A research carried out by the Institute of Neurosciences of Castilla y León (Incyl) has proven how important it is to expose young children to certain sounds to stimulate their hearing sensitivity and facilitate learning.

In the study, which was carried out with mice, they found that an area of brain, called the inferior colliculus, played an important role when developing or maintaining a special sensitivity towards certain auditory stimuli to those who had been exposed to the animals.

Musicians' hypersensitivity to auditory stimuli makes them able to appreciate the difference between two pianos, because they have developed the ability to discriminate sounds since they were small

In the opinion of the researchers, the role played by the inferior colliculus could have significant repercussions on various human activities, such as learning languages ​​that, as has been proven, are simpler and more effective when dealing with young children. In this regard, one of the authors of the study, Manuel Sánchez Malmierca, states that, like the cerebral cortex, the colliculus is also involved in hearing.

The process by which subcortical neurons develop sensitivity to received auditory stimuli is related to the ability of the brain to adapt to different situations, a 'plasticity' that is greater in the first stage of childhood and that goes away losing with age. Thus, when these neurons are stimulated with a specific sound, there is a variation in their habitual attunement. This may explain the hypersensitivity of the musicians, which makes them able to appreciate the difference between two pianos, because they have developed the ability to discriminate sounds since they were small.

In addition to music, it can be applied in practice for language teaching because, as Sánchez Malmierca explains, for a child to learn a foreign language, it is recommended that you watch your favorite children's programs in that other language, for example, English. since it will absorb very easily both vocabulary and grammar, as well as the correct way to pronounce words. This is particularly useful in children from three to eight years old.

Tools for Teaching the R Sound by Peachie Speechie (November 2019).

Une recherche menée par l'Institut des neurosciences de Castille-et-León (Incyl) a montré à quel point il était important de familiariser les jeunes enfants à certains sons afin de stimuler leur sensibilité auditive et de faciliter leur apprentissage.

Dans l’étude, réalisée avec des souris, ils ont découvert qu’une zone de cerveau, appelé colliculus inférieur, a joué un rôle important dans le développement ou le maintien d’un la sensibilité vers certains stimuli auditifs à ceux qui avaient été exposés aux animaux.

L’hypersensibilité des musiciens aux stimuli auditifs leur permet d’apprécier la différence entre deux pianos, car ils ont développé la capacité de discriminer les sons depuis qu’ils sont petits.

De l’avis des chercheurs, le rôle du collicule inférieur pourrait avoir des répercussions importantes sur diverses activités humaines, telles que l’apprentissage de langues qui, comme il a été prouvé, sont plus simples et efficaces lorsqu’il s’agit de jeunes enfants. À cet égard, Manuel Sánchez Malmierca, l'un des auteurs de l'étude, affirme que, à l'instar du cortex cérébral, le collicule est également impliqué dans l'audition.

Le processus par lequel les neurones sous-corticaux développent une sensibilité aux stimuli auditifs reçus est lié à la capacité du cerveau à s’adapter à différentes situations, une «plasticité» plus grande dans la première étape de l’enfance et qui disparaît perdre avec l'âge. Ainsi, lorsque ces neurones sont stimulés par un son spécifique, leur harmonisation habituelle varie. Cela peut expliquer l'hypersensibilité des musiciens, ce qui les rend capables d'apprécier la différence entre deux pianos, car ils ont développé la capacité de discriminer les sons depuis leur petite taille.

En plus de la musique, elle peut également être utilisée pour l'enseignement des langues car, comme l'explique Sánchez Malmierca, pour apprendre une langue étrangère à un enfant, il est recommandé de regarder ses émissions préférées dans cette autre langue, l'anglais par exemple. car il absorbera très facilement le vocabulaire et la grammaire, ainsi que la manière correcte de prononcer les mots. Ceci est particulièrement utile chez les enfants de trois à huit ans.

Dictée CP – CE1 autonome de mots : Les sons é ê è # 24 (Août 2019).