Endometriosis is a very frequent pathology that affects between 10 and 30 percent of Spanish women. On the occasion of the International Week of Endometriosis (SIE), the experts wanted to point out that their main problem is that the diagnosis is usually too late, lasting, sometimes, between five and ten years since the first symptoms are detected, a "excessively long" period of time, during which the disease evolves and can have very harmful consequences on the quality of life of those who suffer it, as Juan Antonio García Velasco, director of the IVI Madrid Clinic, has pointed out.

He explains that this disorder consists of the appearance and growth of endometrial tissue outside the uterus, especially in the pelvic cavity, as in the ovaries, behind the uterus, in the uterine ligaments, in the urinary bladder or in the intestine. Less often it can appear outside the abdomen, such as in the lungs or other parts of the body. "It can appear throughout the entire reproductive life of the woman, from menarche (first rule) to menopause, although sometimes, it can last until after this period and, in general, arises during the second decade of life ", Says the expert.

However, endometriosis alters, to a greater or lesser extent, the quality of life of women who suffer from it, affecting their relationships as a couple, family, work and even reproduction. In fact, 30% of patients suffer from infertility, although most can become pregnant with assisted reproduction techniques.

90% can have children with reproductive techniques

"It is estimated that of the total number of infertile couples in Spain, in about 10 or 15 percent of cases there are endometrial components related to this inability to have children," García Velasco explains, adding that, thanks to new techniques of assisted reproduction, currently almost 90 percent of women with this problem can be mothers.

As noted, the symptoms are very varied depending on each case, although they are usually associated with intense menstrual pain, urination, defecation and during sexual intercourse. "Sometimes, the pain is so strong that it incapacitates the woman in her daily life, forcing her to stay in bed."

Among the risk factors that can contribute to the development of the disease, García Velasco points out that girls who have a very early period or women with an excessively abundant flow are more likely to suffer from this pathology. In addition, he adds, "this disease has an important genetic component, which does not mean that it is transmitted from mothers to daughters, but that the possibilities increase in the case that someone in the family suffers it."

Generally, the pain that causes this pathology is handled well with pharmacological products, such as the contraceptive pill or different classes of analgesics or estrogen blockers. "However, sometimes, it is necessary to resort to surgery when the pain does not decrease with medication or when very large cysts of, for example, more than five centimeters," he says.

Based on current data on the disease, the expert believes that there is a patent lack of information on this disease, its symptoms and consequences. To avoid this, the IVI centers have launched a series of online meetings to clarify doubts and offer medical information "filtered and rigorous" to all those people who want to know more about this disorder.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESS

Endometrial Cancer: How to Recognize the Symptoms | Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (November 2019).

L'endométriose est une pathologie très fréquente qui affecte entre 10 et 30% des femmes espagnoles. À l’occasion de la Semaine internationale de l’endométriose (SIE), les experts ont tenu à préciser que leur principal problème était que le diagnostic est généralement trop tardif et qu’il dure parfois entre cinq et dix ans à partir du moment où les premiers symptômes sont détectés. Comme l'a souligné Juan Antonio García Velasco, directeur de la clinique IVI Madrid, la période "excessivement longue" au cours de laquelle la maladie évolue et peut avoir des conséquences très néfastes sur la qualité de vie des personnes qui en souffrent.

Il explique que ce trouble consiste en l'apparition et la croissance de tissus de l'endomètre en dehors de l'utérus, en particulier dans la cavité pelvienne, comme dans les ovaires, derrière l'utérus, dans les ligaments utérins, dans la vessie ou dans l'intestin. Moins souvent, il peut apparaître en dehors de l'abdomen, comme dans les poumons ou d'autres parties du corps. "Il peut apparaître tout au long de la vie reproductive de la femme, de la première règles à la ménopause, bien que, parfois, il puisse durer après cette période et, en général, au cours de la deuxième décennie de la vie ", Dit l'expert.

Cependant, l'endométriose modifie plus ou moins la qualité de vie des femmes qui en souffrent, affectant leurs relations de couple, de famille, de travail et même de procréation. En fait, 30% des patientes souffrent d'infertilité, bien que la plupart puissent tomber enceintes avec les techniques de procréation assistée.

90% peuvent avoir des enfants avec des techniques de reproduction

"On estime que sur le nombre total de couples infertiles en Espagne, dans environ 10 à 15% des cas, des composants de l'endomètre sont liés à cette incapacité à avoir des enfants", explique García Velasco, ajoutant que, grâce à de nouvelles techniques Pour ce qui est de la procréation assistée, près de 90% des femmes atteintes de ce problème peuvent être mères.

Comme indiqué précédemment, les symptômes varient considérablement selon les cas, bien qu’ils soient généralement associés à des douleurs menstruelles intenses, à la miction, à la défécation et aux rapports sexuels. "Parfois, la douleur est si forte qu'elle empêche la femme dans sa vie quotidienne, la forçant à rester au lit."

Parmi les facteurs de risque pouvant contribuer au développement de la maladie, García Velasco souligne que les filles très précoces ou les femmes présentant un flux excessivement abondant sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de cette pathologie. En outre, ajoute-t-il, "cette maladie a une composante génétique importante, ce qui ne signifie pas qu'elle soit transmise de mère en fille, mais que les possibilités augmentent si une personne de la famille en souffre".

Généralement, la douleur à l'origine de cette pathologie est bien traitée avec des produits pharmacologiques, tels que la pilule contraceptive ou différentes classes d'analgésiques ou d'inhibiteurs de l'œstrogène. "Cependant, il est parfois nécessaire de recourir à une intervention chirurgicale lorsque la douleur ne diminue pas avec les médicaments ou lorsque les kystes sont très gros, par exemple, de plus de cinq centimètres", dit-il.

Sur la base des données actuelles sur la maladie, l'expert estime qu'il existe un manque manifeste d'informations sur cette maladie, ses symptômes et ses conséquences. Pour éviter cela, les centres IVI ont lancé une série de réunions en ligne pour clarifier les doutes et offrir des informations médicales "filtrées et rigoureuses" à toutes les personnes qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur ce trouble.

SOURCE: EUROPE PRESSE

Cushing Syndrome - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Août 2019).