Around 57 million people died worldwide during 2008, and the first cause of death that year was the ischemic heart disease, which caused 7.25 million deaths, 12.8 percent of the total. This follows from the latest report on the 10 leading causes of death in the world, published on Tuesday by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Ischemic heart disease is followed, as the main causes of death, stroke and other Cerebrovascular diseases, with 6.15 million deaths - 10.8% of the total - and the respiratory infections of low roads, which killed 3.46 million people and accounted for 6.1% of the total deaths worldwide.

Fourth in this list are COPD, with 3.28 million deaths (5.8%); fifth, diarrhea, with 2.46 million deaths (4.3%); in sixth position HIV / AIDS, with 1.78 million deaths (3.1%) and, in eighth place, cancers of the lung, trachea and bronchi, with 1.39 million deaths (2.4%).

The last positions in the list of the main causes of death are tuberculosis, with 1.34 million deaths (2.4%); diabetes mellitus, which caused 1.26 million deaths (2.2%) and, in tenth place, the traffic accidents, with 1.21 million (2.1%).

Tobacco is responsible for the death of almost one in 10 adults around the world.

According to the WHO, smoking is presented as the main cause of the appearance of a large number of diseases that have caused the death of more people around the world, such as cardiovascular diseases, COPD, or lung cancer. In total, tobacco is responsible for the death of almost one in 10 adults worldwide.

Differences between rich and poor also in deaths

In low-income countries, the leading causes of death were respiratory diseases, with 1.05 million deaths (11.3%); diarrhea, with 760,000 deaths (8.2%) and HIV / AIDS, with 720,000 deaths (7.8%). Ischemic heart disease occupies fourth place in this list, with 570,000 deaths (6.1%), and malaria the fifth position, with 480,000 deaths (5.2%).

In rich countries, ischemic heart disease is the leading cause of death, with 1.42 million deaths (15.6%), followed by stroke and other cerebrovascular diseases, with 790,000 deaths (8.7%) and cancers of trachea, lung and bronchi, which were behind 540,000 deaths in 2008 (5.9%). The fourth cause of death were Alzheimer's and other dementias, with 370,000 deaths (4.1%).

"In countries with higher incomes, more than two thirds of the population lives beyond the age of 70 and they tend to die, above all, from chronic diseases such as cardiovascular disease, COPD, cancer, diabetes or dementia. they are still the only major infection that causes deaths, "says the study.

On the other hand, in countries with lower incomes, "less than one in five people reach 70 years, and more than a third of all deaths are children who have not reached the age of 15." In these places, according to the report, "the population dies especially of infectious diseases, such as lung infections, diarrhea, HIV / AIDS, tuberculosis or malaria."

"Complications in pregnancy and childbirth continue to be the main causes of death in these countries, ending the lives of both children and their mothers," says the report, which recalls that more than 8 million deaths recorded in 2008 they were under five years old, of which 99% were registered in low and middle income countries.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Heart Disease Prevention: What You Need to Know (November 2019).

Environ 57 millions de personnes sont mortes dans le monde en 2008, et la première cause de décès cette année-là était la la cardiopathie ischémique, qui a causé 7,25 millions de décès, soit 12,8% du total. Cela découle du dernier rapport sur les 10 principales causes de décès dans le monde, publié mardi par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS).

La cardiopathie ischémique est la principale cause de décès, d'accident vasculaire cérébral et d'autres maladies cérébrovasculaires, avec 6,15 millions de décès - 10,8% du total - et la infections respiratoires des routes basses, qui ont tué 3,46 millions de personnes et représenté 6,1% du total des décès dans le monde.

La BPCO se situe au quatrième rang avec 3,28 millions de décès (5,8%); cinquième, diarrhée, avec 2,46 millions de décès (4,3%); en sixième position le VIH / sida, avec 1,78 million de décès (3,1%) et, en huitième position, les cancers du poumon, de la trachée et des bronches, avec 1,39 million de décès (2,4%).

La dernière position dans la liste des principales causes de décès est la tuberculose, avec 1,34 million de décès (2,4%); diabète sucré, qui a causé 1,26 million de décès (2,2%) et, à la dixième place, le accidents de la route, avec 1,21 million (2,1%).

Le tabac est responsable de la mort de près d’un adulte sur dix dans le monde.

Selon l'OMS, le tabagisme est présenté comme la principale cause de l'apparition d'un grand nombre de maladies qui ont causé la mort d'un plus grand nombre de personnes dans le monde, telles que les maladies cardiovasculaires, la MPOC ou le cancer du poumon. Au total, le tabac est responsable de la mort de près d’un adulte sur dix dans le monde.

Différences entre riches et pauvres, y compris en termes de décès

Dans les pays à faible revenu, les principales causes de décès étaient les maladies respiratoires, avec 1,05 million de décès (11,3%); la diarrhée, avec 760 000 décès (8,2%) et le VIH / SIDA, avec 720 000 décès (7,8%). Les cardiopathies ischémiques occupent la quatrième place dans cette liste, avec 570 000 décès (6,1%), et le paludisme, la cinquième position, avec 480 000 décès (5,2%).

Dans les pays riches, les cardiopathies ischémiques sont la principale cause de décès, avec 1,42 million de décès (15,6%), suivies des accidents vasculaires cérébraux et autres maladies cérébrovasculaires, avec 790 000 décès (8,7%) et des cancers du cerveau. la trachée, les poumons et les bronches, à l'origine de 540 000 décès en 2008 (5,9%). La quatrième cause de décès était la maladie d'Alzheimer et d'autres démences, avec 370 000 décès (4,1%).

"Dans les pays à revenu élevé, plus des deux tiers de la population vivent au-delà de 70 ans et ont tendance à mourir surtout de maladies chroniques telles que les maladies cardiovasculaires, la MPOC, le cancer, le diabète ou la démence. ils restent la seule infection majeure qui cause des décès ", indique l'étude.

En revanche, dans les pays à faible revenu, "moins d’une personne sur cinq atteint l’âge de 70 ans et plus du tiers des décès sont des enfants de moins de 15 ans". Selon ces informations, "dans ces régions, la population meurt en particulier de maladies infectieuses telles que les infections pulmonaires, la diarrhée, le VIH / sida, la tuberculose ou le paludisme".

"Les complications de la grossesse et de l'accouchement restent les principales causes de décès dans ces pays, mettant ainsi fin à la vie des enfants et de leurs mères", indique le rapport, qui rappelle que plus de 8 millions de décès ont été enregistrés en 2008, ils avaient moins de cinq ans, dont 99% étaient enregistrés dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Causes de la maladie coronarienne : Artère bouchée et facteurs du problème cardiaque (Août 2019).