infections bactériennes chez les chiens (Septembre 2019).